We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capri Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Lake Tahoe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Capri Motel
Save
You added Capri Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #41 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

great location right behind one of the major casinos. Always clean, friendly, quite. Great Value.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slkric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    10
    7
    2
    11
See reviews for
16
16
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I found this to be the most perfect place to stay whilst in SLT and will be staying again. I spent 9 days at this motel and have nothing but good things to say about it from it being very clean/good price/great location/great owners and staff who quite obviously do and provide that little bit extra than you would normally expect from a motel.

If like me you are a skier this place is pefect, the room was probably 3 times the size i would normally get in Europe and fantastic value.

Like most people I researched this property and have read 1 or 2 negative reviews, take no notice of them you will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Room 21, Ski shuttle from Reno Airport stops yards away from the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poppysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this lovely motel for 3 nights during Christmas break. This is the first place we've stayed in where the amenities were so abundant. All the usual amenities and then some - hair gel, hair wax, liquid band-aids, extra trial sized toothpaste, conditioners, tylenol, etc., all for free. Additionally, there was an ample supply of coffee (both kinds), cream, various sugars, extra towels, a blanket and pillow already in the room. Our room had a mini fridge and micro which came in handy. The room itself was clean and provided all the necessities, i.e., iron, work desk w/chair, cable tv, free WiFi (no blow dryer or bath tub though), and the bed was very comfortable. There is a free continental breakfast offered each morning, but we were never able to take advantage of it. The husband and wife who manage the Capri couldn't be more friendly and helpful either. We were able to leave our car parked in their lot the day we checked out and were able to retrieve it after our full day of skiing. The location is perfect. Despite the motel being just one block from the casinos and shopping, we found it very quiet during the evening hours. An easy walk to the Gondola at Heavenly where we went skiing. We look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cairo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

This motel is very clean, spacious, at the excellent location with extremely competitive price! The manager is really nice! She provides lots of good fruits and healthy snacks! We spent 3 nights during Christmas while we skied at Heavenly. We like it so much that at the third night, our friends also book a room at Capri! This motel just has everything that we need while we are skiing in Tahoe. Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

The owners are very friendly and gave us a great deal. Our room was always clean and stocked with freebies plus free continental breakfast and snacks in the office. Best value by far! We'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RahCouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

When we first arrived on Friday (My fiance and I) the owner was very nice, helped us get all checked in and we thought it was a very cute place. She told us how they had just taken over and even told a story about how they've learned to scan people better since someone broke a window and got charged and then was upset. But getting charged for something like that is understandable. The room was cute, nice, and warm, the heater worked very well. Everything was fine execpt there was no fridge, which we were expecting, the walls are paper thin, and the sink was having trouble draining. The hotel is conveniently located right across from Harveys which was nice because we didnt have to worry about a long walk or cabs. By Sunday morning the sink would no longer drain. We didnt wash anything but water down it. I mentioned that we should say something but my fiance just said to leave water in it so that they know its clogged. BIG mistake. What we should have done was told them right away that it was having trouble draining and maybe even taken a picture. Once we were settled back at home, my fiance noticed a $100 charge for clogged drain. I called the owner to talk about the incident and explained that it had been having trouble since we got there. She immediately got defensive and called me a liar. She said we must have gone to the bathroom in it or puked in it? I'm asumming she thought this because my fiance drinks beer and we left a few beer bottles in the trash? Or its because we are younger and shes just discriminating? Not sure but it was rude. So unprofessional I couldn't believe it! Her husband was also being rude in the background on the phone yelling about how he cleaned it up and it was disgusting. Yes this was definitely a learning experience for us but I just hate being acussed of something that we didn't cause! We are good people. If the owner would have said we understand you may not have caused it but because you didnt come to us right away we still have to charge you, in a nice calm voice then I probably wouldnt be writing this review. She made me feel like a horrible person which is unfair. Hope you all take our mistakes in to consideration when you stay here!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Stayed here for a girls night out in Tahoe - its an older motel but very clean and right across the street from Harveys. It had a large community deck with table and chairs, and a beautiful HEATED pool! We had adjoining ground floor rooms and since the parking was right in front, it was very convenient for getting our suitcases, etc to our room. There is a 2nd story however no elevator since it is an older facility. The rooms are large with refrigerators, table and chairs, comfortable beds and it was quiet. We enjoyed our stay there!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YaYa910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Tahoe Villa North Lodge
Tahoe Villa North Lodge
#48 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
#11 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 581 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpine Inn & Spa
Alpine Inn & Spa
#39 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#46 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Doc's Cottages
Doc's Cottages
#1 of 3 in Stateline
4.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Motor Lodge
Ambassador Motor Lodge
#51 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capri Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri Motel

Property: Capri Motel
Address: 932 Stateline Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Hotel Class:2 star — Capri Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Capri Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Capri Motel Lake Tahoe
Capri Hotel Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing