We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wish we could have stayed longer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Ranked #9 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
256 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We had 2 days to say here and I wish we had more. We had been staying elsewhere in the Lake Tahoe area for the past 5 days. The location is great--easy to walk to all the restaurants around and to Starbucks for morning coffee! Even walked to trails in Van Sickle State Park. We had a studio, which was comfortable for two of us. The bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed being able to make our own dinner after we had been eating out for many nights. Raley's grocery also an easy walk. It was also great to get our laundry done before leaving for home. The pool was lovely. I will definitely stay here in the future if I am fortunate enough to return to Lake Tahoe!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teamom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    219
    62
    33
    21
See reviews for
299
264
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
el dorado hills, ca
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Walked in and was pretty amazed. Had a studio room which was a very good size - full kitchen, queen size bed (which was sooo comfortable). It was a very quiet room, even though i was on the boulevard. The front desk personnel were pretty friendly.
The hotel is within walking distance of a grocery store, and the casinos.
Pretty good value as well.

Room Tip: try to get a room away from the main street in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent., responded to this review, October 2, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your time with us Mary! Please come back and visit us again at Marriott's Grand Residence Club at Lake Tahoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Amazing, clean and friendly resort. The one bedroom with loft that we booked was very spacious. Can easily accommodate 6-7 people. Two extra bathrooms are extra ordinary. The staffs also make sure you have everything that you will ever need on a daily basis. There is even a humidifier in the loft bedroom. Three sets of TV, two sofa beds, complete set of plates, spoon, Tupperware, pans, pots, etc that will be too much to list here. Very well maintained property with lots of free activities (such as daily water exercise in the pool area). Perfect location. There is a supermarket and plenty of places to eat across the street if you need an extra milk/ diaper for your little one.

Simply amazing. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Pool side room could be a bit loud during busy season but the pool itself closed at 10pm so it doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enrico K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

The people watching and walk to everything makes this the perfect location. The afternoon concerts just bring the place alive even more. The 2 bedroom if you can get it , is amazing , bring the kids & play some pool in your room ! Or invite your new friends up for a party I. Your room with kitchen & bar!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent., responded to this review, October 2, 2014
It sounds like your family had a great time, Sherri! Thank you for your TripAdvisor review and we hope to host you again soon in Lake Tahoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Was there for 4th of July. Stayed in suite and it was very nice. Full kitchen, dinning area, front room with fireplace and large bedroom. The Hotel is very large and we didn't get the room we wanted and had to walk which seemed like a mile from the elevator. There is everything you would want to do or eat with-in walking distance. Enjoyed ourselves.
Had a rental car and the paking was $26 a day.... a little overpriced. Sad no place to park without daily cost.

Room Tip: Try to get one closer to elevators unless you don't mind walking a mile in and out of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skippack, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The location of this resort is perfect as the gondola is located adjacent to the hotel and the casinos are just 2 blocks away. As we had rented a vehicle, the valet parking staff was very attentive and made sure the wait time was never long. Most importantly, the staff made you feel special, whether it was the front desk staff, the concierge or housekeeping. We utilized all of the services at the hotel and everyone made sure we were happy. A great family resort.

Room Tip: We rented the 3 bedroom unit and it was one of the largest three bedroom units we had ever enjoyed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 794georgew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent., responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thank you for the five-star review, George! It's great to hear your family enjoyed their stay at the resort in June. We will pass along your kind words for the associates who made your stay special and we appreciate you sharing this with us. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana, Arizona
Level Contributor
215 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This resort is easier to find than its neighboring Marriott Timber Lodge. It's intendedly more rustic in decor than the Timber Lodge. It's valet parking service is quite good and prompt despite the relatively little space in its circle near the main entrance. The kitchen has a very nice dishwasher, but the otherwise nice new refrigerator has an ice maker with a bin that's placed quite high--so high that my wife couldn't reach ice in it. We hadn't asked for a room designed for handicapped people, but we got one and it's incredible that anyone in a wheelchair could be able to get ice out of it, let alone most young children. Another major flaw: unlike the Timber Lodge which has washers and driers in most rooms (except lockoffs), the Grand Residence Club doesn't. There was a room with washers and driers on our floor, but it was at a considerable distance and, unlike the Timber Lodge which provides a laundry basket, the Grand Residence Club does not. What's more, actual washers and driers were problematic in the Grand Residence Club. The markings on the settings for the washers had largely been washed off--so much so that it was hard to actually know that they were washers, let alone to figure out the proper settings. There were only two washers and two driers and one of the two driers had a door that didn't close properly and, as a result, it didn't dry things well either.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms close to an elevator. Otherwise you may end up walking through long mazes of corri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent., responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott's Grand Residence Club at Lake Tahoe. We really appreciate your feedback about the ice machine and laundry room. Please accept our apology for the problems you experienced when trying to clean your clothes. We will pass your feedback along to the resort leadership team to review the facility and machines. Thank you again for your review and we hope you will return on your next vacation in Lake Tahoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 964 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
1.1 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#7 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 863 reviews
0.8 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.

Property: Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Address: 1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7068 (Formerly Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe)
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent. 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriott Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing