We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Who would guess it would be so good?”

Primo's Italian Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Primo's Italian Bistro serves authentic Italian recipes and boasts the most extensive selection of Italian wines on the South Shore. Large parties, catering, reservations and to-go orders are welcome. We also have quarterly wine pairing dinners.
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Who would guess it would be so good?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

Tucked in the far end of a strip mall off Highway 50 and next to a laundromat, you might never think to walk in the door, which would mean you might miss a great meal. Our party of 5 had several different entrees, including a couple of the specials and all were lovely, as were the salads as a starter. Knocked out that all the pasta was clearly freshly made, food arrived at the table in all good time and was hot-I hate getting a nice meal put down that might have been tasty but tepid. My high bar test is always Chicken Parmesan, and this was splendid, plus generous enough portion to share with others. Service friendly and cheerful, place was clean, nice linens, glassware, etc. Our only minor issues were to wish for a little more light from opening blinds on a lovely summer evening, and a fairly shallow wine list, tho we enjoyed a decent Chianti, so not really a reason to mark down the score. Go there, you''ll have a nice time and good food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Candace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    45
    21
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
omaha, ne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Italian in South Lake Tahoe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

Antipasto was the best variety we have seen! Loved it! We wanted the Caesar salad but not a huge dinner Caesar that was on the menu. But they gladly made a small one for each of us for only $3 that even had anchovies! Our main entrees were Osso Bucco and Eggplant Parmesan - no blandness here - seemed like a master chef at work! Our waiter took a lot of time with us and made us feel at home! We were glad we had reservations as we were there during the week but it is a small place. Good wine list! Had the basket Chianti which went great with food! Nice ambiance - loved the saltwater fish tank! We would def go back when we are there!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kathycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twain Harte, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stumbled upon this gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

It was raining and miserable and we really just wanted dinner, but we were so lucky to have found this place! Superb food, a very nice wine list, personable waitstaff, and nice prices.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mtnyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Solid Italian... one of the best restaurants in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

I am from NY so pretty snobby about my Italian food. This place was a total find. It seems family owned so the service is a little slow, but if you sit back and relax, you will totally enjoy your meal. We had chicken parm and Osso Buco which were both excellent.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Walked in without a reservation and only had to wait 5 min for a table. Food was very good and the service was excellent. Very impressed, we'll be back. Thank you

Helpful?
Thank Cassetta13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Primo's Italian Bistro also viewed

Lake Tahoe (California), CA
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Primo's Italian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing