We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food & drink stop!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gunbarrel Tavern & Eatery

Gunbarrel Tavern & Eatery
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Escalon, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great food & drink stop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Two days of skiing at Heavenly, we stopped here twice. Chef Brad creates wonderfully balanced tasty plates. Shrimp and grits are awesome! Seriously doubt you will be disappointed. Just steps from the Gondola, so coming off the mountain for lunch works really well here since you only get a slice of pizza and a beer for twenty bucks on the slopes. Service, atmosphere, and prices are good. We have found a new must stop place for when we return to South Shore!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CJ4UNME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    114
    36
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had a great experience at the Gunbarrel Tavern. It was a quiet night so we sat at the bar and chatted to the bartender and chef (when he came out of the kitchen). The chef made a special vegan veggie plate, which was excellent! We also had some of the other dishes on the menu and an excellent Zinfandel.

They went out of their way to make sure we had a great experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TR_California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Small portions”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

First impression was that the place had and industrial feel to it - all the bare pipes and wires in the ceiling were not to my taste. Menu had really few choices, maybe 4 entrees. If you want a burger you'll have to like bison. But some new and adventurous choices too, like the $19 beer can chicken. The place is expensive though, $19 for a half chicken? We settled on tortilla soup and sliders. Small portions. I do not usually advocate giant portions, quality comes first. But theirs were so small I didn't dare to ask my wife to try her food.
Soup came to our table lukewarm. We sat by the door and it was really drafty. It would be nice if they had a curtain there or a thin wall.

Overall as far as pubs go, this one falls into the bottom third.

Helpful?
1 Thank Skelshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton Ohio
Level Contributor
137 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Interesting menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Under the gondola at Heavenly Village, Gunbarrel bills itself as a tavern, but this is clearly a contemporary restaurant with a few few rustic wood touches to remind you that you’re at an alpine ski resort. The atmosphere is casual, with a big, impressive bar on one side and an open kitchen on the other. The menu is modest and interesting, spanning a broad range of styles from nachos to ravioli to burgers to shrimp & grits. We were here for dinner; we selected a grilled brie sandwich (inexplicably called "bry" by the young man who delivered it to our table) with caramelized onions and a bison burger. Both were delicious. We opted for house fries instead of BBQ-flavored house chips – best fries I've had in a while, crisp, tasty, not greasy. The service was friendly, breezy, and attentive.

So why is this place not overflowing with customers? We were in the gap between ski and summer seasons, but some other nearby restaurants were doing brisk business and Gunbarrel was not. We enjoyed a very good meal in a casual, pleasant environment at a reasonable price without battling crowds of people. Sounds okay to me. I guess if you’re out to see and be seen, this place won’t do it for you, but if you just want to eat, they offer good food, service, and value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Creeker2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder City, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Happy!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We decided to sit at the bar. Max the bartender was very nice. He knew his beers & about other brewers. We had the shishito peppers that was good. We also ordered Kobe beef sliders, tortilla soup (super flavorful & yummy) & shrimp & grits. Great meal, great service this place was a hot after a 6 hour motorcycle ride. Walking distance from the Hilton Express!

Helpful?
Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gunbarrel Tavern & Eatery also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Gunbarrel Tavern & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing