We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not that great Italian” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Primo's Italian Bistro

Primo's Italian Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Vegetarian Friendly, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Primo's Italian Bistro serves authentic Italian recipes and boasts the most extensive selection of Italian wines on the South Shore. Large parties, catering, reservations and to-go orders are welcome. We also have quarterly wine pairing dinners.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not that great Italian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Skip this one if you know good Italian food. The red sauce was not that flavorful (they take pride in calling it gravy but by any name this was not a good flavor). My chicken piccata had a nice lemony flavor but the chicken was tough. My husband's pasta dish was completely average for what we get in So. Cal and my 17 yr. old son didn't like his pasta with seafood - it had some other strange things in it. The best thing there was the Tortilla soup - bizarre for an Italian restaurant - but that was the only good thing of the evening. A must skip and we were sorry we went.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MicheleB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    35
    19
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
69 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“By far, best Italian restaurant in South Lake Tahoe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Don't be deceived by the restaurant location or decor. It is the best Italalian Restaurant in South Lake Tahoe. Excelent, freshly made pasta, served "al dente". great appetizers & specials. Not an extensive wine list but superb Italian's very reasonalby priced. Very, very attentive service - while perhaps too informal this might be a California thing. Overall a great place which we will surely return every time we're in Lake Tahoe

Helpful?
Thank karchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
1 review
“Conventional Menu, Exciting Specials”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I've eaten at Primo's 3 times. The menu has very conventional Italian restaurant items, but the specials can be almost anything: wild game sausage appetizers, various unusual homemade raviolis, etc.. The menu items are delicious and very large servings. The specials are far more interesting (to my tastes), as they are much more experimental. Service has been very good when I've been there, but that can, I imagine, vary with day and server. The last time I was there, my server had also been the chef who had prepared two of the specials, and so was especially capable of describing them to us. Though the food is high quality, the atmosphere is quite casual: exactly what I like, but not "fancy" if that is what one is looking for. Tables are close together and it feels natural to talk with other guests. Not somewhere that allows you to have a "private" meal for two.

Going back for Valentine's Day 'cause we like it so much.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kurt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Homemade pasta in South Lake Tahoe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Excellent food and very friendly and accommodating folks.
The food is very, very good. The homemade pasta is wonderful and the specials are delicious. Prices are reasonable, especially for Tahoe where you can spend an arm and a leg for something you could make better at home.
I've been here several times and the service is hit or miss. Nothing horrible, just that they seem to need some standardization to the service model. I'm sure there is a resource for this in the industry. The service at the bar is very good and it's a nice atmosphere.
It's nice to have a restaurant in town where they offer something unique (homemade pasta). They have nice Italian wines too.
Highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TwoInTahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
167 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Food okay for a Tahoe standard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The food we ordered were Eggplant Ricotta Pizza, Linguine Clam, Meat Lasagna, and Chicken Parmesan. They're all okay, the Linguine Clam in red sauce was particularly good. The server was also attentive and accommodating of our needs. Our only complaint was the tiramisu dessert. The lady fingers were too soft, the cream too heavy and thick, and the sprinkled powder should be coffee powder instead of dark chocolate powder.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank passportpleasePH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Primo's Italian Bistro also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Primo's Italian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing