We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky”

Freshies Restaurant & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Funky”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Funky Hawaiian vibe with great food. I had the Kalua pork plate and it was awesome. My wife had the ala carte fish tacos. Both great!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wph01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    65
    26
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hawaiian Style Pork”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had the Hawaiian style pork and it was delicious and we are headed back next month and will go back again. Hubby had peel and eat shrimp. Very flavorful. Will try tacos and tri fries next time. Great service and good price

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slolucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious, homemade food, Hawaiian vibe, deck overlooking Lake Tahoe - AWESEOME”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We didn't find out about this place until our last nite at Lake Tahoe, wish we'd found it sooner. There is a fun, creative menu with a focus on fresh, healthy food - lots for anyone who's eating a restricted diet, vegetarians, vegans, etc. That said, it's also delicious, fun food. We shared a veg tempura appetizer that is the best tempura we ever had. We had the halibut special and jerked chicken - both great. Yummy coconut cream pie for dessert. We also had great service. Sitting on the deck in early evening looking across the road at Lake Tahoe, sipping wine, listening to their quirky, Hawaiian-themed music, was just wonderful for our last dinner there. Get there early if you want the deck - definitely worth it. ALOHA!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JudiL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food but slow service.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We ate lunch here on a Thursday afternoon. We waited about 10 minutes to sit inside. They said the outside seating would be a longer wait. They have a terrific menu with many options. I ordered the hawaiian bbq sandwich with organic greens and it was very good. Fish tacos were ordered by someone in my group and they said they were amazing. Not so much about the fish and chips, just average. The major complaint was that it took Forever to get our food. They must need a bigger kitchen because it took at least 45 min to get our food. We had two different servers helping us and neither one said anything about it taking so long. Maybe this is normal for them. I would eat here again for the food but if the service was slow again, I would probably have to reconsider. Be prepared to wait.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amehen23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

The name says a lot, FRESH. My wife had a heart of palm salad topped with jerked chicken; she's still raving about it. My gazpaco and calamari was also excellent. We would definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Photom299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freshies Restaurant & Bar also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 

Been to Freshies Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing