We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“If I find myself in South Lake Tahoe, I will definately dine here again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Primo's Italian Bistro

Primo's Italian Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Primo's Italian Bistro serves authentic Italian recipes and boasts the most extensive selection of Italian wines on the South Shore. Large parties, catering, reservations and to-go orders are welcome. We also have quarterly wine pairing dinners.
Scottsdale/Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“If I find myself in South Lake Tahoe, I will definately dine here again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

On my first visit to the Lake Tahoe area, I found that, not surprisingly, it is a extremely beautiful, fairly casual town with a good mix of locals, visitors, and probably a fair number of seasonal residents (my season was summer, some probably live for the winter sports). I came to South Lake Tahoe area first and foremost for its beauty and to be outdoors (I live in Phoenix, this year, we've had 118 degree plus days) and hoped to find good food (not 5 star restaurants that you would find in San Francisco, Chicago, NYC, or other big cities of the World, but, good food) and I found it here. The wine list was of note (they had a wonderful Valpolicella), the bread was warm and crusty, the Caesar Salad was on point (including Anchovies), all of my table of three had wonderful entrees, but, there was no room for desert. The service was friendly and attentive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Buddles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    39
    19
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Lake Tahoe, California
1 review
“To Go..NO NO!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I ordered three varieties of pizzas to go. I had prepaid with a generous 10 dollar tip and what we discovered when I got them home was disgusting. Ice cold, soggy and greasy with very little toppings. So disappointed..I've lived in Tahoe for30 years and never have I experienced a pizza as horrible as these..Hopefully they take better care of their in-house diners..

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gigi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, OK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Dinner at Primos tonight was a dining joy. The veal piccata and ravioli was outstanding. Service was top notch. Take the time to find this little gem.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank golfertom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had two of their specials tonight, I had their duck ravioli and my wife had shrimp and scallop risotto. Both very good. Really good. Service was earnest and attentive. All good. Far above and beyond your typical olive garden.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank owt256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best kept secret of So Lake Tahoe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This little Bistro had better Italian food than we had in Italy. Charming small restaurant in a strip mall, behind a restaurant named Orchids. We found it through our Consignee at our timeshare. The cooks were trained by the Italian owner. Lunch is 1/2 the price of dinner & has ample servings. I had Eggplant Parmesan & it came with Fettuccine and red sauce. My husband ordered Ravioli & Meat Balls & both were delicious. We were served fresh, hot bread, just out of the oven. With drinks & tax (including one red wine) we paid $26.50. To be sure I liked the wine, the waitress brought me a sample glass before she served the wine. The waitress (who is usually there during winter months) was very attentive, fun to talk to, had a cute European accent & made our visit very enjoyable. We gave her a larger tip than 20% as the service was so good & the total price so low. There were table clothes and Italian music playing (even for lunch). We wanted to go back again during our week there but ran out of time. Primo's will be at the top of our list for our next trip to Lake Tahoe.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank swancastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Primo's Italian Bistro also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Primo's Italian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing