We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Food-fantastic service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Primo's Italian Bistro

Primo's Italian Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Primo's Italian Bistro serves authentic Italian recipes and boasts the most extensive selection of Italian wines on the South Shore. Large parties, catering, reservations and to-go orders are welcome. We also have quarterly wine pairing dinners.
Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious Food-fantastic service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

My husband and I were in Tahoe for a weekend away and in the mood for Italian food. Using our favorite resource, TripAdvisor, we found great reviews for Primo and we were not disappointed! It is a pretty small restaurant and it is next to a laundromat, but once you start eating, you will be pleased. All the staff was very friendly and attentive. We ordered the stuffed Portabello for an appetizer and then turned to the wine list and dinner menu. We are from Oregon wine country, but a little unfamiliar with Italian wines. Our server (owner?), Jim, was extremely helpful and gave very detailed descriptions of several wines. We each ordered a different glass and were delighted with our choices. For an entree, I chose the Chicken Saltimbocca and my husband chose the special, blue nose Grouper. Delicious!! I was thrilled to discover my chicken came over homemade pasta (which I absolutely LOVE!) and my husband thoroughly enjoyed his fish and risotto. We also had small Caesar salad and it was obvious the tasty dressing was also homemade. We finished the evening off with chocolate gelato. A lovely evening with fantastic food and wonderful service. I highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazmo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    44
    21
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, AL
Level Contributor
116 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

I don't give many 5 ratings, but I really liked Primo's. It is had to find and the outside atmosphere is pretty bad, it is next to a launder mat, but once you walk it the doors everything is fine. The atmosphere is excellent, low music, a fish tank, white table clothes, a class act. Our waiter, Chris, was excellent. He made great suggestions of both food and wine. My wife and I will visit again on our next trip to Tahoe.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sbamaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Italian in Tahoe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Tahoe has its share of mediocre Italian restaurants. This is not one of them. Primo's rises above that heavy-sauced, bland and gooey, processed-cheese flavor that defines so many of the others in town. In fact, at its best, Primos rises to a level of dining excellence that can surprise a hungry soul in the taste-desert of the Tahoe basin.

Service varies from very nice to so-so. And the food is sometimes not quite up to what you'd like. But the biggest demerit is for the uncomfortable surrounds. The tables and chairs are woeful -- you'll feel like you're in the high school cafeteria on that front. And many of the seats feel like you're in an airplane hangar.

But if you're hungry for an Italian lunch or dinner, this is one of the better spots that should pop up on your mental list. Try it, you'll like the food if not the setting.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank flyingmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great food and good staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

this is a must if your in Tahoe...eaten here a few times...the owner is friendly and he a brother and sister working...they are all great....pizza are so good

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ukjohnski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

The food and pasta are extremely fresh with delicious, traditional favorites as well as intriguing, gourmet twists concocted by the owner and chef. Great for appetizers after work, lunch or dinner. Nice wine list as well.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AngoraPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Primo's Italian Bistro also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Primo's Italian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing