We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hike”
Review of Mt. Tallac Trail

Mt. Tallac Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.00*
and up
South Lake Tahoe Bike Rental
More Info
$65.00*
and up
South Lake Tahoe Parasailing
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Lake Tahoe Circle Tour Including Squaw Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
JMFPEDS
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great hike”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had some trouble finding the trial head, but once we arrived the subsequent hike was great. Fantastic views of lakes and cliffs, and the hike was a good workout for us (we are both around 60, fit but not regular hikers). One can sleep in the morning, and still have time to get to the summit and back

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JMFPEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    39
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Strenuous but worth it”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was the most challenging hike on our trip. The trail starts out moderate until you reach Cathedral Lake then the "saddle" is one long haul of very steep & rocky hiking. Then the remainder is gain moderate until the very end

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jogrant2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of our favorite memories of our trip!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Wonderful hike. We were with our 9 year old daughter so trip to summit wasn't in the cards but we went to Floating Island lake. Just beautiful! Saw many birds and wildflowers.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FaithS914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great hike”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Awesome views of Tahoe and the the area. I didn't see anyone for five hours and had the summit to myself - cool!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bpacker55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great view, but hard to find trail”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We really loved this trail, but it is a miracle we made it to the top. The trail has no markings at all. I suppose that this would not be a problem if there was no snow because you could see the trail, but we had to stop about 5 times to look for the trail.

We went up the steep way that goes past cathedral lake. It is not bad until just before the rim where it is nearly straight up. Then it is not bad for about another mile, and then the scramble at the end is free for all.

The view from the top is unparalleled. Be sure to do this hike on a clear day!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfklotzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Tallac Trail also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Mt. Tallac Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing