We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The Best Cheesecake in Tahoe” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nephele's

Nephele's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nephele's has been a local favorite since 1977. We specialize in fresh fish and fresh game as well as seasonal specialties. Check out our full service bar and extensive wine list!
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Best Cheesecake in Tahoe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is by far one of the Best if not the best cheesecake's in all of Lake Tahoe. Great atmosphere and terrific service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hsplain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    49
    18
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“5 star dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was given this recommendation from the receptionist at the front desk. This restaurant has been written up in Wine Spectator, New York Times, SF times and Bon Appetit. The meal was fabulous and organic. The place is small and not over crowed with tourists. Generous proportions. we took 1/2 our meals home and ate them the next day. s

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank darlenelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“ELK??? OH YES”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

The staff was wonderful, but not as wonderful as the food. My husband went for the Elk to try something different and he loved it. My son had the lamb and raved about it. I went for the traditional filet becuase we had a killer cab that we brought in. We can see why this is one of the highest rated spots in South Tahoe. Thank You.......

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kathfootball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Food was excellent, service was great. Price was a bit high but this is expected for the food quality. The elk medalions were excellent

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joyunlimited14
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, great presentation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We found this little place down the street from our hotel, in the opposite direction of the lake. It took us a minute to find the entrance (which is on the side, the "inside" side, you'll know what I mean when you go there), and we entered through a sort of hallway which led to the bar area. Towards the back (or front, given the odd configuration of the restaurant) we found an intimate little dining area with a great view of a little garden through what seemed to be antique wooden windows. The service was excellent; we always had our glasses full and our empty plates were removed promptly. Prices here were on the higher side - $37 for Elk, and $30 for Halibut - but the presentation of the food was spectacular. The only improvements that could be had would be to the ladies restroom, which was small and in need to updating. Other than that, this was a nice little place for an intimate dinner and a glass of wine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joyunlimited14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nephele's also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Nephele's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing