We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Definitely the best cuisine on the Lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Evan's American Gourmet Cafe

Evan's American Gourmet Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Francisco
Level Contributor
127 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Definitely the best cuisine on the Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

There was nothing to dislike other than we were seated beneath an HVAC duct and the A/C was ON. It did blow cold all during our dinner and that was the only inconvenience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wallytheplumber30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    42
    14
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Good afternoon! I finally got to Lake Tahoe and it is actually more beautiful than the pictures. My wife and I arrived in on a Wednesday and spent the Thursday riding bicycles all over the place. At the end of the day we wanted to find a really nice place to eat and found Evans Café on Route 89 in South Lake Tahoe. Folks...your search is over. The food is incredible!!! Andy and Anna who run the front of the house are charming and knowledgeable and make sure that you are comfortable and happy. There is absolutely no rush to get through dinner. The chef....this man has talent!!! Everything is cooked to absolute perfection. This is what a dining experience should be all about. Great food, cozy atmosphere, knowledgeable staff and great pricing.

If you don't go to this restaurant you are missing a major treat in life. We plan to go back for a longer stay in Tahoe and this will be at the top of the list of places to go and eat.

Bon Appetit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CaryLanguirand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Charming atmosphere, charming staff and amazing food! Evans is at the top of our list every time we visit the lake. Be sure to save room for dessert and I highly recommend the one that is similar to bananas foster - OMG thought I died and went to heaven!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank QB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
243 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“I wish I had this option back home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Cute little dining place with seating for only about 10 tables. It was quiet but still lively. The food was amazing. We shared duck sausage pizza to start (which my husband didn't want) but he ate all but 2 pieces it was so good. He had the filet and it had a lot of flavor. I had veal medallions which were in a truffle sauce and very good. We shared a sampler dessert (a chocolate pie, white chocolate macadamia torte, and a lemon raspberry neopolean) which we both liked so much we could've ate a whole one ourselves and the portions were really generous.. especially the wine pours. The food is made from scratch and worth every penny. Our bill was 160$ before tip (2 glasses of wine and 4 beers). The only con is that the service did slag off here and there but when they were on it the service was great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RomaTraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Incredible and imaginative!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This place was absolutely wonderful. I took my wife there for her birthday and the place was packed...get reservations! We could see why. As we sat down they brought us some toasts and pate, then explained the menu and specials to us. In short, we had a great bottle of wine, a Caesar Salad that was one of the best I have had, she had veal and I had duck with cherries. The bill came to 105 all tolled, and it was worth every penny of it! The service was outstanding, the atmosphere was outstanding and the food? "Forget about it!" We would, and will, go back there in a heart beat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gjleo049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evan's American Gourmet Cafe also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Evan's American Gourmet Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing