We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's like staying at a friends house!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alder Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alder Inn
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's like staying at a friends house!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

The location was very convenient. Several excellent restaurants nearby (Red Hut was my fave for breakfast, Riva Grill for dinner). Walking distance to the lake and boat/jet-ski rentals. Chad and Laney are a charming couple who gave up their career as chemists to pursue a new venture. They've taken lots of care to decorate each room with personality and flavor. Our room (#13) was decorated and furnished in a modern fashion...not in the typical rustic pine style that most Tahoe hotels offer. I felt obligated to take special care of their room, as I knew they went the extra mile to make it special for their guests and I didn't want to ruin anything. LOL. Also, they have very accurate interior pics of their rooms on their website (alder inn dot com).

The hot tub and HEATED pool is less than a year old as of July/2011, and we made sure to make great use of the facilities. Chad and Laney waited on us hand-and-foot the entire time we were there and seemed very passionate about what they do. I've never received service of this kind from any hotel I've ever stayed at and will be sure to support their business whenever I travel to Tahoe from now on. Thanks Alder Inn, you're the best!

Room Tip: Call Alder Inn and speak with them directly for the best chance of a premium room, as they're al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MellyMel1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    185
    29
    5
    0
See reviews for
136
463
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

Our choice to stay at the Alder Inn was above and beyond our expectations. The owners Chad and Layni were so friendly. They gave great suggestions for places to eat and activities to do while in Tahoe. The rooms were clean and tastefully decorated. The pool / hotub, cabanas, and gardens were peaceful and looked like they were out of a home and garden magazine. I am suggesting this place to all our family and friends. I can't wait to go back and stay longer! Thank you Chad and Layni for all the special touches that made our anniversary so special. You have definitely found your niche in life.

Room Tip: Call the Inn directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shields73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at the Alder Inn in S. Lake Tahoe. The location is good (right off of Ski Run blvd). The hotel looks recently renovated and the room that were in was tastefully decorated. There was complimentary wifi, a coffee machine, microwave and a mini fridge in our room. Those extras don't come in the higher priced (chain) resorts. The owners met our every request in a way that was friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay here on my next trip to Tahoe.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OuchIAteMyself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

This is the first review that I ever wrote about a Hotel/Inn/Motel and the reason is that Chad and Layni made sure that our stay would be no less than perfect. I can write about the nice pool + Jacuzzi and the nice room that we stayed in, but the main thing for us was the nice atmosphere and the nice people that we met here, especially Chad and Layni who made us feel welcome from the first minute.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

This is such a find; a lovely little place with a friendly owner and very tastefully, beautifully decorated rooms.

We stayed for 2 nights and were very glad that we chose this place. The rooms have everything you could need including a microwave and fridge as well as little touches such as chocolates, coffee and cider.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed at the Alder Inn on our honeymoon vacation. The rooms are fabulous and the beds are extremely comfortable. We really enjoyed the hot tub area and the cabana beds were perfect for our romantic evenings. Our hosts, Chad and Layne were awsome. Our housekeeper was a real California hottie! Lol!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky7251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodward, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

First off. The hotels in South Lake Tahoe are mostly all motels. This place from first glance looked just like the rest....but once we arrived, we were so suprized how much attention to detail the owners had put into each room, the beds were very comfy and even triple sheeted just like the 5 star hotels in Vegas. The pool area was right out of a home and garden magazine. I picked this place because of reviews about how great the location was... let me tell you they were spot on! We walked down to the beach by Riva Grill every evening to watch the sun set into the mountains just across the lake. Breathtaking! We will highly recommend this place to all.

Room Tip: Every room in the hotel is decorated diferently!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodwaycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Inn

Property: Alder Inn
Address: 1072 Ski Run Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alder Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you dreaming of the perfect hotel for your Tahoe vacation? WE make dreams come true....With our modern plush furnishings, princess quality bedding and excellent customer service, you will be treated like royalty. Family owned and operated, from reservation to housekeeping! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Alder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing