We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Clean, comfy & good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Clean, comfy & good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is not a five-star property but more like between three & four. The appliances and furniture are a little outdated but still pretty good. We rented a one-bedroom for two weeks and very happy with it. It's spacious, including the bathroom. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. The town of South Lake Tahoe in itself in not that nice, but this property is in the only area that would be considered nice. There is a large grocery store across the street which is very convenient. I would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jogrant2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    231
    62
    35
    22
See reviews for
312
275
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great location - quick walk to casinos, but much quieter than staying at the casinos. Next to Heavenly tram, beautiful views from Heavenly. Very comfortable and spacious room. Full kitchen with supplies. Friendly Staff. Access to Lake Tahoe beach. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I moved to this hotel after I left one I had reserved which was pretty bad. I was told I could only stay two nights because they had been booked up for 8 months for fourth of july (not true). The woman who checked me in was cold and officious. I rented a studio--strange--had a full kitchen for a reasonable price. Air conditioning, nice pool, with restaurant service around the pool. Centrally located but be prepared to pay $26 a day for parking--outrageous! The best people there were the valets, sweet and friendly. NO ROOM SERVICE.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyS58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just checked out of hotel. Great experience from beginning to end. Four of us in a 1 bedroom unit. Pull out couch for kids, 2 TVs, gas fireplace, full kitchen with breakfast bar and legit dining table. 4th of July week so Tahoe was packed, yet the staff was not overwhelmed. Very very clean, great customer service, supermarket across the street, Starbucks on the corner, free laundry. We played mini-golf on site, swam in the pool, walked to shops. We walked to Lakeside Beach - maybe a bit too much for little kids but no problem for us ($5 per person to access beach). Also rented jet skis and a boat at Lakeside Marina. The hotel has shuttle buses, which we didn't use, but it ran to different spots. We used the valet parking so don't know the other options if you didn't want to pay $26 a day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Centrally located within South Lake and close to everything. The hotel it self has a great staff, great location, great pool, and the rooms are very good with kitchens which are helpful with meals for families. Also if you do not need the kitchen, plenty of restaurants in the area. hotel is also a short walk from a nice beach on the lake.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the road
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were in Tahoe for a short getaway, and chose this hotel (based on TripAdvisor recommendations) because we wanted a kitchenette. We found ourselves in a well-appointed one-bedroom apartment. The bathroom was spacious, and had the large jacuzzi we'd requested. The kitchen was more than just a kitchenette; it was a fully functional apartment kitchen. There were separate thermostats for the living room and bedroom. It didn't have a view, but overlooked the pool, which was okay.

The wi-fi was free and stable. (This is crucial for me.)

The staff were friendly and helpful, and the location convenient. The large Raley's grocery is just across the way; it's convenient to the main roads, and not far from the lake. The setting is very urban (walking distance to casinos), but that's fine at night. In the day, we drove to the lake anyway and didn't stay in the room.

The only thing we really disliked was the parking situation. I knew we'd pay $26 per day. What I hadn't known is that it's only valet parking. You have no access to the car. If you want something from it, the valet has to fetch it or fetch the car. You don't have to give a tip each time, but we felt it was only fair; we quickly ran out of small notes. They're nice about it, but it's still a nuisance. I underestimated how annoying it would become. Eventually, we just left the car in the market parking lot across the road, and only brought it in for the night (and paid the $26 anyway).

I would hope Marriott would re-think this compulsory valet parking. I had a similar issue with their Walnut Creek property earlier this year, but there I was able to access the car myself so it bothered me less.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 09876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bay area, california
Level Contributor
130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott Grand Residence for a week. We rented a 2 bdrm upstairs/downstairs with a loft. There was 5 of us and we could have slept 4 to 5 more comfortably. It was centrally located, clean, with a fabulous staff. It was perfect. It's located at Heavenly Village which was great as we had a 7 year old with us and it rained for a few days. The movies, restaurants, mini golf (ice skating in the winter), shopping, casinos were all right there. I will definitely be looking to rebook for our next summer getaway!

Room Tip: I enjoyed the high vaulted ceilings - the hotel is only 4 stories tall. If you can get a pool view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
1.1 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
22.4 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
0.8 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#8 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.

Property: Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Address: 1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7068 (Formerly Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe)
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent. 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriott Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing