We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Tired Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
1 review
“Good Location, Tired Resort”
Reviewed March 31, 2007

We just returned form South Lake Tahoe where we stayed at the Marriott Grand Residences. We were not totally disappointed, but for the price we paid per night we were let down. We had a two bedroom, three bath that was on the street side the first night and the noise was very loud. They couldn't change us until the next day and we were much happier with our second condo. However, to move six of us was a big job, they do not give you a lot of help like you would get at a hotel and this was what we were expecting because of the nightly price once again. We are used to timeshares as we frequently trade our weeks but this time we were paying by the night and expected more. We chose this resort to get the best location for us to optimize our vacation skiing and snowboarding with our four kids, ranging from age 9 to 19, and this location is by far the best in Heavenly. The rooms are seriously worn out and in need of a redo. The carpeting is old throughout the rooms and halls. Overall it was just an okay resort for the money, but we did have a great time as a family.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
Thank sarahfitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    246
    66
    40
    22
See reviews for
346
295
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2007

My husband and I escaped to South Lake Tahoe to marry in December. Upon plenty of research, we finally decided to stay at the Marriott Grand Residence. We wanted something close to everything, and yet still with the quaint feel of a rustic mountain resort. We definately got what we were looking for at the Marriott Grand Residence.

Upon arriving at the Grand Residence, our check-in procedure was smooth and easy. We were three hours early for check-in time, but our room was ready for us and we were able to get our key immediately. The front desk staff was courteous and quick.

We stayed for five nights in a studio room. The room was extremely clean and well organized. The kitchen was wonderful with all the things you could ever need to cook. Our room overlooked the pool. The rooms are well-insulated to noise and the beds are very comfortable.

The concierge at the hotel was outstanding. He was helpful and pleasant and always available to answer our questions. In fact, he had a gift-basket sent to our room to celebrate our wedding.

The location of the hotel can't be beat! Right next to the Heavenly Gondolla, the many great restaurants and shops, and a short walk to the casinos, it is perfect. We were able to walk right over to the ice skating rink and coffee shops. It was great.

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. I highly recommend a stay here!

  • Liked — Location and proximity to everything
  • Disliked — A little pricey, but worth it.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vtnurse78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2007

We stayed in a studio apartment for 7 nights in Feb 07. The location is ideal for skiing as it is about 100yds to walk to the gondola with free ski storage in a shop on the way. The room was clean and a decent size. We had no problems at all with noise from other rooms or outside.

There are a good selection of shops across the road for any essentials. The cable TV had a wide selection of channels and there is free wi-fi (great for checking the snow conditions every morning!). We found the room service to be reliable and had no nasty surprises at checkout. The staff were always helpful, especially the valets who were always helpful and friendly.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank J_McCNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vietnam
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2007

We found the Marriott Grand Residence to be in great location. Right at the gondola, access to shops, movie theatre, retaurants, short walk to Harrah's, Raley's and book shop across the street in a nice little shopping centre. It really was great. Service was excellent. We arrived early, and a room was ready, so they checked us straight in. The 3 bedreoom 4 bath was spacious and luxurious. There were two lounge rooms, 5 TV's and no shortage of anything. Anything we asked for was delivered in a timely manner. The concierge was really helpful, printing out a map with a much better route to Las Vegas than our Garmen. Our only complaint, is about the tidy service rather than room cleaning. Marriott have just plain got this wrong and need to rethink this concept. We were staying for a week, and honestly I had to keep asking the maids to let me borrow their equipment to clean the kitchen floor and you really do need to do more than a quick tidy for guests staying more than one night. That said, when I did ask, they actually did the job themselves. With so many great advantages, it is shame that this one area is left to detract from them. Still, we will definitely return again..

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
Thank AllyMacRoamingExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2006

A group of us 5 women, (ages 22-25), stayed there for two nights towards the end of summer 2006. The hotel caters primarly to families and couples older than us "girls", but the hotel staff was still extremely helpful in terms of pointing us in the direction of bars and restaurants a group our age might like.

Our room was above average (the decor wasn't quite my taste - but that's besides the point), and the hotel itself was beautiful. Our room was clean and we never had any problem getting anything we needed from housekeeping, (i.e. extra towels). Also helpful was the full kitchen, (although not available in all units, it was worth the money and came with all the plates, glasses, silverware, pots, pans, etc that we needed to cook and serve a dinner of several courses).

The hotel is located very close to a very complete shopping center, (that includes a grocery store, blockbuster video rental place, sandwich shops, a Starbucks, a pizza place, etc.), all within super-easy walking distance. The lake is about a 20 minute walk from the property, but the beach there is free for guests of the hotel if you ask the hotel for a pass.

The only complaint about our stay was that the bill had some suprise charges on it... something I've seen others on this site complain of as well.

I would stay here again though. I had a great time and all of us girls made some great memories.

  • Liked — Beautiful scenery and location
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank YesYesNoNo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2006

Room space and beds are okay BUT service is Kafkaesque and stingy. I can't recommend this hotel.

It is divided in two non-communicating halves, with slow elevators and very long corridors. One of the hotel elevators is accessible from the backstreets, bypassing the lobby.

The standard guest rooms and studios share the same overall footprint, only the laters miss the second queen bed and chimney in exchange for a kitchen with table. Noise is an issue: I could guess what TV program the neighboring room was watching, even though I'm a foreigner. I could even smell their breakfast! Don't expect any privacy there.

The bathroom came complete with a worn toilet rim and a plunger. This is the first time I see that accessory in a hotel of this category. If anything, that should've gave me a hint on the service level.

The desk clerk makes a real fuss at your arrival about their gift box which contains what's usually already in other hotels bedrooms. There's single use soap, shampoo, vaseline, sugar, coffee,... although you won't be able to make one, for the coffee maker only comes with the studio's kitchen, and coffee filters are not provided anyway in complete non-sensical pettyness!

In addition, checkout was an administrative nightmare. Luggages loading was left for us to do in the middle of a valet organised traffic jam in the hotel entrance. Above all, the hotel employees were very unpleasant, with common sneers.

For the price they charge (USD 200+), you'd expect a lot better from a reputable chain like Marriott. The most terrible experience of my travel in California and Nevada.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank ZarkDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2006

Traded our Marriott Kauai Beach Club property, via Interval International, into Marriott's Grand Residence Club Tahoe for one week - 1 bedroom/1 bath for a family of four (Kids: Age 10). Room overlooked pool and partial view of Heavenly gondola with morning sun. Nice accommodations - full kitchen, king bed in master, fold out queen sofa & double Murphy bed in living room, and two TVs with DVD players. One bath was kept busy with four people. Washers & dryers were down long hallway. Pros - secure building, located in new village with several restaurants (Fire & Ice was fun place to eat, good coffee drinks from Wildman), movie theatres, mini-golf course (ice skating rink in winter), 1 block to a large Raley’s Supermarket, Neighbors bookstore & Blockbuster DVD rentals, 2 blocks from Nevada Stateline & casinos, 1/2 mile or so walk to private Lake Tahoe beach (get a pass from concierge). Cons - Owners & folks trading into this property have to arrange tidy clean-up service. Had to handle our own garbage and request clean towels daily. Hotel management was trying an experiment with pool towels - suppose to be in room, but housekeeping never delivered any pool towels. USA Today was suppose to be delivered weekdays, but it was intermittent. Valet parking at hotel so car was not readily available. We didn’t get that Marriott hospitality that we have received at many other Marriott Vacation Club properties around the world. Maybe it is the fact that most guests are 1/4 share owners and the hotel management feel like this is a 2nd home, not a hotel. Bottom line - we’ll hit other MVCI properties before coming back.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dealing with housekeeping situation
  • Tips/Secrets — Try Marriott's Timber Lodge first
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank WCEAGLE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,084 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,003 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,107 reviews
1.1 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
433 reviews
22.4 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.

Property: Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Address: 1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7068 (Formerly Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent. 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriott Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing