We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pet friendly Log Cabion”
Lake Tahoe custom Log home 2 blocks from lake,beaches,parks and minutes from Heavenly and casinos
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lake Tahoe custom Log home 2 blocks from lake,beaches,parks and minutes from Heavenly and casinos
Summer at the log home South Lake Tahoe living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Lake Tahoe custom Log home 2 blocks from lake,beaches,parks and minutes from Heavenly and casinos
Summer at the log home South Lake Tahoe
living room
living room viewed from loft area
far right front of home
living room
view a few hundred feet away at lake access looking right
December, 2015
covered back porch with hot tub
back covered porch and outside dining area
Vintage O'keefe Merrit stove in kitchen
Kitchen
kitchen
Kitchen
kitchen looking into dining room area
living room
living room and staircase area
Christmas 2015
staircase to upstairs
fireplace
living room looking down from upstairs
living room
living room
living room
sleeping loft with twin bed
living room
living room and loft
sleeping loft twin bed
loft twin bed
upstairs loft twin bedroom and surrounding area
loft twin bed
upstairs loft/ hallway
loft twin bed
View looking east from public beach/lake access just a few hundred feet away from home
front door entrance into living room
Master bedroom
Master king bedroom + twin daybed
master bedroom with king bed and twin bed
master bedroom with king size bed and twin day bed and flatscreen tv
upstairs bedroom with a queen bed and a full bed
upstairs bedroom with a queen bed and a full bed
Dining room/bedroom with twin trundle beds
Dining room
downstairs twin beds and dining room area
twin trundle beds in dining room/bedroom
lower bedroom/dining room with trundle bed
Queen downstairs bedroom
queen bedroom downstairs
lower queen bedroom
lower queen bedroom
bedroom bureau and closet
queen downstairs bedroom
upstairs bathroom
upstairs bathroom
upstairs bathroom
Upstair bathroom
6 person hot tub off back covered porch
winter at the log home
view looking west from public beach and lake access just a few hundred feet away from home
front porch
front entrance
covered back porch and outside dining area
back yard and covered porch
back yard and covered porch
view a few hundred feet away at lake access looking left
back yard and horse shoe pits
back yard
back yard
back yard patio and covered porch with outside dining table
front yard
detached upstairs apartments dining area
detached upstairs apartments living room
upstairs apartments living room
detached upstairs apartments bedroom
detached upstairs apartments bathroom with a tub/shower combo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California), California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cheryl P
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pet friendly Log Cabion”
Reviewed June 30, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We drove from Houston to South Lake Tahoe, looking forward to family reunion for the whole year. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon, the keys were exactly where Miss Joan stated. Joan is a kind and helpful homeowner. The place is huge, smells like the forest, and the décor is lovely. The washer and dryer in the garage were a blessing. The 4 grandkids were running around picking out their rooms. The cabin has a gorgeous stair case, but can be dangerous with rug on landing. I fell down the stairs and broke my two front teeth, on our last night there. Now I am getting after vacation crowns. The 2 rugs in the bedroom down stairs, should be removed. Smell old and torn, not in a good place for sleeping. Open the windows. The stove must be lit with a match, passed on using the oven. There is no room in the kitchen for your dry goods. Cupboard should be cleaned out for that. The cleaning person should be replaced. The yard smells great. I paid the $175.00 cleaning fee for when we left, but did not arrive to a clean log cabin. Heavy dust on the furniture and floors, might be the pollen from pine trees. Front porch has a beautiful swing in place. Felt the cabin could be de-cluttered more, Felt creepy with other folks clothes in the closet, musty smell. Neighborhood is very nice. The cabin is built so beautifully, outside noise is hard to hear. There is only nature cooling the place down, bring or buy a few fans. The location is perfect for grocery shopping, the grill is a must to use The grand kids used the bikes, and played in the fenced in backyard. Hot tub was never hot enough, just tried it once. The linens are okay, but the blankets are paper thin. The cabin is cool in the early morning hours. We had a great time, but felt I should be honest with the conditions we incurred.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2017
Pollen is a problem in spring and our cupboards and closets do accumulate renters overflow Home is filled with antiques and old rugs are worth $1000 of dollars. Apologies if cleaner wasn't good as we were out of town Never had any complaints so didn't know. Wood staircases are slippery but not much we can do about that have to speak to Mother Nature about her logs. Extra blankets in all bedrooms but as it was 80 didn't leave them on bed. Apolgies
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy B
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Accommodation - amazing location - so happy we found it !”
Reviewed August 25, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This place is exactly as described and raved about in the other reviews.
Lake Tahoe is beautiful. We stayed in early August and after days out at Sand Harbor, Heavenly and a drive round the bay it was great to get back and relax on the deck and in the Jacuzzi.
The owners were really helpful and friendly in the run up to the stay. I would love to get back there in the Winter one year as this would really show off the handbuilt log cabin in all its snowy splendour

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Authentic charm of the property and helpfulness of owners.
Liked least: having to leave Lake Tahoe and go back to work
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1...
Albany, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“South Tahoe Experience”
Reviewed June 18, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Our family vacation was excellent in part because of the great accommodations and location of this homei. The reviews were spot on- Joan was a wonderful host with great recommendations. There were many of us going in different directions everyday - beach, hiking, biking (all within walking of the house, as well as convent to the National and State forests and parks)- and the house was a perfect gathering place. Every night meals for at least 7 were made on the grill or on the amazing stove. The cool nights made sitting around the fireplace a delight. The young people in the group were able to enjoy some nightlife, but the neighborhood was wonderfully quiet most nights. Would recommend to families and extended groups.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and pets were welcome.
Liked least: The kitchen is set up is a bit disorganized - lots of searching to find things. Also neighbors were loud a couple nights
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PamfromCa...
Riverside, California
1 review
“Best vacation rental ever!!”
Reviewed September 18, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My family gets together about every other year for a week somewhere. This year we went to Lake Tahoe. This cabin was absolutely perfect! It is furnished like a home and not a hotel room, there were bikes available and it was just a short walk to the lake. The owners were very gracious when we had unexpected additions to the party for one night they let us rent the garage apartment for them. The backyard is beautiful, with yard games, shade and a lovely patio. We spent a lot of time in back playing horseshoes, cards and croquet. This is a beautiful home and when we return to Tahoe this will be our go to place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very homey.
Liked least: I liked everything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeeter12...
Newhall, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
“I couldn't have asked for a better rental experience!”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

First of all, our rental experience was fabulous - the owner went out of her way to accommodate us and made sure we had everything we needed. The home is like a museum with so many interesting antiques that make it so special and comfortable. The location is so perfect as well. The lakefront is just a short walk and there is a place on tbe beach that is real close where you can rent stand-up paddle boards, kayaks, etc. Although this time we didn't use any of the many fun things (bikes, canoe, horseshoes, etc.) the owner had available, we will when we return hopefully next year. I truly feel like I found a home away from home with all the comforts that I love. I can't wait until next time! Thank you again, Joan. Our short vacation was so wonderful because of you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I felt at home, and the location can't be beat.
Liked least: Less stuff in the kitchen, but that's because I am an organizing freak!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wacksack
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
“Excellent for a group, family gathering, or reception. Kids had a blast!”
Reviewed August 28, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Would highly recommend - Joan is a wonderful host and we couldn't have asked for anything better.

We stayed in the main house + the upstairs apt for 4 days in August. 10 adults and 3 kids stayed very comfortably. Our kids had an absolute blast. Property is lovelier than pictured. I think this would be a great choice to hold a wedding reception after a beach wedding - the yard is enormous and private, and is really cute. There is even a fairy garden! The main house really has 4 bedrooms, as the doors to the dining room can be closed off and it can be its own room with 2 twin beds.

The house had everything we needed. The kitchen is well stocked with good knives, pots and pans, so my chef friends were satisfied. Ample towels, sheets, soap, detergent. We made use of the hot tub, grills (two), 4 bikes, many beach chairs, playing cards, volleyball, etc - you really don't need to bring much with you... and the stuff in walking distance is great - Sprouts, Rude Boys, Rojo's Bar, and especially Taqueria Jalisco. Thanks Joan!!

Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santaCruz...
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home Deserves Its Own Travel Magazine Article!”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Joan is an amazing owner, who helped organize my extended family's stay over a 4th of July vacation with outstanding service. This home is full of family heirlooms, yet Joan shares this jeweled masterpiece with the world, and staying here is an absolute delight. In every corner and direction you will find this amazing cozy log home filled with tasteful mementos that are clearly held dearly, and likely hold untold stories about adventures near and far. Do yourself and your loved ones a favor and have a once-in-a-lifetime visit to this treasure trove of memories that will in turn become part of your own family's lore by trip's end. In my opinion, a travel magazine should do an entire article about this home, as it is truly a treat to experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homeowner's life on display with home's unique decorations.
Liked least: Nothing, only stormy weather, but event hat was delightful to watch from home's two large covered porches.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing