We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best meal, ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Evan's American Gourmet Cafe

Evan's American Gourmet Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best meal, ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I had high expectations based on other reviews, and they did not dissapoint. Our party of 4 had a 5 star experience from start to finish, with flawless service and flawless food. Food presentation on every dish was picture worthy! I enjoyed the butter lettuce salad, followed by the crab stuffed Salmon special, with a Bananas Foster for dessert. Every single staff member was professional and on-point, a rare thing to find in laid back Tahoe dining. Best restaurant in the area, hands down. Cant wait to return!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mountaingrrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    46
    15
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Through the years, still the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have been dining at Evan's for many years, and we have never been disappointed in food or service. This time we went with a friend whose palate is even more refined than ours - he, too, was impressed. The veal sweetbreads appetizer was a treat: served as a "napoleon" with wonderfully flaky pastry, it was a great start to our meal. The broccoli rabe soup was rich and extremely flavorful, our entrees (halibut, duck, and veal) were all masterfully prepared, our shared lemon curd dessert was a perfect ending. We will certainly be back - sooner, rather than later!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeT47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Level Contributor
175 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Trust the locals!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Impeccable service! The food was gourmet all the way, perfectly cooked and seasoned. Adventurous daily menu, including fantastic desserts.
I rated the prices a 5 because the high price was justified by the food, ambiance, and service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Photom299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Eight of us went to Evan's for a birthday celebration. Since it is very quaint and small they did not have anything available for our group until 8:30. When we arrived a few minutes early our table was ready for us. We were immediately greeted by our server, Robert, who was wonderful. He made suggestions for our dinners which were excellent. Everyone loved their meals but the filet mignon was the best. Everything was excellent and I highly recommend this restaurant for a delicious dinner and wonderful atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was one of the best dining experiences I've ever had. The place is very unassuming from the outside. The food was fantastic and service exceptional. An absolute must eat here if you visit South Lake Tahoe.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evan's American Gourmet Cafe also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Evan's American Gourmet Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing