We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“What a great place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“What a great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a time share property but they do book rooms to non-members. We had a one bedroom unit with a full kitchen. There was a queen bed and a queen sofa bed in the living room. It had one of the best appointed kitchens I have ever seen in one of these places. We do like to stay where we can make our own breakfast and meals if we desire.

The furnishings are very nice..."woodsy". There is a gas fireplace in the bedroom and living room. DVD player and great TV choices were available.

The staff was helpful and very friendly. It is close to a great market, a cinema, a great pedicure place...and of course it is close to the lake.

Room Tip: we were on the top floor facing the main street..it was quiet and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank April E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    226
    62
    35
    22
See reviews for
306
273
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed in this hotel because I got a fantastic rate from my brother who got me family and friends rate otherwise I would say this hotel is not worth $150+ a night in South Lake Tahoe. Room was tiny but good, view was front road facing with balcony but lake was not visible because the hotel is not elevated enough that the view would surpass all the existing building on the other side of the road but road view was good enough for us. Swimming pool was under construction so had to use Marriott Timber Ridge's pool which was bigger than this property but to walk 200 yards (depending upon which side you are staying at the hotel) to reach the pool.

Valet was super expensive $26 per night considering there was no self parking so either you public park your car in a city's parking structure and pay $25 for the night or park at the back of the casinos for free. Valet charges were not at all justifiable and I parked at casinos for both night.

There was everything you would like in a hotel studio like Microwave, dishwasher, gas, coffee maker, fridge, etc. so it was a nice stay but wouldn't stay unless I get a phenomenal rate I got this time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mr_AK_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north shields
Level Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The grand Marriott is an amazing place to stay this is more like it the staff are very nice and polite the large room with fireplace is wonderful the bed is very commftable the two bathrooms are very nice you also get a living area with a full kitchen and every thing you would need is supplied. I am happy to recommend this to all holiday makers looking for that little extra comfort it is in a great location right next to the gondolas the rooms also come with a safe deposit box I also got a telephone message each day telling me what is happening around the resort. If you stay here you should book up a treatment in the spa I had the hot stones today and it was amazing the staff are so nice I am leaving the Marriott tomorrow but will be back x

Room Tip: I came here with my husband and picked the large room with fireplace loved everything about it it ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharp66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

WOW! We needed a place to meet our BC Canadian cousins who were in Reno for a conference. We figured at this point of their travels, they would need a laundry, home cooking, a place to park their slippers and, finally, somewhere they could walk to attractions, etc., rather than drive. After speaking to Tim Golobic of Heavenly Valley Condos, he knew just the place we needed -- a 2000 square foot penthouse. Because we were looking for accommodations in the bridge season (end of ski and beginning of hiking, biking, sailing season), we were able to get these accommodations affordably. It was luxury with the type of glad-to-be-of-service atmosphere you would expect from Marriott.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsMaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a few days whilst travelling. It was between the ski season and the summer season so everything was very quiet but that may not have been a bad thing. We had an apartment with a small kitchen so we could buy food at the local supermarket for breakfast and cook it ourselves saving money.

The hotel is beautiful and couldn't be better situated for attractions and amenities. All of staff are brilliant, particularly Connie, the concierge who could not be better.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
185 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I really liked the room. It would have been nicer to be a little bit higher up so we could have a better view. The room is nicely furnished and nicely laid out. I didn't feel cramped but everything you need is in the room. I had a place to plug in my iPhone next to the nightstand and the Tv was setup to take external devices. The bathroom is nicely done but I would have preferred a nicer shower head. I couldn't seem to get the flow just right. My only complaint is the parking. Only valet is available. You can park down the street at the casino for free but that is a cumbersome. I like to self park but that is not an option on their premises. If I was skiing this place is perfect because the lift is right there on property. Heavenly Village surrounds you so there is plenty of shopping and restaurants to enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lvinstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

My wife and I returned to Tahoe for a week of skiing in March having previously stayed at Embassy Suites (nice) and Horizon Casino (cheap). We decided on the Marriott Grand residence mainly due to location but we had the added bonus of a discount for early booking making the price comparable with Embassy suites. The suite we were allocated was fantastic. A good size lounge area, lovely bedroom, excellent kitchen and dining area and a fabulous bathroom complete with his and hers basins and a large spa bath big enough for us both.
We were thrilled with the suite as we had only booked a standard one so likely it was an upgrade although there was a very limited view of the courtyard so maybe the additional space compensated for the poor view - either way we were happy. One of the best things about the suite was that it was located at the end of the hotel closest to the gondola so literally a few steps from our room to the gondola.

Kitchen, large fridge, microwave etc was perefct for preparing breakfast and the large supermarket across the road provided everything we needed to fuel up for a day on the slopes. Actually preferred breakfast in our suite but for dinner, we ate out every night and took advantage of the hotel discount scheme for meals (mostly 10% off food bill). Hotel guest discounts extended to many shops also and we took advantage of a good saving on ski hire. we also received unlimited free wifi in our suite which was important to us

There is a large heated pool and 2 large spa baths in the courtyard area which we used on a couple of occasions early evening - nice way to enjoy a few drinks and chat to like minded people

Tips for Tahoe:

Rent your skis from Powderhouse by the gondola. Great friendly service and better value than Heavenly sports next door although we did take advantage of FREE overnight ski storage at Heavenly Sports which is part of the hotel scheme. Both are a couple of yards from the Marriott room elevator

We rented a car at San Francisco airport on a one-way basis and then again on our return 7 days later. This saved a lot of money on renting a car we were not going to use during the week and also valet parking which is very expensive at every hotel adjacent to the gondola

Plenty of choice for dining out. We recommend Fire and Ice (mongolian BBQ style) and Stateline Brewery but we actually returned to Applebee's twice - great value food, friendly service and my wife couldn't get enough of the Margeritas which she thought were the best she had ever had.

Eating and drinking on the mountain is not cheap but we found the soups and chowders good value at Tamarack Lodge (quick and friendly service as well) and a late afternoon beer and margerita at the Snow Beach bar chilling on the sun loungers was a lovely way to wind down before the last few runs

We have skied at several resoprts across europe and a few in the USA. Tahoe is our favourite by a considerable margin. We just wish it were a little closer than 11 hours on a plane and 6 more hours on the road

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
1.1 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
0.8 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#8 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
22.4 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.

Property: Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Address: 1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7068 (Formerly Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe)
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent. 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriott Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing