We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Expensive but views are worth it"”

The Gondola at Heavenly
Book In Advance
More Info
$38.06*
and up
Ski or Snowboard Rental in Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hop aboard an 8-passenger glass cabin and be whisked 2.4 miles up the side of a mountain for breathtaking views of Lake Tahoe and the Sierra Nevada mountain range. Riders can hop off at an observation deck, located half way up, for even more spectacular sights.
Homosassa, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“"Expensive but views are worth it"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Make sure you have a couple of hours to do this trip and the weather is good. The cost is $41 for adult and $35 for teens under 4 is free. The Gondola ride has breathtaking views and the first stop is a must. it will not stop on the way back. when you get to the top you are almost in a Gully but your ticket let's you take the chairlift up to the top, there are trails you can walk around and see different views. Back down at the lodge area prior to getting on the gondola for the ride back to base the prices for drinks are very expensive with sodas $4. Glad we did not purchase the lunch voucher as we ate when we were back at the bottom where it is cheaper. This is expensive but the views are beautiful. ..Just make sure it is a clear day so you can see and weather is good because they will cancel and no refunds. .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    994
    487
    151
    51
    33
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Make Sure to Have enough time.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

While this is expensive, it's definitely worth the view at the 3 stops at the top. Because of the price, you want to allow enough time for a hike around to see over both sides of the mountain and maybe zip line. Have a drink a relax with the view at the first stop. At the top the food is just average at the cafeteria....which probably seems great to hungry skiers.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank ppmomofive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Extremely high priced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

My wife and I drove down to go on the gondola but it was 41 dollars per person. For us it was way to expensive and we saw a lot of empty chairs though out the day as we shopped around the attraction. Not sure the views are worth it but I would think they would have a lot more business if they reduced their prices to be more affordable

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“breath taking views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

This was an amazing ride. It was a bit scary but so beautiful at the same time. The views were amazing. Make sure you get off on the observation deck going up because it doesn't stop there on the way down.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Venue is well organized and run. All workers were helpful and friendly. the views were great and it was a beautiful ride both up and back down. The only reason I give this four rather than five, sis that we wanted to do the zip line, but it turns out you need to purchase those tickets really early in the morning or days prior. We got up to the top and wanted to do the zip but it was sold out. Our tickets included $15 for food in the nice lodge, food great, but a hot dog was over $10, so hot dog, soda and potato salad were $20. That said, it was a really nice experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank retreiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gondola at Heavenly also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to The Gondola at Heavenly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing