We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Cozy, clean, warm, feels like 4+ star hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alder Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alder Inn
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
san mateo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cozy, clean, warm, feels like 4+ star hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We made our reservation based on tripadvisor reviews and was ver happy staying in this small and very cozy place. It has everything, robes, shampoo, lotion, cream, toothpaste, like all 4+ star hotels have. Will definaty come back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rigajuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    182
    28
    5
    0
See reviews for
128
453
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is the perfect place to stay in South Lake. Its a cross between a snazzy 5 star hotel and a quaint motor lodge. The staff is helpful and extremely friendly. The rooms are perfectly clean stocked with too many extras to describe and the decorum is chic and comfortable. Defenitly will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

This small motel is perfectly located on SKI RUN which is a small street connecting the lake to the ski resort, Heavenly (vail property). Nice and quiet even for New Years eve they were completely booked and everyone was asleep and quiet by 10 pm. No road noise like the dozen other motels located on Hwy 50. Many fine dining choices, all less than a 5 minute walk. Front desk recommended the Ski rental shop next door and that saved us some money over renting from Heavenly. Purchased lift tickets from the front desk at breakfast they gave us a super deal saving $20 per ticket per day for each of us($40 savings on lift tickets per day). We hit the free shuttle stop at 9 am and had skis on and tearing up the snow by 9:15am on New Years Eve! Our room was really clean and aminities of the room showed someone cared about my stay.(even had a cute stuffed animal on the bed) Hot tub was HOT (104 degrees) and the pool was open and heated, temperature guage showed 75 degrees. Jumped in a few times to cool off. Over all we loved staying here and will continue to recommend the Alder to family and friends.

Room Tip: Stay by hottub for quicker trip down in a robe they provide you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cort K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

A spectacular place in South Tahoe...one block off the main street, walking distance to most in South Tahoe.
The rooms are creatively decorated and look like a luxury hotel or apartment. Alder Inn has thought of everything you might need during your stay, including cookies on arrival, to chocolates, toothpaste, deodorant, razors, shampoo, etc, in your room. At any generic hotel, one would consider taking these freebees even if you didn't need it - here, I barely touched them because I had everything I needed already.
Dawn, the main point of contact while at Alder, was friendly, insightful, and clearly cared a great deal about my stay and the experience while at Alder.
I will definitely stay here again, if back in South Tahoe. Call Alder directly for better rates and premium rooms on the second floor.

Cons: I heard the neighbors a few times, but overall relatively quiet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim90145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

My Fiance' and I stayed three nights at the Alder Inn over the New Years holiday. We were pleasantly greeted by the Owners Layni & Chad upon arrival. They were very helpful offering us lots of information about great places to eat and things to do in the area. I have traveled a lot of places and can honestly say this was the Best Service I have ever received at a family owned hotel.

We stayed in a Premium King room on the second floor. The room was very nicely decorated and offered all sorts of amenities. (Coffee, Hot Cocoa, Coffee Mugs, Wine Glasses, Coffee Maker, Microwave, A bag of Microwavable popcorn, Cliff Bars, Mini Fridge, Lotion, Make Up Remover, Razor, Shaving cream, Toothpaste, Deodorant, Shampoo/Conditioner, Robes).

The beds were incredibly comfortable!! The Shower was great as well, the water pressure was strong & water stayed Hot! The Robes were a great touch and came in handy walking to the outdoor hot tub.

The location is great with lots of good places to eat & drink nearby. Also a great Rental/Repair shop down the block across the street. The Free shuttle to heavenly picks up right in front of hotel. Overall Great Experience! I would highly recommend the Alder Inn!!!

Room Tip: Premium Rooms offer all the extra Amenities/Toiletries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penn valley, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

The Inn is located just off the main drag which makes for a quiet stay. The room was very clean and the staff is very knowledgeable of the attractions and events. Heavenly is just up the hill and to me that is a big time saver.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poconogeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I found this place on trip advisor and it exceeded my expectations. The owners are super nice and very helpful with information about the town. My husband and I stayed in a premium room and it had a keurig coffee machine, fridge, toaster, and microwave. The robes were a great touch too! The room was Very clean and nicely decorated. The location was very close to heavenly mountain and also walking distance to great restaurants. I would highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Pick a premium room. Lots of toiletries and thought put into these rooms. Plus they are on the top f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#8 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#7 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Inn

Property: Alder Inn
Address: 1072 Ski Run Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alder Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you dreaming of the perfect hotel for your Tahoe vacation? WE make dreams come true....With our modern plush furnishings, princess quality bedding and excellent customer service, you will be treated like royalty. Family owned and operated, from reservation to housekeeping! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Alder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing