We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities in an ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our suite was very comfortable indeed, very spacious and well equipped. The valet parking is a great feature and a quick call gets your car delivered within a couple of minutes. The staff are first class, polite and helpful. The location right by the gondola is extremely convenient.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (905)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 905 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

A. MGR is less than an hour from the Reno airport.
B. Suites are large and fully appointed.
C. Indoor valet parking, so car is never covered with snow.
D. Staff is extremely responsive to guest needs.
E. Skis are even valeted to ski shop at bottom of Gondola
F. Heavenly Gondola is steps away from your suite.
G. Stores, ice rank, Casinos, etc. is within walking distance.
H. We keep coming back every year.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Just choose one that will accommodate your group size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAR722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I wouldn't change a thing about our stay at the Marriott Grand Residence in Lake Tahoe! The staff were friendly and very helpful, the lobby was clean, spacious, and cozy, and the amenities (pool etc) were great. Our living room on the 5th floor was immense. We had more than enough room for the seven people in our group to hang out, cook dinner, and watch the MSU game (too bad they lost to Indiana!). We had two queen beds in the bedroom, and two bathrooms (one of which was HUGE) with spa tubs (my fav after being on the mountain!). It is a short walk (around the corner) in ski boots to the Heavenly gondola, and as a guest of the hotel there is a complimentary ski check at Heavenly Sports-right at the Gondola. As guests of the hotel, you also receive discounts at many places around Tahoe, so make sure to check this out (see other reviews). Loved it.

Room Tip: 5th floor had high ceilings and was quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvdrseuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Came to Tahoe for the Presidents day weekend with my kids, 20,18 and 11, tired of the cramped hotels or smokey casinos, found this place by chance, didn't bother to review, was a little pricey for the last ski weekend, rates are half otherwise,I was surprised how large the unit was, two story loft style, huge den upstairs and separate bedroom, downstairs fireplace, sofa bed, single bed size seating/ sleeping in front of windows. Room enough for all of us, independently, three tv's, full cable,HBO,Starz.free wifi connection. Gondola ride up the mountain in back. Beautiful heated pool, two Hot tubs, apparently these are timeshares but can be rented as a hotel room, fully stocked kitchen.I was pleasantly surprised, All my kids were happy. A rare moment indeed.
Couples will find it as pleasant, it is clean secure and worth a stay.

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor, the place was sold out and it was as if it was empty. Very well built
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wpaapw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Grand Residence is just steps away from the gondola. It is clean, comfortable and has good service. There is free wifi internet. The kitchen is a great amenity and grocery is across the street at Raley's.

Easy choice for a skiing trip in Heavenly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oswaldo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Took my family, wife & two kids 9 & 12, to Marriott Grand in Tahoe last weekend. The service was impeccable, the pool and hot tub were heated and hot as advertised. The accommodations were great, we had pots/pans, silverware, cups and glasses; everything you could want. The family especially enjoyed the fireplace in each room. The whirlpool bathtub got used extensively and we just really enjoyed our time there. We were just a stones throw away from the gondola at heavenly, we never had to get in the car to eat or ski the whole weekend. It was GREAT. The only blemish on the entire trip is that the mattress in the bedroom was of the hard stiff type. In the last 6 months we have stayed at other Marriott's in San Francisco, Intercontinental, The W brand hotel, Peppermill in Reno to name a few. I have never slept on a more uncomfortable mattress. Now, maybe it was me, after all the last ski lift ticket on my jacket said Dec. 26, 1999. So maybe after all day on the slopes I was more sore than normal, but if you don't sleep well on firm mattresses, I would mention it when you make your reservation. Aside from that I give the resort a 9.5 out of 10. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I recently completed a 3 night stay at the Marriott Grand Residence Club in South Lake Tahoe, and I would highly recommend it. We were originally placed into a "Studio" room, however I thought I had booked a 1 Room with Kitchen. After talking with the front desk, they allowed us to move rooms without any problems. This is a perfect location if you plan to ski at Heavenly. The gondola is located about 20 yards from the side door. We really enjoyed the two hot tubs after a long day of skiing. Also the club is centrally located to all the places that you would eat and drink.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,095 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,118 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,130 reviews
22.4 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,897 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#14 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.

Address: 1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7068 (Formerly Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $140 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent. 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriott Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing