We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
tld009
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed October 3, 2007

Picked this hotel because of ratings I read on this site and it was a great choice. The hotel was great the pictures on the website don't do it justice. The suites were very nice. If you're going during the colder months, the fireplace may be a great amenity in the room. The hotel staff was not rude, but they weren't jumping up to offer a whole lot of help. It was a little overpriced. There are several other hotels that were very nice that would have done the trick for me. Overall...great hotel I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tld009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    239
    64
    37
    22
See reviews for
332
285
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2007

We (family with 3 kids, 2 grandparents) booked a 2 bedroom/ 3 bath suite which had 2 fireplaces, a full kitchen with granite counters, living/dining room and balcony. We were in South Lake Tahoe for a wedding and I have not been to South Lake Tahoe in 6 years...it has totally changed since then, more "resorty" feel with new shops, hotels and restaurants. This is what we liked about the Marriott Grand Residence-

1) Convienient- it is located across the street from a new Raleys shopping Plaza where we got a few groceries for breakfast/ snacks. There's a bunch of shops and restaurants within the whole Marriott complex, plus a movie theatre. It is 2 doors down from Harrahs, pass Marriott Timber Lodge then Embassy Suites then you're at Harrah's where my parents could walk to play the slots.
2) Spacious- Our suite was big, around 1200 sq.ft. or so. It says it can fit 8 but it really can fit 10. There was a King master bed with fireplace and balcony and nice bath with huge tub, 2nd bedroom had 2 queen beds, another nice but smaller bath, the living room had a sofabed and then there were large "window seats" twin size that would be great for kids or teens. The kitchen had everything you needed even a crock pot. There were entry areas to each bedroom and main room that had trunks where you could store shoes or boots.
3) Fireplaces- instant gas set up, it was very cold and windy and rained a bit. We didn't get to swim or go to the beach but we walked around a lot and nice to come back to a warm place.
4) Cost- Booked thru Travelocity and got a great deal at $249 a night, cheaper and more spacious than getting 2 studio hotel rooms anywhere else.
5) Miniature Golf area with music- my kids loved that. I guess in the winter, this area turns into an ice skating rink.

What we didn't like-
1) Thin walls- when people were in the hallway, you felt like they were in your room. Friday night was pretty noisy til like 12:30-1am with teens outside, our room was near the movie theatre so you could hear teens being noisy, skateboarders...Sat. night wasn't as bad but maybe we were used to it by then.
2) Valet Parking only- I knew this ahead of time but it would be nice to just park your car somewhere for easier access, I guess you could park at the grocery store for a few hours but I didn't want to chance getting ticketed. Valet was $17 a day plus tip.
3) Big resort- We were on one end and in order to get to our room from the lobby, you had to go up to the 4th floor then find another elevator down the hall and take it down to the 3rd floor...we got lost a couple times trying to get out to the lobby and finally just went downstairs and outside and went around. I felt like I was at the Grand Wailea again with all the long hallways going who knows where!
4) No washer and dryer- for a place this big, it has the space for it and it would be nice to do your laundry before you head home.

All in all, it's a nice family friendly place to stay. The people who complained seemed to have had studios and I wouldn't get a studio here when you can get a large suite for a little more. Happy Travels!

  • Liked — The spaciousness of the 2 bedroom/3 bath suite, clean, convienient
  • Disliked — Thin walls, noisy teens, valet only
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank huladolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2007

South Lake Tahoe is the place to stay in Lake Tahoe. This hotel (timeshare accommodation) is excellently located, next to the ski lift and within walking distance to restaurants, casinos and the golf club. We had a nice suite and were given a welcome pack upon arrival (the typical washing liquid, toothpaste, toothbrush etc pack). My only negative point would be the rubbish which was left in bags by the housekeeping staff outside people's rooms - the same rubbish was left during our stay along the corridoor for over a day and I had to request it be removed in the end. Valet parking (you cannot self park) is charged at a daily rate - the valet staff were very punctual and we didn't ever have to wait for our car for more than 3 minutes, although we visited in the summer so this may be different for a skiing holiday....?

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank JOD1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2007

I was disappointed to discover the Marriott in Lake Tahoe offers NO LAKE VIEW Rooms. The "Studios" don't have king beds or even a balcony which should be standard in a $159.00 + room. The front desk staff person was not helpful and failed to mention the additional $17.00 per day parking fee.
There are many other hotels in Lake Tahoe to choose from that provide better amenities for a more reasonable cost.
We won't be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reno11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2007

My husband and I stay in Tahoe about 12-15 times throughout the year and usually are very impressed with the hotels and service. We paid $199 a night at the Marriot Grand Residence and were sorely dissapointed. We stayed in one of the studio units (thinking it would be comparable to a regular hotel room) and found several things to be lacking. First, there were no glasses or ice available, period. Also, there was no desk or table in the room. Second, the walls are paper thin. We could actually hear the conversations the people in the next room were having and I don't believe that they were actually being loud...just thin walls. Third, the service was awful. The front desk help was not helpful. The maid service in the morning set up fairly early and were very loud in the hall. Lastly, this is the only hotel we've ever stayed in that didn't offer a later check-out. 11 am comes early for late night gamblers.
The upside to the hotel was a very comfortable bed and an amazing bath tub. Also, the valet service was very quick. I wouldn't stay here again, because I don't feel that it was worth the price. I would recommend Embassy Suites, Timber Cover Lodge and the Travel Lodge. Each of these places are consistently a pleasure to stay at. Enjoy Lake Tahoe! It is the most beautiful place on earth!

  • Liked — Comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Room setup
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheesycam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2007

Totally inadequate internet service. Hotel blamed Wayport - Wayport blamed hotel. Finally checked out and went to Hyatt in Incline Village.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank carlin80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
livermore, ca
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2007

We stayed over a partial Labor Day weekend-Thurs and Fri night. Found out right away that's it's not a great place to take a boat. They'll have you park it in back of the Raley's store which didn't feel very secure to us at all. Had to take out everything we had in the boat and stuff it inside the truck. Stayed in a two bdrm 3 bath which was nice and roomy. However Fri morning the power went out to the immediate area. It was out for most of the day and the cable tv and internet were still out once the power came back on. No hot water until the end of the day. Hotel staff were pleasant in spite, but...

Saturday, launched the boat at South Lake Tahoe Recreation Area & Boat Ramp on Lakeview Ave for $15-not for new boat owners. Watched as a new truck/boat owner managed to get both stuck. The trailer went off the end of the ramp, the boat got stuck on a sandbar and wouldn't come off, and the truck became submerged and had to be towed out. This launch ramp was much cheaper than the ramp closer to the hotel ,the Lakeside Marina. Lakeside wanted $20 in and $20 out.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank fluffmcgruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
1.1 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.

Property: Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Address: 1001 Heavenly Village Way, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7068 (Formerly Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent. 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Vacatia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriott Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing