We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very cozy & romantic!! It's worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alder Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alder Inn to your Saves list
Alder Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save!
Ranked #3 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Very cozy & romantic!! It's worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Had a great time! Great hotel! Very cozy & romantics. Very clean. I would deff go back!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xoSARAHxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    165
    25
    5
    0
See reviews for
106
420
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

My wife and I went to Tahoe for a quick three day getaway from the daily grind. We decided to give the Alder Inn a try and were not disappointed. We live close to the lake between Sac and Reno and love to visit South Shore and have stayed at many hotels in South Lake Tahoe, what a surprise! Since all the hotels in town are old, we were surprised how cute the Alder Inn was on the outside...very charming. The rooms are by far the largest we have seen in South Lake Tahoe. Our room had a new sofa and new furniture, a big fluffy rug all nicely decorated. The bed was amazing! The kitchenette area had several types of coffee, tea and Cocoa and Ciders...something we have never found anywhere else. Our bathroom also seemed new and the biggest bonus was a bathtub, not just a tiny shower like most of the places in Tahoe. The Bathrobes and wineglasses were a great added touch.
We really enjoyed the outdoor hot tub since it was very cold outside great location..quite and great spot to soak and stare up at the stars beyond the tall trees. We could even see the lights from the chair lift at heavenly while sitting in the hot tub. It was nice to still be able to use the beautiful pool area since most hotels close theirs wen the snow begins to fall. We had a great romantic dinner in front of a fire pit while lying on a cabana bed.
Even the breakfast the next morning was cute, seating area with a large fire pit and chairs just outside the lobby.
Thank You Chad and Layni for the most memorable stays in Tahoe!! You have done a great job with the place and we will be back very soon. We will tell everyone we know how great you made our stay.

Room Tip: Call or Email the hotel directly and they will upgrade you to a premium room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

My wife and I traveled to South Lake Tahoe in the off-season (October 21-23) and fountthis hotel/motel to be a great place to stay. Chad and Lani were great hosts, taking pride in both the rooms, the grounds and our overall experience. Real nice personal touch. They have upgraded an old motel (three separate buildings with small rooms) with modern updated amenities and warm touches. We stayed in room 13 (lake side building) on the second (top) floor. Rooms are close together and they are older buildings so expect being able to hear your neighbors when the motel is at full capacity. Location of motel is also great - close to skiing, close to the lake, close to CA and NV "downtowns". We walked and biked (with complimentary hotel bikes!) everywhere. We received good (local, not chain) recommendations for food.

Room Tip: We suspect that top floors are better, as with most motels
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lamaj39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We were very impressed with this hotel...the website showed that the rooms were decorated to a high standard so we were not disappointed when we walked into the room. Very comfortable beds and the rooms have everything you could need. The owners were very friendly and helped us out with some local tips about where to visit and where to get a nice meal etc. The hotel is within walking distance to the lake and nice shops and restaurants (I liked The Red Hut for breakfast!) I would definately recommend this place x

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Balfoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Chad and Lani were the kindest hosts we have ever experienced. They have thoughtfully decorated each room so wonderfully. So many extras are included in each room...more than we have ever seen in even 5 star hotels. Don't let the modest appearance from the outside fool you, once you walk in a room you will know you have found the best hotel in Tahoe. Our room had a really big new flat screen TV mounted to the wall and a beautiful very ornate ceiling fan. The parking lot had lots of room and the Pool and Hot tub were very clean and looked new. Everything in the room looked new even the sheets and towels. Really comfortable stripe satiny sheets and I think they just got the mattress the weekend before our stay. Big and thick really soft and made for a great night sleep. Great water pressure from the shower and it was tall I am 6 foot and usually have to duck in hotels but the shower heads were tall. Nice touch.
Great stay for an even better price, we will be returning this winter. love the location on ski run good resturants and could walk to everything.
Thanks
Bjorn in soCal

Room Tip: As others have said, Get an upstairs room to get a beautiful; ceiling fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjorn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

This is such a cute motel! Our room was decorated very modern, super clean, great extras like wine glasses and green tea. The bed was really comfy, looked brand new with soft sheets and lots of pillows. They actually had great shampoo and soap, not the cheap stuff at some hotels. The decorations were so different than most hotels, I wish my bedroom looked like it. It's in a very quiet area of town and we were still able to walk to eat and the boat. The owners were really cool and told us of their fav spots to go. Since the owners run the place, call them directly they will give you a better rate and you can choose from different rooms.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms have really big ceiling fans
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donna n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We were attracted by the low prices and the unique room of Alder Inn. The owners are extremely nice people. We had tones of questions on where to go and eat. They patiently answered our questions one by one. Without their recommendations, our vacation wouldn't be as enjoyable as we would like to. In terms of the room, each room has their own theme. The room we were staying was very stylish. The bed was very comfortable. All of the amenities were delightful- chocolate, dried fruits, hair shampoo and conditioner, body lotion, toothpaste and all natural soap etc. If you are up on the mood for biking, they do lend out free bicycle. You can save money for renting a bike. Great location with lots of food options in walking distance and only a few blocks away from the lake. The lake was a perfect place for sunset view if you are looking for a romantic spot. Highly recommended !!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mangonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 779 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 593 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#17 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Inn

Property: Alder Inn
Address: 1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alder Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you dreaming of the perfect hotel for your Tahoe vacation? WE make dreams come true....With our modern plush furnishings, princess quality bedding and excellent customer service, you will be treated like royalty. Family owned and operated, from reservation to housekeeping! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Alder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing