We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”

Base Camp Pizza Co.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Established in 2012, this is the third restaurant for the Tahoe Restaurant Group. The two established restaurants are Fireside Pizza at Squaw Valley ski resort and Rubicon Pizza at Northstar ski resort. Headed by Ted Kennedy and Marc Vaccaro, the company is commited to a relaxed, family atmosphere with great food. All locations have games for the kids to play while they are waiting for their food.Base Camp Pizza Co. is the brainchild of long time friends Ray Villaman and Ted Kennedy. Ray is a 20 year restaurant veteran including - California Pizza Kitchen, Boston Market, the California Restaurant Association and even a short time as President of Blimpies.Come by and try some of our signature dishes: Spinach and Artichoke Dip, Smokey BBQ Chicken Pizza, Thai Chicken Curry Pizza, Italian Herb Shrimp Penne, and our signature Spaghetti Bolognese with Meatballs
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

I was pretty disappointed with the pizza here. I had high hopes due to the glowing reviews, so was surprised at how bland it actually was. I definitely would not eat here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lollydrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,899 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,136
    593
    125
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northwest
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A locals hang out”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Pizza was great! Service with a smile. There were allot of locals hanging out in the covered area outside.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank multigman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of the best pizzas I've eaten”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Base Camp Pizza Co. located near the ski lifts @ Heavenly Ski Resor in South Lake Tahoe- couldn't be in a more appropriate place- the pizza was just that- heavenly! A friend and I were shopping in the area and trying to find the perfect place for lunch. We opted for Base Camp Pizza Co. and were glad we did! We ordered a medium make your own with sausage, pepperoni and pineapple. It was delightful. Not only was the food great, the service was just as great and the atmosphere as well. You don't want to miss this. Your trip to Heavenly isn't complete until you've tried this pizza.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank helovesmedm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Pizza”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I read the reviews so I had to stop by and try it.. but It's not that great as reviews sounded like. Sitting area was too tight and the space was kinda loud so I couldn't hear what my friends was saying. However I think it's really good after a long day of skiing to have a good Pizza. I loved the BBQ chicken.

But again it wasn't that great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DellaRosami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenbrook, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great quick lunch”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Great location right near the gondola. Food is fresh and tasty, service is friendly and fast. Salads are good. Great place for kids. Winter has outside heaters and of can watch the ice skaters from there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank B Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Base Camp Pizza Co. also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Base Camp Pizza Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing