We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tahoe Marriott Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Central Valley, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tahoe Marriott Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2008

We booked a studio suite at this location which was very nicely appointed much like a ski resort and centrally located to a lot of what we wanted to see and do. The price was very competitive for a nicer location as we elected not to stay in a cheap room at the local casinos.

On site was a heated pool and hot tubs, fitness center, concierge, lots of scheduled family activities, an ice rink outside, lots of specialty shopping, and a theater on the campus. Across the street on one side is a grocery, restaurants, etc. Within a block or 2 on the other side is more shopping and several casinos.

The room included a bedroom, fully furnished kitchen, and large nicely decorated bathroom with a jacuzzi tub. There was no real sitting area except in the kitchen/dining area based on the layout. There was a DVD player in the room with $3 rentals at the main desk. There is also a $1 Redbox machine at the grocery across the street. There was no pay per view available in the room. The room was very quiet based on the location and the time of year.

The underground valet parking was $19 per day, which was cheaper than the nightly public parking garage. The valet staff were very nice, quick, and knowledgeable of the area. We thought this would be good to do since we didn't know the area, and we were reluctant to leave our vehicle out in the low temperatures and possible snow. Any other time of year you could elect to park for free at a nearby casino.

The Heavenly Gondola is located at the hotel for rides up the mountain to the Heavenly Ski resort and observation deck. Unfortunately this was closed when we arrived with no warning from any website we looked at. The weather was very warm and unfortunately no snow to see or play in.

Overall it was a very nice experience and I would certainly consider staying there again. I would also consider getting a larger room for any entertaining.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Parking Fee
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mapquester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    238
    63
    37
    22
See reviews for
328
283
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
napa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2008

i stayed at this place for my b-day weekend and from the get-go it was a joke..we didnt get help with our bags, when we finally got our keys and dragged all our bags up to the room the keys didnt work so we went and got new room keys 3 different times none of them work so they sent a repair man up to fix it he tryed to but it took forever finally 2 hours later they have us change rooms..by this time my guests are upset and started a HORRABLE night. then they charged the room to the credit card we where holding the room with till we got there knowing we are paying cash so now there is a overdraft fee and no access to any money for food we went to the front desk to try n get them to fix it the hole time the youg dark haired jerk sat there with a annoying smerk on his face giggling at us for being upset as i stand there with tears in my eyes..so we ask why we are getting such crappy service because we are young?? he said no you are getting a associates discount because one of my guests work for marriott..so we asked if we where paying full price would we get treated like this and he said no... are you kidding me..finally a snood woman came and fixed the card but wouldnt do so till money is put down on the room although we where standing there with the cash for the room in our hands the hole time she was unpleasent! it was one of the WORST trips ive ever had all cause by theas rude snobby people and the janky room locks!!! at this place with service same as a motel

  • Liked — the bed and kitchen was nice
  • Disliked — service and the poeple working there are rude
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kyliefaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2008

Stay started on Friday, November 14th. Our family went to celebrate a birthday. We were immediately greeted by the valet staff to park, but delcined the $19 a night fee. We needed up parking at the casino and walking to the hotel each night. Check in went smoothly. Resort of quite. Didn't seem like very many people were there. Our rooms were on the 3rd floor. We were invted to the evening reception for the timeshare presentation. Several Marriott staff were standing around, but for some reason deferred all questions to one VERY RUDE sales representative. I ended up walking out and letting one of the other staff members know my dissappointment. The rooms were clean and kitchen nice. The TV in the living room was the smallest of all and was located in a cabinet, and could not be moved. Horrible location for a TV and for viewing. Toilet seats need replacing. I was dissappointed that a maintenance item such as that has not been done since it is a small expense. All in all the jacuzzi tubs were great and relaxing. Possibly would go back.

  • Disliked — $19 Per Night Parking
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank onlyone129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2008

My husband and I stayed 5 nights in a one bedroom suite and we had a wonderful time. The hotel staff is extremely helpful and polite. The only choice to park the car is their valet parking which costs $19 per night but they do give great service to get the car in and out of the garage. We went the first week of November and it is their very slow season and of course the hotel was kind of empty, wonderfully quite.
It has an amazing location, the gondola is next to the hotel and the hotel is right in the middle of Heavenly Village which has all kinds of stores and restaurants, even a full size supermarket. The bed and the entire apartment was extremely good. I highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Location and comfort
  • Disliked — The $19 valet parking charge
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank elliewww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2008

An excellent choice as as a self catering residence as there is no on site restaurant or breakfast facility.

The room was actually a double room with one entrance to the sleeping area and the other entrance door was to the lounge/ kitchen/ Diner area. The whole appartment was tastefully decorated with good quality furnishing and modern efficient kitchen appliances. The two rooms had an interconnecting door and could be rented as sleeping room only or with the kitchen diner room.

There is a good cafe next door so if you do not wish to prepare your own breakfast you can walk outside for a good breakfast.

Of an evening , there are a few choices of where to eat, but if you are looking for a special meal you may wish to walk to a place called Lewmarnels. This is a bit off of the main road but worth a visit. They do have some very expensive wines on the menu and the wine waiter said they seldom sell them but the house wines are good quality at a fair price. Food is great too !

The property is clean, well run with helpfull staff and once you have worked out the locations of all of the ways to get in and out of the property then you really can feel at home there.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyMus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2008

The Marriott's Grand Residence Inn is a comfortable, nicely furnished and appointed facility, from the lobbies to the villas. Immaculate best describes their attention to keeping up appearances. Every staff person greeted us with smiles and kind words during our three day visit. The security is outstanding, no worries there. No hitch in any aspect of check-in. Everything was as promised.

Had we been 30 years younger, it would have been far easier for us. It is a very large facility. Had I been wiser I would have requested a room close to an elevator. I regretted having left no trail of bread crumbs behind when we finally arrived at our villa. A well-founded concern when we left to go seek a meal, and all but made a career out of finding our way back. Younger legs would have not noticed, but I bring my trusty cane with me now, and I was glad to have it. My hubby has reached an age of 'easy confusion' and he took the faciility map given us at the front desk when he went out to "stretch his legs" and bring back a goodie or two. I marked the various entrances to the complex, the elevator to get on, and even put a small easily removed Hallmark sticker on the door to make sure he found me again.

The location is excellent and close to most anything one might be seeking in South Lake Tahoe.

It was abundantly supplied with kitchen/cooking gear, but we didn't make much use of that. The elevation was a bit taxing for me; if you have breathing issues, you might want to check further to be sure. So, go and have fun. Don't wait until your 70's and 80's to do it, but if you do, I promise you will STILL have a great time.

Helpful?
2 Thank IndexMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2008

We stayed at the Grand Residence Club for five nights in October 08. The best thing about the hotel was the size and price of the hotel. We are Marriott members and got a great rate on a 1 bed/2 bath room. It had a full kitchen, big living area and two fireplaces. The room was clean and everything seemed to be very new in the room. Underneath the hotel are numerous shops and restaurants. We ate the nearby driftwood cafe for breakfast each morning. There is also a cinema complex within a minute walk. The Heavenly gondola is beside this hotel also. There is a huge food market across the road from the hotel if you want to cook in the full kitchen. The casinos are also a short walk down the road.

  • Liked — convenient location
  • Disliked — no views
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank drkate01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
1.1 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.

Property: Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Address: 1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7068 (Formerly Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent. 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriott Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing