We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but a few hiccups”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Tahoe Ambassador Lodge
Ranked #55 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed January 24, 2008

The room was a basic budget hotel room, but there were nice touches throughout that raised it above others in that category. As an inexpensive place for the family to stay on a weekend ski trip, it was fine. There are rustic chairs and benches along the walkways outside the rooms, which weren't much use to us during the winter, but would probably be nice during a summer stay.

The front desk service was pleasant, but a little slow.

A continental breakfast was supposed to be included. On our first morning, there was only coffee, and I was told that was because there were few guests and donuts (which is apparently what comprised the continental breakfast) just went to waste when that was the case. They'd have done better to offer no "explanation" because the place was nearly full. The next morning (when the place was completely full), they had muffins and packaged pastries to go along with coffee. Not a big deal, really, but an annoyance, particularly the explanation.

What was a bigger deal was the complete lack of parking when we returned from dinner on our second night. We were eventually directed to the sister motel (the Capri) next door, where the elderly woman (who was very nice, by the way) running that place directed us to a spot on the street out front, which was a bit inconvenient, but better than nothing. I don't know where anyone arriving after us parked; I'd have been quite upset if I'd had to park several blocks away, as it initially appeared I'd have to do. Apparently snow had commandeered some of the hotel's parking spots, so be forewarned that during busy times after a snow, parking is a concern.

Overall, not a bad place among South Lake Tahoe's budget accommodations and we'd probably stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodstocksez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 99 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2008

The building is a typical 2 story motel, with larger than average sized rooms. The furniture and decorations are very 60's in a "just-like-my-grandparent's-house" sorta way, but everything is VERY clean. The sheets and towels are crisp white, the blanket and bedspread are very clean. The room was marked 'non-smoking' and I'm happy to report that the room and NONE of the linens smelled like stale smoke. The building has a pedestrian back entrance that puts you across the street from NV Casinos, Heavenly Gondola and plenty of places to eat. Management was VERY nice. The walls are also much better insulated than most motels. We (unfortunately) had a family staying in the room next to ours and they got up really early in the morning and the parents simply had no respect for other people, because the children were wild next door. And yes, they woke us up, but it was only a muffled roar we could hear and went back to sleep. (Until they left and were outside, of course, then all of Tahoe was awake.) One word of advise, if visiting in the off season, call the motel and let them know you're coming to stay or you'll be checking in late. Oh, I didn't mention the VERY, VERY affordable rates which makes this the BEST BARGAIN IN TOWN!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ivypool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2007

A group of us were lucky to find and stay at the Ambassador this August for our yearly get-together. Jan and Gilbert , who run the establishment went out of their way to accomodate our large group . The hotel's upkeep is clean and very neat. The rooms do not have air conditioning, but have overhead fans and Gilbert will gladly bring a stand alone fan to your room if the overhead is not enough. The grounds are immaculate and they even have two outdoor barbacue and a grassy area with two picnic tables. We even got a free concert (Rascal Flatts) since the hotel is only a block away from Harvey's outdoor theater. It is also within walking distance to the other South Lake Tahoe casinos. If your looking for a great place to stay that has reasonable rate and a great family atmosphere, this is the hotel. All in all it was a great stay and we will difinitely go back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bernymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2007

This is an old fashioned motel within walking distance to the casinos....one block from Harvey's. You won't find updated furniture or appliances but the beds are comfy and the rooms are pretty big.
If you are looking to be waited on or have valet parking or room service, then go pay big bucks at the casinos.
But if you would like a nice, clean room for a low price then this is the place. The inn keeper Jan is very nice and had an iron and ironing board waiting for me within seconds.
Nice wood chairs outside your room make it nice to sit outside for the evening. From what I could tell, all rooms are non-smoking.

Disliked the noise in the morning. But that is what you get with a motel, and people checking out. Night time noise was minimal. I wouldn't recommend staying here for a long period as most rooms to do have refrigerators. The rooms can get a little warm even with the ceiling fans, but just open your door or window and you'll be fine.

Call the hotel direct for reservations and they will take care of you.

Cheers!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank CaliGirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2007

Ok folks, I have to tell you my wife and I have stayed at the big hotels,(Horizon, Harveys, Harrahs) in Tahoe in the past and conpared to them, Ambassador competes. Sure, you don't get to go down the elevator and end up in the casino.
We like the ability to walk to the "close by" stores, casinos instead of having to drive. The Ambassador Motel offers close proximity to all of it.
My wife is a stickler for cleanliness and found it in our room. We enjoyed the lack of noise which was somewhat unexpected as it was a Harley weekend and many bikers were staying at the Motel.
Overall, our stay was nothing short of perfect for what we wanted out of a visit to Tahoe. The Ambassador Motel assisted in this.
Hope this helps the undecided,

Greg and Marti West

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank westee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2007

My freinds and I booked a room at another hotel which was so nasty and dirty. So I walked across the street to talk to Jan and see how much the rates were there. So was so nice and felt bad we had such a bad room at another hotel. She helped us out by letting us stay for free and we were so very happy but the rooms are still a great price for the stay. The rooms were very clean, it was very quite considering how many people were staying there. We booked more rooms for May for a wedding and will keep going back and recommend this hotel to all our friends and family. Great place can't wait to go back.
You don't find very nice people these days and Jan was the greatest.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kittykat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2007

This motel has basic and very clean rooms. It is ideal for a skiing weekend stay if you are ok with this lodge simplicity and not looking for anything fancy. Some rooms have refgrigerators and microwaves. Rooms which have two queen beds are of size of rooms which have just one queen bed. However, one bed room has a couple of chairs and a small table. I am definitely going to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Xebeche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#33 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
274 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Trailhead
The Trailhead
#43 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
48 reviews
0.7 mi away
Super 8 South Lake Tahoe
Super 8 South Lake Tahoe
#50 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#24 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
238 reviews
0 mi away
Alpine Inn & Spa
Alpine Inn & Spa
#32 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#47 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tahoe Ambassador Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tahoe Ambassador Lodge

Address: 4130 Manzanita Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6921 (Formerly Ambassador Motor Lodge)
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $47 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Tahoe Ambassador Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Motor Lodge, nestled between large pine and poplar trees, steps away from the pristine shores of Tahoe's Lake, one of the largest lakes in America. If golfing is your passion we are a breath away from the "celebrity noted" golf courses in California. "When you can stay here, why stay anywhere else" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Lake Tahoe Ambassador Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Motor Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Ambassador Hotel Lake Tahoe
Ambassador Motel Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing