We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apres Ski”

Gunbarrel Tavern & Eatery
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Zephyr Cove, Nevada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Apres Ski”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This restaurant is in a great location for a promising Apres Ski scene. The happy hours here are from 3-6 and 9-12 or something close, so after you come down from Heavenly, you can shoot back some cheap drinks with good food.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    116
    39
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Escalon, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great food & drink stop!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Two days of skiing at Heavenly, we stopped here twice. Chef Brad creates wonderfully balanced tasty plates. Shrimp and grits are awesome! Seriously doubt you will be disappointed. Just steps from the Gondola, so coming off the mountain for lunch works really well here since you only get a slice of pizza and a beer for twenty bucks on the slopes. Service, atmosphere, and prices are good. We have found a new must stop place for when we return to South Shore!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJ4UNME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had a great experience at the Gunbarrel Tavern. It was a quiet night so we sat at the bar and chatted to the bartender and chef (when he came out of the kitchen). The chef made a special vegan veggie plate, which was excellent! We also had some of the other dishes on the menu and an excellent Zinfandel.

They went out of their way to make sure we had a great experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TR_California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Small portions”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

First impression was that the place had and industrial feel to it - all the bare pipes and wires in the ceiling were not to my taste. Menu had really few choices, maybe 4 entrees. If you want a burger you'll have to like bison. But some new and adventurous choices too, like the $19 beer can chicken. The place is expensive though, $19 for a half chicken? We settled on tortilla soup and sliders. Small portions. I do not usually advocate giant portions, quality comes first. But theirs were so small I didn't dare to ask my wife to try her food.
Soup came to our table lukewarm. We sat by the door and it was really drafty. It would be nice if they had a curtain there or a thin wall.

Overall as far as pubs go, this one falls into the bottom third.

Helpful?
1 Thank Skelshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton Ohio
Level Contributor
137 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Interesting menu”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Under the gondola at Heavenly Village, Gunbarrel bills itself as a tavern, but this is clearly a contemporary restaurant with a few few rustic wood touches to remind you that you’re at an alpine ski resort. The atmosphere is casual, with a big, impressive bar on one side and an open kitchen on the other. The menu is modest and interesting, spanning a broad range of styles from nachos to ravioli to burgers to shrimp & grits. We were here for dinner; we selected a grilled brie sandwich (inexplicably called "bry" by the young man who delivered it to our table) with caramelized onions and a bison burger. Both were delicious. We opted for house fries instead of BBQ-flavored house chips – best fries I've had in a while, crisp, tasty, not greasy. The service was friendly, breezy, and attentive.

So why is this place not overflowing with customers? We were in the gap between ski and summer seasons, but some other nearby restaurants were doing brisk business and Gunbarrel was not. We enjoyed a very good meal in a casual, pleasant environment at a reasonable price without battling crowds of people. Sounds okay to me. I guess if you’re out to see and be seen, this place won’t do it for you, but if you just want to eat, they offer good food, service, and value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Creeker2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gunbarrel Tavern & Eatery also viewed

Lake Tahoe (California), CA
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Stateline, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Gunbarrel Tavern & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing