We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“salmon spawn in October fascinating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taylor Creek Visitor Center

Taylor Creek Visitor Center
Hwy. 89, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
530 573 2674
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“salmon spawn in October fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

great spot to visit especially in October when the Lake Tahoe salmon spawn into Taylor Creek. At any time the hikes and views are a great break. We enjoyed the site a great deal.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    61
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, Ca.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Must see in Lake Tahoe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We visited this center late October. Went into the Visitor Center first, and enjoyed talking with the enthusiastic ranger who was full of information and stories about the area, and happy to relate them all (including how Lake Tahoe got it's name). We were glad that we got there a few days before it was to close on Oct. 31 for the season. There are interesting maps and books and other items for sale. We then wandered down the Rainbow Trail and saw the spawning Kokanee Salmon (a great educational area.) There were many dead salmon since this was late in the season (unfortunately didn't see the bears as some have said they encountered.) One of the rangers even came out of the office and was at creekside to answer any questions. The underwater viewing area is interesting. One of the "must see" attractions in South Lake Tahoe.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CBergmanRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Come to see the Salmon run”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

If you are coming to Tahoe to see the Salmon run in October this is the place you need to come.
The Rainbow Trail is what you'll look for- its the easiest trail ever!
Go underground to see an upwards view of the stream and the salmon.
We came mid October and many many salmon were already dead so come beginning of October to catch all the action.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsGoodface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredibly educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Definitely one of the finest educational displays I've seen, from illustrated posters to an easy walk through natural areas where you could encounter any number of animal sightings! They have created an underground view of the creek, which is amazing, and we happened to catch the salmon spawning in October.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great family fund”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a must see on the south shore. The brief walk to the creek has an amazing view of the mountains and the meadow. You end up at the underwater viewing station which is incredible. If possible, visit in October during the salmon run. This year we were in the underwater viewing area and watch a bear outside the window fishing for the salmon. An amazing sight!

The walk, creek viewing station and visitor’s center are very educational. I image that all of the local schools make annual trips here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taylor Creek Visitor Center also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 

Been to Taylor Creek Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing