We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love the Capri Motel!!!!”
Review of Capri Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Capri Motel
Ranked #37 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed January 21, 2010

We have stayed at the Capri Motel several times and our expierence just keeps getting better and better. We love Tammy, as she is VERY helpful and friendly. She has recommended several attractions to us that have made our stay in Lake Tahoe more memorable. The rooms are very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovestotravel3264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 62 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2010

I've stayed at several other hotels on my trips to Tahoe, but my stay at the Capri was the best. The rooms were comfortable and cozy, the staff was helpful, and the price was right. The location was great. It's near the casinos, beaches, and ski resorts. The manager was helpful with events and places to go. The manager was very nice and accomodating. I will definitely return just because of her not to mention the other reasons listed above.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michigander0316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

My friend and I stopped by this hotel without reservations looking for a place for just one night. We ended up not even staying and the crazy woman working the front desk should be fired immediately. My friend is from Europe and the woman was extremely rude, disrespectful and condesending about some of the differences between the U.S. and Europe. I have done a fair amount of traveling and never before have I come across such a pathetic, mad-at-the-world type person. We decided after talking with her a few minutes to take out business elsewhere. She followed us out to the car yelling and carrying on. I was shocked at the lack of professionalism and pure lack of judgement. I would never give my business to someone who treated my friend and I the way she did. We ended up going right next door to the Alpine Inn and had a great experience. Very friendly and welcoming.
My advice: give your business to those who are deserving and have basic human respect for all!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

This is the worst Motel I've ever stayed in. The place was walking distance from Harrah's Hotel which was the only good thing about staying here. Other than this, the office lady was very very rude starting from the time we checked in. Also, the second room that we booked had a defective bed and it broke. The next day when we informed the office lady, she was very defensive and claimed that the guys were jumping on it....how mature was that? She knew that the bed was broken but failed to inform us about it at check-in...Also try coordinating with people in other rooms (me being sarcastic), because if you plan to take a shower and someone else is taking one too, be ready for some COLD water....Oh yeah, lastly, IF for some crazy reason you do decide to stay here, book with the Motel office directly because their rates are a lot cheaper than booking with AAA or with any other travel agencies!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janet_Jacks0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

This place may not be a 5 star luxury hotel, BUT it is clean and convenient. It is a stones throw to Harvey's Casino (where they have outdoor concerts - you can sit on the Capri's upstairs patio and listen to great music and watch the 4th of July fireworks) and its just a few blocks from the beach and Edgewood golf course. Its walking distance as well to the Heavenly gondola at the Marriotts Hotel. The hotel manager "Lee" is very nice and serves morning coffee and a packaged pastry to go (ie muffins, bearclaws...) A great basecamp for all your Sierra adventures.
~Maureen W.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m0welsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2008

This place is a very clean and basic motel. You don't get all the amenities of staying at a casino but you also do not pay the casino's big price.

It is in one of the best locations in South Lake Tahoe to access the casinos. The motel is located caddycorner to the back entrance of Harvey's.

Why pay for a concert at Harvey's when you can BBQ by the pool and hear it for free from the clean and never crowded pool at the Capri. Lee runs a tight ship and makes sure her guests are taken care of and happy. I love this place and will continue to go back every year. (P.S. I don't own this place or anything that would make me biased)

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TahoeTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2007

Very Nice place, kinda like your own cabin the in woods. Location is awesome, you could throw a baseball and hit Harveys, it's that close. Quick and easy drive to the lake or just walk less than 1/2 mile...I've stayed with wedding parties here also, we reserved a block of rooms and had the wedding party stay in Harveys...Nice warm pool during the summer months, with a gas bbq pit for your use...Funtimes at the Capri for a reasonable rate!!!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank outdoorsmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.3 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Lake Tahoe
0.2 mi away
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
#18 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
762 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#10 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,131 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Landing Resort & Spa
The Landing Resort & Spa
#4 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,037 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capri Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri Motel

Address: 932 Stateline Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6913
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Hotel Class:2 star — Capri Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Capri Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Capri Motel Lake Tahoe
Capri Hotel Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing