We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a POPULAR restaurant, but well worth the wait!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Driftwood Cafe

Driftwood Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pinetop, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“This is a POPULAR restaurant, but well worth the wait!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Walked to Driftwood Cafe based on their Trip Advisor reviews. On a Sunday morning, we waited 30 minutes for a table (for 2). So, wandered over to Starbucks and grabbed a cup. By the time we wandered back, it was just another 5 minutes for our table. We enjoyed a meat lovers omelet and their take on Huevos Rancheros (delicious). Service was EXCELLENT, and food was delicious. So good that we walked back on Monday for Breakfast. There was no wait and the food was again fantastic. We will return and we've already recommended your restaurant to others who frequent South Lake Tahoe.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AZtwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    520
    318
    75
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Discovery Bay, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Strawberry Waffles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Try the Waffles with whipped cream and strawberries! Don't confuse this with the yogurt and granola waffle. This was the best waffle I have ever eaten. we made an extra trip last year, jut to go back and have the waffle.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_DB_Hoffmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Found by accident”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Walked in without knowing anything about it. Great food! Great menu! They let me do a substitution without any hassle. Terrific surprise!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DanielNNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
262 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Crazy busy, but a mean brekky burrito”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed at the 968 Park Hotel, which has a deal with Driftwood Cafe. Driftwood offers "Grab and go" breakfast bags to hotel guests. We opted for the "Grab and go" and were happy with that decision, especially when we got to the cafe and found that it was a mad house. There were half a dozen couples sitting outside waiting to be seated, but we were able to waltz in and grab our breakfast burritos. It was a really great deal and very convenient. Check with your hotel to see if they offer a similar deal. The burritos here are huge and enough to cover breakfast and lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spankyandsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
161 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Really, really good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Depending on when you are here, be prepared to wait. Weekdays aren't so bad but once the weekend crowd starts in on Fridays, it can get pretty crazy. The food is well worth the wait, but I don't quite get the corn muffin they serve with breakfast. I am not sure if it comes with all breakfasts, and maybe we hit an off day, but it was dry and flavorless as dirt. The Huevos del Driftwood were fantastic. The waitress suggested adding black bean chili and it was a winner. It was almost like breakfast nachos. And I am very happy I could order a half order. My husband had the full order and there is no way I could finish a full order. Mine was perfect! I hardly breathed or spoke until I was done! We will come back again and again......

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Driftwood Cafe also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Driftwood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing