We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“excellent customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambassador Motor Lodge
Ranked #59 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Tracy, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Traditionally been staying here for the past 4 years for my birthday bash. i have no complaints. Rooms are reasonably priced and very close to the all the casino's. The manager provided my party quality customer service. If i planned a tahoe trip in the near near future i'll be staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    23
    16
    7
    15
See reviews for
32
27
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is an old lake Tahoe Motel near stateline and although it shows it's age my room was clean, comfortable and relatively quiet. The manager went out of her way to ensure my room was clean and that I had enough towels. Apparently, that had been an issue earlier in the week. I stayed here during a ski weekend and would do so again.

Room Tip: Well located on a quiet street near stateline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCampezzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I came to South Lake Tahoe to see the sights and relax.The staff was friendly, the room was clean and heated, and it was close to the shopping center and beach. However, the room was very dated; felt like being bad in a 1950's time warp. The free breakfast was a joke, very noisy due to the plumbing sounds from the neighboring rooms, the jacuzzi was filled up with snow and the free wifi was very slow. Since the bed looked very dated, we slept on our sleeping bags.
Our tip for the Ambassador is to make it welcoming to guests. HIRE A DECORATOR.

Room Tip: Pick a different place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RRad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Check-in and -out was easy. Room was quiet, clean, and spacious. Our first room had a mini-fridge/microwave combo. TVs are old, but have 4 sports channels. When toilet got clogged and overflowed, they moved us to a new room, quickly and without any fees and charges.

Continental breakfast included bagels, toast, muffins, cereal, bananas, chewy granola bars, oj and coffee.

Rooms are a bit dated, only 3 pillows provided for a queen mattress, but there is a bottle opener in the bathroom--nice.

Room Tip: The fan in room #3 makes sound at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evan_h20s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My family and I've stayed there last two years in a row and always get the room w/ a kitchen. It's clean and the staff is very accommodating. They have a heated pool, really good continental breakfast w/ fresh fruit, bagels, muffins, milk & cereal, juice, coffee and energy bars. They also pay extra each year to allow their customers to enjoy the lake front beach just down the street at no cost to you ($25 a day). It's walking distance to casinos and all the main strip (hwy 50).

Room Tip: My family and I really like room 21 w/ a kitchen and shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This hotel was fine. It was clean. The bed was fine. The desk clerk, Carolyn, was lovely. The beach was great.

However.

No air conditioning.

No hair dryer.

Dirty pool.

They booked us into a single queen room, event though I said we were a couple with a toddler. Then they charged 10 dollars for a rollaway.

Just things to consider.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank logicallibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We've stayed at the Ambassador every summer for years and have always had a great time! The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly, and it's so nice to be able to take our little dogs on vacation with us! We've never had anything but a positive experience at the Ambassador--including this summer--June 2012. Thank you Ambassador for making our vacations always so pleasant and memorable. Our family will see you soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#35 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#28 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Are...
#56 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino...
#31 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain House of Taho...
#25 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpine Inn & Spa
Alpine Inn & Spa
#37 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Motor Lodge

Property: Ambassador Motor Lodge
Address: 4130 Manzanita Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6921
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ambassador Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Motor Lodge, nestled between large pine and poplar trees, steps away from the pristine shores of Tahoe's Lake, one of the largest lakes in America. If golfing is your passion we are a breath away from the "celebrity noted" golf courses in California. "When you can stay here, why stay anywhere else" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ambassador Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Motor Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Ambassador Hotel Lake Tahoe
Ambassador Motel Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing