We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Short walk to Gondola”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed for a week & had a nice experience here. The location is wonderful - only a few short steps to the gondola, ski rental, shops, food, casinos, etc. The condo unit was nice, spacious & clean, kitchen was a little dated, but clean, definitely functional & big enough for the two of us. Nice living room with an adjacent dining area, decent sized bedroom, 2 large (full) bathrooms, whirlpool tub, flat screen TV's & lots of storage.

Super friendly front desk & concierge staff & the valet parking was very prompt. The valets were great at helping load & unload when needed.

The layout of the buildings due to the location at the bottom of the mountain is a bit odd & finding your way around the complex may be a little difficult the first day, but you catch on.

The area in general is so gorgeous & you really will want to rent a car in order not to miss out on things. BTW - for those of you traveling in winter & who are not used to snow - get an SUV and they really do mean it when they tell you to use chains (esp if you have a car!). You won't be allowed past checkpoints.

Room Tip: Our room faced the shops & noise wasn't an issue at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AARPBOUND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    226
    62
    35
    22
See reviews for
306
274
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ringgold, Georgia
Level Contributor
306 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We like the Timberlodge better but this is a good spot too. It is close to a grocery store and shopping, a movie theater and the gondola to Heavenly. Casinos are just down the street. Several reasonable eating places are within walking distance. But to see the sites you really need to rent a car. We recommend a trip to Fallen Leaf Lake. Driving all the way to the end of the road with stops along the way will take a half day or more depending on how long you stop to admire the beauty. A cruise on the lake is a must see. We liked the sail boat but the paddle wheelers are OK, too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SPN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Family of four who stayed here for 5 nights. Although the location is ideal to skiing , the 2 bedroom suite we stayed in was disappointing. When we checked in, the kitchen cabinets was sticky of grime and dusty. Refrigerator was dirty. Floors was not cleaned well with dirty grout. Bathrooms had mold on shower wall and shower curtains. This property needs serious updating. For the price we paid ( $500/ night inc tax) , it is not worth it! We are Hyatt Vacation club owners and this property is not at par with Hyatt in terms of cleanliness and upgraded amenities. Valet upon check in was rude! When we asked where to valet the skis, he said" you didn't do your research?" Sarcastic! Complained to front desk, front desk understanding though and supervisor apologized and comp our valet. Washer and dryer not enough for whole floor! Always busy. Should put in each room. Kitchen appliances old and plates cracked. Very dissatisfied with this Marriott property!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovesvacation97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed her for the second part of our honeymoon and couldn't have been more pleased. The location of the hotel is convenient to shops and restaurant right outside your door. The supermarket and a few other chain restaurants are right across the street. The gondola to heavenly is right there as well.

The rooms are perfect after a long cold day; you can fix dinner, drink some wine and cozy up to the fire place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IslandGirl_345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Remarkably convenient property, completely betrayed by the conflict of running a timeshare/fractional ownership property as a hotel.

Basically, Marriott's hotel room reservation system is incompatible with the unit-specific scheduling demands of a timeshare operation. Meaning, you may have to move from room to room during your stay.

The lodging is a relatively newly-built property that is essentially connected to the Gondola at Heavenly Village: Rental shops and ski school check-in is essentially downstairs, with the Gondola station 10 yards away. Furnishings are well-kept, the full-size kitchen is great for families, and the staff are friendly and professional. Comfy beds and nice mid-grade sheets.

But all of that may be for naught, as we discovered during a peak ski weekend: Upon check-in, we were told that our 3-night stay would be broken up into two different rooms. Why? Because owner A of the first unit is scheduled to use the unit after the first night, and the second unit doesn't become available until tomorrow, because owner B is still in there. Please have your things packed and leave them with the bell captain when you go skiing tomorrow morning, and you can unpack them in the second room after 4pm check-in tomorrow.

Maybe this is a minor inconvenience for a lightly-packed trip to a tourist city, where you might be outside from 9am-5pm anyway.

At a ski resort, where you may have paid the premium to stay close to the village, so maybe the small kids in the family can wrap up skiing early and come home, right after lunch, this is a disaster.

If you have babies small enough to need naps mid-day, in a warm place, this is a disaster.

And, if you were looking to place a weekend's worth of keep-cold foods in the refrigerator, this is a disaster.

The front-desk staff was friendly and sympathetic, but completely hamstrung at the lack of continuous room availability. And thus, unable to help this shocked family. We both nervously smiled at each other and each recognized that "Well, during peak periods, these things happen."

In our particular case the situation was resolved when owner A chose to cancel at the last minute. Thanks, I guess, but I think we just got extraordinarily lucky and dodged a bullet.

But even the possibility of such things happening on a regular basis, has me forever avoiding reserving this property through the Marriott website, and warning others to do the same. Instead, seek VRBO sites like HeavenlyVillageCondos, which feature reservation engines that display continuous availability for specific rooms.

Room Tip: Book through a VRBO site, not Marriott.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SuperCarnitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
138 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our suite was very comfortable indeed, very spacious and well equipped. The valet parking is a great feature and a quick call gets your car delivered within a couple of minutes. The staff are first class, polite and helpful. The location right by the gondola is extremely convenient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

A. MGR is less than an hour from the Reno airport.
B. Suites are large and fully appointed.
C. Indoor valet parking, so car is never covered with snow.
D. Staff is extremely responsive to guest needs.
E. Skis are even valeted to ski shop at bottom of Gondola
F. Heavenly Gondola is steps away from your suite.
G. Stores, ice rank, Casinos, etc. is within walking distance.
H. We keep coming back every year.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Just choose one that will accommodate your group size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GAR722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
1.1 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
0.8 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#8 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
22.4 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.

Property: Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Address: 1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7068 (Formerly Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe)
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent. 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriott Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing