We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and good vibe”

Base Camp Pizza Co.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Established in 2012, this is the third restaurant for the Tahoe Restaurant Group. The two established restaurants are Fireside Pizza at Squaw Valley ski resort and Rubicon Pizza at Northstar ski resort. Headed by Ted Kennedy and Marc Vaccaro, the company is commited to a relaxed, family atmosphere with great food. All locations have games for the kids to play while they are waiting for their food.Base Camp Pizza Co. is the brainchild of long time friends Ray Villaman and Ted Kennedy. Ray is a 20 year restaurant veteran including - California Pizza Kitchen, Boston Market, the California Restaurant Association and even a short time as President of Blimpies.Come by and try some of our signature dishes: Spinach and Artichoke Dip, Smokey BBQ Chicken Pizza, Thai Chicken Curry Pizza, Italian Herb Shrimp Penne, and our signature Spaghetti Bolognese with Meatballs
Rohnert Park, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good food and good vibe”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

The pizza was delicious at Base Camp Pizzo Co. We ordered the Basecamp pizza I believe and all the toppings tasted fresh and flavorful. We love pizza so we are picky when it comes down to where we eat it. I tried the Tahoe Sunset cocktail and it was really good. The spinach dip appetizer came with a lightly fried pita bread it is was so good!

Live music was playing on the patio while a local artist painted as he got into the music. The patio style string lights set a nice mood.

Service was great and they were really good about moving around the heaters so everyone stayed warm. It's a popular stop so make sure to have a little snack before dinner since the wait was pretty long (about 45mins). Kid and large party friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole_Serna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,085
    571
    120
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prior Lake, MN
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Thanks trip advisor for sending me here”
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for just a pizza, but this place didn't serve us "just" a pizza. It was really good. We had the Base Camp pizza - it had the correct amount of tomato sauce to match the toppings. The crust wasn't too yeasty or thin - just right. There was live music nearby adding to the fun. This is how to do a pizza right. Service was friendly and prompt too. GreT place

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Puzzled66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
382 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Pizza very good”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Recommended by hotel staff as we were hungry from day of driving. Place was very busy for a Thursday night but were seated soon after arriving. Service was prompt. Menu choices were plentiful from pizza to pasta to salads. We had salads (they were large) and ordered our favorite pizzas from the make your own choices. Food was very good and filling. We took left overs with us and finished the next day. When we passed the Base Camp Pizza Co. during our days in the area, it was very busy - obviously a very popular place. Recommend you try it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Prescott2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
423 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We went for lunch and sat outside. The pizza is very good here and the service is excellent. They are always busy but you don't wait long to be seated. We got free garlic bread by mentioning we were staying at the Timber Lodge. They didn't even ask for a room key or anything...just took our word for it. The bottomless drinks are huge and the portions are ample. The best pizza around

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rick_Sue1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Excellent - Don't miss it”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We actually had two meals here - pizza and pasta. Both were fantastic. We also stayed a few hours one night to enjoy the live music. This place is a must when visiting the area. Try the root-beer on the adult drink menu.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Base Camp Pizza Co. also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Base Camp Pizza Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing