We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alder Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alder Inn
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
“What a wonderful surprise!”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

My friends and I had a reservation at the Marriott for our week's stay. We later decided to drive up a day early and needed a room for one night only. I checked tripadvisor for my options and determined that the reviews on the Alder Inn were the best. My main goal was to find a place that was clean and maybe slightly above average.

WOW! Was I pleasantly surprised!! My friends and I are still talking about how nice the Alder Inn is. Not only was the decor in the rooms cute, (and very clean), we very much enjoyed meeting Layni and Chad. The attention to detail of the Alder Inn is amazing.

We were actually sad to check out and move to the Marriott! We expect to make the Alder Inn a new tradition for our annual ski get-away.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb-n-Chaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    185
    28
    5
    0
See reviews for
135
463
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

The owners are friendly and focused on service like nobody's business. The rooms are tastefully decorated, and have a plethora of little touches that we appreciated (chocolates, good coffee, a variety of medicines and supplements). If you need anything, just call, and they'll make it happen. The hot tub helped soothe my aching everything after a couple of unsuccessful days trying to snow board (aside: I'm never trying that again; skiing for me). As an older hotel, there are some signs of age, but it feels more like character at the Alder Inn. Only downside for me was that the walls were a little thin, leaving some road noise, but the bed was so comfy that we didn't have trouble sleeping.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are quieter, better decorated and come with comfy robes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
We're so happy you enjoyed your stay. All travelers should realize that the town of Tahoe is old, including 95% of all hotels and lodging properties. We have extensively remodeled the inside of the rooms and the pool and spa area.........there is only so much you can do with the outside of an older building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tacoma
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Friendly, helpful hosts, unique rooms, great location. We stayed on our way south, returned to stay on the way home.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patty h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

If you are looking for a cookie cut, big box hotel, don't stay here. If you are looking for cute rooms in an excellent location. Of you yearn for the small touches that all add up to an attention to detail that I have rarely experienced. If you are looking for owners who are warm, friendly and so incredibly helpful then staying at the Alder is a must.

This really is one of the best places I have ever stayed.

Don't book on the web, call them and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ianoakpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2012

The Alder Inn exceeded every expectation, and we could not have asked for anything better. It was our first time staying in Tahoe, and our primary objective was to Ski at Heavenly. The Alder Inn was perfect because it was cute, quaint, very clean and comfortable with a fridge and microwave, and the best of all it is only 2 blocks from the California side of Heavenly. On their website, they show pictures of each room (which is decorated differently), and you can choose which room you want. Most hotels I've encountered look nothing like the pictures on their website, but that is not the case for the Alder Inn. What you see is definetly what you get. It is run by the owners, Chad and Layni who are amazing and will do anything to make sure that you have a great trip. When we checked in, they gave us an area map and showed us places that we needed to see and also where to get great food. They also told us where to go to get the best deals on ski rental equipment. We are planning on returning, and will only stay at the Alder Inn!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Just returned from a fabulous week at Alder Inn. The most important thing to mention is that Chad and Laney were perfect hosts, couldn't do enough for us and passed on lots of local knowledge and recommendations without which we would not have enjoyed our stay half as much. Our room was lovely with lots of quirky fixtures and thoughtful touches. Hot-tub was also very welcome to flop into at the end of a days skiing!

Alder Inn is well situated on the skibus route or 5min drive to Heavenly slopes. 10mins walk or short drive into town. Plenty of nice local pubs and restaurants. If you want a sensibly priced stay in Heavenly this is the place to stay.

Great job guys, we hope to see you again soon !!!
Max & Lesley

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesBonViveurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This is an average place trying to be above average (and charge higher prices). Although the rooms are decorated quite nicely they are small, the cost of a room (140+ a night) is too high. You can not avoid the fact that this is a motel converted to an "Inn" located on a busy strip (Ski Run Blvd) and the noise from the busy street and guests is enough to keep you awake.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank soozandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
According to the other reviews written by this guest, we feel very fortunate that she chose our hotel for her stay and that we received a 3 star review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
853 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,038 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
798 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Inn

Property: Alder Inn
Address: 1072 Ski Run Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#1 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alder Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you dreaming of the perfect hotel for your Tahoe vacation? WE make dreams come true....With our modern plush furnishings, princess quality bedding and excellent customer service, you will be treated like royalty. Family owned and operated, from reservation to housekeeping! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Alder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing