We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really enjoyed our stay here”
Review of Alder Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alder Inn
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Bakersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We really enjoyed our stay here”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed our time here. The room was beautifully decorated. You could tell that there was great attention to detail throughout the room. From the shampoos to the little kit in case you got sick, it was all so great. The owners were very welcoming and offered great advice as to what to see in town as it was our first time in Tahoe. The hotel is in a great location as it is within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. We will definitely be staying here when we come back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernesto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    185
    29
    5
    0
See reviews for
137
463
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This hotel was situated in a nice location, well appointed and good value for the area. Chad and Layni were extremely helpful and added more value to our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We normally stay at bigger hotels for our travels but decided to book at Alder Inn last weekend based on the great reviews. Our family of 4 were comfortable in a 2 queen-bed room - it had all the essentials that we needed and was nicely decorated. The location was perfect - close to the lake, restaurants and recreation but more quiet than down Lake Tahoe Blvd. What is unique about this property is the personal service from the owners, Chad and Layni. They really go out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. We found that to be a nice touch and such a rarity. My husband and I will definitely be back, sans kids for a getaway.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlhoang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay here! The owners, Chad and Layni, took such good care of us and were so sweet. They gave us tons of advice on where to go and what to see. The shampoos and amenities in the rooms were all name brand items as well! The rooms are all decorated differently and are so adorable. Ours had a bear/cabin theme, and, as an avid HGTV watcher, I have to say it was decorated perfectly. The beds are very comfortable, too! I was very happy to find that our room was very clean as well. I am a snob when it comes to cleanliness in hotels, and I was so comfortable here! The rooms are a great value and of much better quality than the others at a similar price point in the area. Plus, the location couldn't be better for accessing the slopes or the lake! There is a free shuttle bus that leaves just outside the hotel that takes you to Heavenly. Also, it's just a 3 minute walk to the lake! There are lots of good restaurants in walking distance as well. My husband and I were happy to find that the hotel was nestled the perfect distance from Lake Tahoe Boulevard as well, seeing as it was much quieter and had a very nature-friendly feeling. Most importantly, the personalization and kindness of the owners is something that you won't be able to find at other hotels! I would definitely recommend this hotel to other family and friends. We'll stay here again for sure when we come back to Tahoe!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Namechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa cruz
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2012

What a great place to stay in Tahoe.  Our room was very modern, clean with such attention to details.  Have stayed in a lot of places on our road trip and found this place to be the best.  The owners gave great recommendations of places to eat and things to do.    The hotel has a nice quite location on a small street with lots of restaurant choices.  

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We had an opportunity to stay here past weekend: I would highly recommend Alder Inn for weekend trips.
a) Rooms are clean, attention to details, linens are top of the line feels cozy
b) right in middle of action, location wise
c) No smoking/pets: which makes it friendlier for ones traveling with young toddlers
d) Owners are super nice and very committed to making your stay pleasant.
as there are only few rooms with 2 queen beds, you need to call ahead and make reservation. Ours was a last minute reservation and owners did make me aware of it,

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocksfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern CA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Stayed for one night only and we really liked this place. The owners are extremely nice and have done an excellent job of making this "motor hotel" into a home away from home. The decor is very modern. The sheets were super comfortable and all of the little amenities provided, from coffee to cough drops, really made the stay even more special. Some of the rooms had teddy bears on the beds! Very cute!

There is only one reason I did not give this location 5-stars:
1. The shower needed some serious upgrading. The fiberglass was looking cracked and tired and the shower head was not adjustable. It sprayed very hard and ALL over the place. Trying to keep my hair dry while reaching to shut off the water was next to impossible. Someone (not sure if it is the current owners or not) has put in a lot of time upgrading and updating this older motor inn, but it still needs a few more tweaks before it is absolutely perfect. It is SO CLOSE!!

Otherwise, you can see the lake from in front of this spot and it is within walking distance of so many things, including restaurants. It is very homey and I would most likely stay here again.

Room Tip: We could hear our neighbors trouncing around upstairs, so if you want to be sure you don't hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelAllMyDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
The shower unit in your room did have a few nicks in the fiberglass, we only have 2 that are not perfect. It would cost thousands of dollars to replace all shower units, we have chosen to put this cost into upgraded bedding and amenities. As for the shower head, most guest are not so picky and like our new heads and water pressure. Maybe you should have asked us for a shower cap or taken a bubble bath if you did not want your hair to get wet.
Layni Davis. owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Inn

Property: Alder Inn
Address: 1072 Ski Run Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alder Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you dreaming of the perfect hotel for your Tahoe vacation? WE make dreams come true....With our modern plush furnishings, princess quality bedding and excellent customer service, you will be treated like royalty. Family owned and operated, from reservation to housekeeping! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Alder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing