We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place Jan rules”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Motor Lodge
Ranked #60 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
kittykat23
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love this place Jan rules”
Reviewed March 25, 2007

My freinds and I booked a room at another hotel which was so nasty and dirty. So I walked across the street to talk to Jan and see how much the rates were there. So was so nice and felt bad we had such a bad room at another hotel. She helped us out by letting us stay for free and we were so very happy but the rooms are still a great price for the stay. The rooms were very clean, it was very quite considering how many people were staying there. We booked more rooms for May for a wedding and will keep going back and recommend this hotel to all our friends and family. Great place can't wait to go back.
You don't find very nice people these days and Jan was the greatest.

  • Liked — The owners
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kittykat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    23
    17
    7
    16
See reviews for
34
27
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2007

This motel has basic and very clean rooms. It is ideal for a skiing weekend stay if you are ok with this lodge simplicity and not looking for anything fancy. Some rooms have refgrigerators and microwaves. Rooms which have two queen beds are of size of rooms which have just one queen bed. However, one bed room has a couple of chairs and a small table. I am definitely going to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Xebeche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2007

We stayed 2 three-day weekends in a row in Lake Tahoe, May 2006. The first weekend we stayed at another hotel, way too expensive and poorly located. We chose to look for other options for the following weekend.. On a walk through a pine tree lined street we found the Ambassador. The pool was sparkling clean, ready to go, with Dean Martin music playing on the outdoor speakers. The hotel was perfect. A really good price and within walking distance of everything, the lake, the casinos, and Starbucks!!!We are staying again this year and referred 5 other couples to enjoy the hotel with us.........

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank 55HAGAR55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2007

Pros:
-----------------------
1. Very Clean
2. Good Location

Cons:
-----------------------
1. Terrible Service. Old and mean lady, with over-eagerness to lie
2. Small and depressing bathrooms. Painted blue, small and very very old.

  • Liked — Cleaniness
  • Disliked — Bad customer service
  • Tips/Secrets — avoid
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
24 Thank PGore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanSouthLakeTahoe, Manager Jan Lourenco at Ambassador Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 11, 2007
I am very sorry that you received bad service from me, I honestly do not want any bad feeling, I am only 50 but maybe I do appear old at times. Please forgive me, I do not want you to think I lie about anything that we provide here at Ambassador, we have a good reputation here and dont want anyone to feel disapointed like you do. I did research your name and I am sorry but I do not have you listed in my books for January. If you would kindly give me a call, so I can personally apoloize. Thank You Jan (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Antioch,CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2006

I always stay at the Ambassador when I head to South Lake Tahoe. The rates are fantastic and the rooms are very clean. I also love the great people who run the establishment. Jan and Gil are warm caring people who make sure that your stay will be a good one. I can always count on the Ambassador to make my Lake Tahoe trip fantastic. Within a sort walking distance to all the shops and the casinos it's a terrific place to stay at. If your looking for a great place with reasonable rates then the Ambassador is the spot for you.

  • Liked — great rates, clean rooms and friendly people
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4dalilone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2006

We picked this out at random and were pleasantly surprised. We got a very good rate since it was end of ski season so there were not a lot of people in South Lake Tahoe. We got a slightly above average 2* motel room with two queen beds that was clean and spacious. The decor was retro 60s/70s but everything was in good shape. The water flow on the shower was excellent although I would have preferred shampoo bottles over the small packages. I don't think there was a continental breakfast but I could be wrong about that. It was walking distance to the casinos. It was fairly quiet although if you are a light sleeper you could be woken up if people make a racket when returning from casinos. I would stay here again if the price is right.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank giantsfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 5, 2006

We stayed for just one night in an upstairs room. The hotel is set back from the main streets in a area filled with motels. I like a quiet place to sleep and was not dissapointed. The plumbing is not the best and you can hear your neighbors showering and you can hear doors slam when people come home from the casinos.
Other than that it was clean, the hot water worked, the beds were comfortable and warm enough - the blanket a little threadbare, but hey.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#34 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#27 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
208 reviews
0.6 mi away
National 9 Inn - South Lake Tahoe
National 9 Inn - South Lake Taho...
#49 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#46 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#43 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpine Inn & Spa
Alpine Inn & Spa
#35 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Motor Lodge

Property: Ambassador Motor Lodge
Address: 4130 Manzanita Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6921
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ambassador Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Motor Lodge, nestled between large pine and poplar trees, steps away from the pristine shores of Tahoe's Lake, one of the largest lakes in America. If golfing is your passion we are a breath away from the "celebrity noted" golf courses in California. "When you can stay here, why stay anywhere else" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Ambassador Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Motor Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Ambassador Hotel Lake Tahoe
Ambassador Motel Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing