We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great quick lunch”

Base Camp Pizza Co.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Established in 2012, this is the third restaurant for the Tahoe Restaurant Group. The two established restaurants are Fireside Pizza at Squaw Valley ski resort and Rubicon Pizza at Northstar ski resort. Headed by Ted Kennedy and Marc Vaccaro, the company is commited to a relaxed, family atmosphere with great food. All locations have games for the kids to play while they are waiting for their food.Base Camp Pizza Co. is the brainchild of long time friends Ray Villaman and Ted Kennedy. Ray is a 20 year restaurant veteran including - California Pizza Kitchen, Boston Market, the California Restaurant Association and even a short time as President of Blimpies.Come by and try some of our signature dishes: Spinach and Artichoke Dip, Smokey BBQ Chicken Pizza, Thai Chicken Curry Pizza, Italian Herb Shrimp Penne, and our signature Spaghetti Bolognese with Meatballs
Glenbrook, Nevada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great quick lunch”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Great location right near the gondola. Food is fresh and tasty, service is friendly and fast. Salads are good. Great place for kids. Winter has outside heaters and of can watch the ice skaters from there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank B Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,761 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,046
    558
    115
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I recently returned from a week vacation in South Lake Tahoe. We stayed at the Marriott Timber Lodge which is conveniently located only a few steps from Base Camp Pizza! It was such an awesome restaurant we ate there 3 times during the week. Not only is the food amazing but the staff is without a doubt the friendliest, most helpful, staff I have ever encountered at a restaurant!! They go above and beyond to make you feel right at home. Two of the three times we were there it was pretty busy and never did our waitresses seem flustered or even rushed. It's a very laid back atmosphere.
On our first visit we ordered the garlic chips as an appetizer-which is SO amazing! It's garlic cheese bread served with the most delicious ranch! It's thin like a pizza but cut into tiny chip-like pieces!! SO good!! So good, in fact, we ordered it every single time we went back! I ordered a personal sized pizza and it too was delicious! It's not huge but if you order an appetizer you could easily split the personal sized pizza with someone. I also ordered a Bloody Mary and again, was very very impressed!!! All three kids enjoyed their food as well! (Kids pizza-which is quite big!, chicken fingers, and penne pasta with marinara)

Our other two trips to the restaurant were just as fabulous!! Great food and amazing service! The second time we went our server, Meredith, was so very friendly and went out of her way to accommodate us. Our final night at Base Camp was wonderful as expected! Our waitress even brought wooden memory games to the table to keep the kids entertained while we waited on our food!

It is absolutely a wonderful restaurant that you shouldn't miss! The atmosphere, food, and service are astounding!! Can't wait to go back!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RoLin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, Ca
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best pizza!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

The Base Camp pizza is awesome. What a wonderful family oriented restaurant. The Greek salad was the best I have ever tasted. My fiancée and I shared the salad. For the best pizza go to Base Camp.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Memoies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
192 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great family Italian restaurant”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The place is very busy for good reason. Very family-friendly and great service. We ordered the Greek Salad, Bolognese Pasta and kids meals. All was very good. We would eat here again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank patriotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This Is A "Must Stop" Pizza Shop”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

If you love great food, incredible service and an all around entertaining atmosphere then Base Camp Pizza is a place you must visit. This amazing restaurant is suitable for a group of singles looking for a good time or a family with children wanting some great pizza. You can't leave without having the Thai Curry Chicken pizza. It is life changing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharpeFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Base Camp Pizza Co. also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Base Camp Pizza Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing