We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza selection and quality are first rate”

Base Camp Pizza Co.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Established in 2012, this is the third restaurant for the Tahoe Restaurant Group. The two established restaurants are Fireside Pizza at Squaw Valley ski resort and Rubicon Pizza at Northstar ski resort. Headed by Ted Kennedy and Marc Vaccaro, the company is commited to a relaxed, family atmosphere with great food. All locations have games for the kids to play while they are waiting for their food.Base Camp Pizza Co. is the brainchild of long time friends Ray Villaman and Ted Kennedy. Ray is a 20 year restaurant veteran including - California Pizza Kitchen, Boston Market, the California Restaurant Association and even a short time as President of Blimpies.Come by and try some of our signature dishes: Spinach and Artichoke Dip, Smokey BBQ Chicken Pizza, Thai Chicken Curry Pizza, Italian Herb Shrimp Penne, and our signature Spaghetti Bolognese with Meatballs
W. Hartford, CT
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Pizza selection and quality are first rate”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We ate here twice during our visit to South Lake Tahoe. We all ate pizza, several different kinds, and found them to be excellent. Even as leftovers the next day, they tasted good. They used fresh ingredients and the crust was perfect. However, on the second visit we ordered other dishes, not pizza. These received mixed reviews. On a third occasion, Base Camp catered a dish served at a Marriott event and we found it very good-shrimp scampi in pasta.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cayman408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,866 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,114
    585
    123
    26
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD and SERVICE!!!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Everything, good menu selection, well prepared food and friendly staff. Was so good we went back a couple of times during our week stay.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank fame12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding Summer atmosphere and delicious pizza”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

I am a bit late in writing my review but visited south Tahoe in August. A friend had recommended this place when visiting during the ski season and raved about it. He was spot on! The atmosphere and location were great and the live music outside was a great addition. There is lots of outdoodigesting in the summer and maybe in winter too with heaters but not sure about this. We had two kinds of pizza which were both unique and excellent. Our server, Liz, was friendly and helpful and offered suggestions which were right on target. The other staff members were also pleasant. Liz checked on us frequently and always with a smile even though she was busy. I will return here for sure when back in Tahoe. I would imagine the winter scene is equally enjoyable and hope to try it in the winter season Don't miss this place for a lovely experience and great food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PCflyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“pizza and music”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

located in the heavenly center. fun place to hang out, music , pizza, beer. a favorite with the locals

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank lori r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, California
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tasteful!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Located right at the Gondola's plaza, this pizza place has a great atmosphere for grow ups, not that much for little ones, but we ordered our pizza to go, so while waiting for it, we walked around the plaza, and check at the theater movies's list.
Since I love Indian's food, I ordered the Thai Curry pizza, and it really blew my mind with their unique flavors, and excellent presentation.
About prices, it is more expensive than other pizza places but for the location, and menu, it is o.k.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KEZC29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Base Camp Pizza Co. also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Base Camp Pizza Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing