We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very Nice Hotel - Exceptional value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Ranked #9 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Charlote
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel - Exceptional value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

We stayed here 2 nights in May. Through Marriott, we were able to book a 1 bedroom, 2 bathroom unit with a full kitchen for $109 a night. The room was what you would expect for a high end Marriott, nice furnishing and very comfortable bed. It had 2 fireplaces, which were great considering it snowed while we were there.
The hotel staff was great, there were not a lot of people there, so it felt like we had personalized attention. Very friendly and helpful.
They also have 2 great hot tubs outside and very nice steam/sauna rooms and spa locker room. The hot tub was great in the snowy weather, very relaxing with a view of Heavenly mountain from the tub.
One thing to note, when we got there we had snow chains on our tires(the highway patrol stopped us and made us buy them and put them on). The hotel would not valet the car for us($22 per day) with snow chains on. I wasn't taking them off, because I didnt know how to put them back on, so they told us to park at Harrahs for free. It was about a 6-7 minute walk.
I would definitely recommend, especially if you can find it at the rate we got. Exceptional value.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscar2331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    219
    62
    33
    21
See reviews for
300
264
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

We just returned from a three night stay at the grand residence club and I can't say enough good things about the resort. It is a five star resort that is in a perfect location. You won't find a better hotel in Tahoe and the service is worthy of its ratings. Perfect for couples and for families alike.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyPMountainView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

Can't fault this resort. Rooms were great and they were cleaned daily, and fresh coffee supplied evert day. Location is perfect for the Gondola and shops. Hot tubs and pool perfect after a day on the slopes. Only one small point is the $22 a night parking charge. We were there 7 nights so decided to look else where for parking. The Casino's, 3 minute walk away. Parking Free :) happy days, just don't spend the $22 a night on the slots.......
Top tip. Eat at Riva Grill, just as sun is setting, amazing food and amazing views.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

This was our Honeymoon. Upon arrival which was from the South Tahoe Express bus from the Reno Airport. It dropped us off at the Embassy Suites hotel a block down. The walk wasn't so bad.
Our room had two fireplaces and was fully equipped with what we needed. It did not have a washer and dryer in it. We had to walk quite a stretch to get to it. We stayed for 6 days and 5 nights. We washed once.
The gondola was right next door to the hotel and so were all the restarants. We walked down to Harvey's to eat at Cabo Wabo. Best deal for a meal that is mexican food. All the food is pricey around the hotel averaging about $15.00-$25.00 a person. Average price for a burger on the mountain is $15.00. If you want to budget on meals go to Harrah's Casino. They have a few restaurants downstairs that are priced well such as burgers, calzones, and chinese. There is a supermarket next door to hotel across the street. We bought breakfast stuff and ate in before heading to the mountain. The ski rental place was downstairs in front of the gondola. I highly recommend a day of ski lessons for beginners as I was one. Class is from 10-3 p.m.
The hotel was very accomodating, we took those space saver bags to fit all our stuff and when it came to repacking we didn't know what to do because we needed a vacuum. So I called concierge and they provided one. Room was cleaned daily around 9:00 a.m. or so. The fireplaces had timers on them and our room was located right in front of the iceskatin rink. We could watch that from our balcony. The shower gels and shampoos are from bath and body works and smell so good.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Omarsfiance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

My wife and I just completed our 7day honeymoon. The front desk staff knew us by name from the second we checked in and remembered it was our honeymoon. The rooms are like high end condos with the maid service cleaning from top to bottom daily. 2 great hot tubs and an 84 degree pool in the winter. Great location, walks right out onto the Heavenly gondola as well as all the ski rental shops attached to the hotel. Lots of good restaraunts within a $7 cab ride. Cafe Fiore is one of the finest Italian places we have ever eaten in America. White chocolate velvet ice cream is without words...reservations only as it has 7 tables. Both Harveys and Harrahs casinos are a 3 minute walk. May be one of Marriotts finest hotels. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ousieks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

This was our first ski/snow trip, and I could not have picked a better location. The Grand Residence is centrally located to everything. There were a couple of things that bothered me, but not enough to ruin my trip. I took the South Tahoe Express from the airport, and they do not drop off at this property. I had to carry 4 pieces of luggage at 1am in the morning in 20degrees weather, but a couple of days later I saw them drop off a family with a baby in front of the hotel in the afternoon. I am still puzzled about them, but besides a taxi or renting a car, it's the only affordable way to travel. The room I got was a 1 bedroom suite which was actually 2 rooms. Extremely roomy, had 2 bathrooms, 2 fireplaces, and a full kitchen, my only downfall was that our room was on the top floor, but the windows I had were only accessible by stepping on top of the couch. Not very safe. Overall I did enjoy my first ski trip.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TweetyD13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

We stayed here with our 5 year old twins and 8 year old. The gondola was almost within touching distance from our balcony. There were so many restaurants within walking distance, shops too. Ski rental was close and ski valet was free. Cider in the lobby after skiing. The concierge made reservations for us at appropriate places and found us a kid-friendly show at the casinos. The pool was much enjoyed by my boys. The very spacious room was enjoyed by the whole family. Two fireplaces. My little ones slept on the window beds with plenty of room. The drawers beneath were a perfect place to store ski stuff. My oldest had the sleeper sofa. The beds were wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GAMomof3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 964 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 719 reviews
1.1 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#7 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 866 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
0.8 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.

Property: Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Address: 1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7068 (Formerly Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe)
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent. 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriott Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing