We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish Tacos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fresh Ketch Restaurant

Fresh Ketch Restaurant
2435 Venice Dr E, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
530-541-5683
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
West Lafayette
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fish Tacos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Wanted to eat on the dock, but no umbrella tables were available. Sat inside in bar area. No flow through ventilation, got very warm. Tried mahi mahi fish tacos, husband tried salmon fish tacos. Shared and loved them both. Not a menu item found in the Midwest! Loved them!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonHank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    57
    23
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
98 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Don't forget the beef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were seated inside, upstairs with a great view of the marina. We may have enjoyed it more seated on the outside deck. The Prime Rib was tremendous( Saturday only). Done perfectly, tender and tasty. Unfortunately there was no creamed horseradish sauce. The chef felt bad and gave us some crab cakes to try. Very nice touch. My partner had Halibut and it was great too. Found a nice Malbec, Ruta 22 which was a very nice compliment to the meal. A little over priced for the decor and atmosphere. Overall worth trying.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
155 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Love this place...great Marina and views..always make sure we include dinner on all visits. Food is really good..greatvdronksvatvsunset.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara4797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The biggest mistake of our Tahoe trip”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We called ahead for reservations and arrived at 8 pm. We were seated in a corner booth upstairs, with a view of the marina. This place was hopping due to a wedding patry downstairs, which really shouldn't have affected the dining upstairs.
Unfortunately, that was not the case. We waiting for 45 minutes and finally flagged down a server to place drink orders. He never returned. A woman from the bar approached our table and asked if we'd been helped, took our drink orders and didn't return until much later. A different waiter approached the table, took our orders, after a 1-1/2 hr wait. Fast forward to 2 hrs and still no food, it was actually 10:10pm before the food arrived. They explained that our ticket had been lost, which is understandable, but shouldn't the server check back with the guests periodically??? Unbelievable !! When my daughter asked for a balsamic dressing for the salad, he brought oil and vinegar and stated that the kitchen had put all of the dressings away already. So go get the dressing out of the refrigerator.
The food was good, but we were almost asleep by the time it arrived. I don't think it's fair to blame one person for the terrible service but I am disappointed that no one from management ever spoke to us or apologized. The server only asked to pay for out drinks and tip, the meals were removed from the bill. Beware of busy nights or group events, I don't know if calling ahead for reservations will help at all. It didn't for us.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Agree - Best meal in Tahoe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We asked for a recommendation at Anderson bike rental (wonderful place!) and he recommended this place. We ate at a table outside with a gorgeous view. Our daughter was hungry and they got her order placed immediately as we looked over the menu. We had fresh oyster, split a Granny apple salad and I had the blackened Mahi tacos and my husband had the special. Everything was wonderful! Even though my tacos were great I savored several bites of my husband's sea bass with a chili sauce. He said the best fish he ever had and I'd probably agree! Ate at Kitchen 19 ( top of Harvey's) and had a very uneasy ant experience and the food was no where near as good. We will be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FaithS914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresh Ketch Restaurant also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Fresh Ketch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing