We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good Restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fresh Ketch Restaurant

Fresh Ketch Restaurant
Ranked #119 of 146 Restaurants in South Lake Tahoe
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have gone to this restaurant a number of times and have enjoyed it each time. They offer a number of fish entrees and the ones I have had were very good. For meat eaters they offer some items also.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TahoeMounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    61
    23
    27
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
334 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Restaurant with a Marina View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Dinner didn't start out too well when they came to tell us that they burned our calamari appetizer and we would have to wait for them to redo it. We expected them to offer us a little nibble while we waited longer or something as simple as bread, but no offer. We had to ask for some bread. At least they didn't serve us the burned calamari. When it finally did arrive, it was great - not too greasy. I had the shrimp and scallops which was sooo good! My husband had the ahi tuna which was a much larger portion than expected.

We had a nice view of the marina and it was very quiet upstairs where we dined while the music played downstairs. Our waitress was friendly, but became distracted and spent her time talking with another table for a very long time and we had to get her attention to bring us the bill when we were ready to leave. All in all, I would definitely return for another order of those shrimp and scallops!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2butterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Homey & Cool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Fresh Ketch is kind of a local's little secret eatery. It is in the Tahoe Keyes marina area which is off the beaten track for most visitors to South Lake Tahoe. However, it is worth going a bit out of your way for if you are in the So Lake Tahoe/Stateline area. The restaurant is two storeys with a bar with live music on the first floor and the larger dinning room on the second. You look out onto the marina and surrounding community. There is a really good menu (heavy on seafood) and a good easy vibe to the place. We were there on a Monday night so things weren't crowded at all. We had a great and personable waiter who was attentive and efficient. Food was of good quality for a fair price. Wouldn't hestitate to go back and wouldn't hesitate to recommend for others.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Burney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great bar-food - lovely setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Oh oyster come and walk with us, the walrus did beseech..... Cocktails, oysters, granny smith salad. Perfect lunch, afternoon snack, late supper. Best oysters in Tahoe. They do have big menu good mix of fish, meat, pasta, etc. Good live music some evenings and happy hour through the week days.
4 visits in 3 weeks says it all!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jennysk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stateline, Nevada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice Tahoe experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Very pleasant and professional server. Table overlooked snowy Tahoe Keys marina with pretty views of the eastern moutains. We liked the cozy stone decor. We split crab cakes and a cob salad which were tasty. Fun lunch on Christmas eve.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Valleybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresh Ketch Restaurant also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Carnelian Bay, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Fresh Ketch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing