We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good Location, Disappointing Amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Avalon Lodge to your Saves list
Avalon Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4075 Manzanita Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Location, Disappointing Amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I'm really torn between 3 and 4 stars...

We booked this hotel mainly because of the amenities listed (free kayaks available, bikes, pool, breakfast, fire pit, fireplace, etc). Yes, these amenities were technically there, the ones we actually cared about were pretty disappointing....

Let me explain:

- "Kayaks" were a joke. They were far too small for adults (children maybe) and were unusable in the water. We are not big people - I barely weigh 130 lbs and the 'kayak' would have sunk within 5 minutes on the lake. We ended up having to pay to rent kayaks somewhere else. This was a HUGE disappointment.

- If you want to use the fireplace, the pilot light needs to be lit by hotel staff. I brought this up and the front desk attendant said "oh yeah, we should really have signs that say that". Ummm yes, you should. We really would have liked to use it the first night. After that it warmed up and we didn't need it.

- Breakfast is extremely limited. They put out a crockpot of oatmeal with a tiny bowl of yogurt and a tiny bowl of cut up strawberries. You are literally restricted to taking maybe a tablespoon of yogurt and strawberries (if you don't want to be a jerk and take all of it). There is also granola, but no milk or anything to put on it. They also have a platter of a few pastries, but again, very very limited. We were satisfied, but I still thought this was dumb.

- Free sangria in the lobby gave me a raging headache. I think it was pre-made...Why not just serve inexpensive wine?

- Pool was not heated (unusable), but hot tub was great and we used it nightly.

Fortunately our room was clean (minus a few stray hairs), comfortable, and updated. My favorite part was the huge shower with the rain shower head.

Conveniently located to a private beach 2 blocks away and the casinos just up the street. Overall we enjoyed our stay, but were really disappointed with the mediocre amenities.

Tip: Ask for a room upstairs

Room Tip: Book a room on the top floor to avoid noisy neighbors and shallow floor boards
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amity S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    49
    17
    12
    13
See reviews for
42
89
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

My 3 person family recently stayed at the Avalon. The location was perfect, you could walk to the lake and to restaurants. Room was very comfortable and the staff super nice. They have an outdoor pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CleHospitality, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. We hope to host you again soon, please that remember returning guests always receive a special discount when they book direct through the Avalon Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soquel, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Avalon Lodge. When we arrived we were met by Ann and she made sure we had everything we needed. We told her we were going to make reservations for the Tahoe Queen Boat ride and she said she would make the arrangements for us. It was nice to have that kind of personal service. The rooms were very nice, comfortable and clean. We will certainly stay here again the next time we travel to Tahoe.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Melody P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CleHospitality, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. We do always strive to provide the best guest service and assist you in planning your vacation. Our staff is always happy to arrange activities, dinner reservations, gift baskets, special amenities and more! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

First of all we got into the Avalon Lodge at 10:15 pm April 4. When we got there things are fine and the owner of the place seemed pleasant to us. We asked if she has some towels because one of our dogs threw up. We gambled a little bit and came to the hotel probably 2:00 am. Then the people upstairs suddenly began dragging chairs, stomping their feet and I could not sleep anymore because of all the noises. Then the following day, Saturday they did the same thing to us but, this time it was much more worse than Friday. It was probably 3:00 am than I heard loud noises again coming from upstairs, they were walking heavily, going back and forth upstairs then downstairs for 4 times. Then we saw some people checking in and checking out. As we're leaving on Sunday our dog (Molokai) was barking. We were trying to keep them quiet, however one of the the guest from Avalon Lodge for no good reason said "F--- YOU". I believe the owner knew and heard it but did not do anything about the situation. The place was not bad but, the breakfast was disappointing in a way. The person who got the place told us that there's fresh fruit. In reality it's one apple sliced in very small pieces. For short the continental breakfast was terrible. The last straw to my complaint was, I was checking my bill yesterday May 4th. I noticed that they over charge me $40.00 on my account. Got the phone number of the owner (Ann, I think was her name) and told her "why would you charge us $40.00" then she said it was the "corporate". Then told me it's the fee for the dogs. She already charged us $20.00 which was supposed to be the one time charge for the dogs. Then she reversed the story by saying $20.00 is only for 1 dog. Then she started complaining about the place we stayed. The owner said she should have charged us more the way we left the place and that she need a professional cleaner to clean the place. OUTRAGEOUS! The place was not what we were led to be.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CleHospitality, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. It seems as if there were several issues which impacted your visit.

You mention that someone booked the room for you. It sounds as if they did not properly communicate the information they were given at the time of booking. We do offer a healthy continental breakfast which includes fruit for topping either oatmeal or yogurt but do not promote that we offer fruit as a breakfast option. We also let guests know about the pet fee, which is $20 per pet per stay, at the time of booking, in the confirmation letter and all guests must initial next to and sign this information when they book on-line and check in.

Sadly, your stay did disrupt other guests and we received several complaints about your room. Your dogs were left unattended and barked while you were out late and moreover, it seems they were sick or not well travelled, which did result in us needing to have the room professionally cleaned. We are very clear that while we gladly accept well-behaved and socialized pets, it is an owner’s responsibility to tend to them at all times. If you had expressed to us that other guests were retaliating against you for disrupting their stay we of course would have tried to mitigate it, as we tried to lessen the impact of your stay on our other guests. No, we were not aware of this.

We strive to provide an enjoyable experience for all guests. Our lodge is small and so noise can impact other rooms, we do try to set the tone and expectations for our guests experience when booking by limiting the number of people in rooms, and clearly stating pets must be well behaved and maintained by their owners. We also, at check in, walk through breakfast and our property features. Again, we are in the business of guest service and are very sorry that your stay was not as we would have hoped or you expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

My bf and I were going to a show at Montbleu and decided we would have a stay-cation in town. So we decided to stay here because we could walk to and from MB from our hotel and most importantly, it's DOG FRIENDLY! :-) Pleasantly surprised by how clean and modern and welcoming the place was. We were treated like family. The lobby also had complimentary baked goods and mulled spice for all, so good! I loved it and it was a bummer we couldn't stay longer. Granted, we do live on the other side of town, but the beds were so comfortable and our shower was gorgeous. My dog even made another dogy friend while we were there. Definitely felt like we were on vacation.

Room Tip: we had an up stairs room facing the lake (even though there wasn't a lake view) the sunset was g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ThisTahoeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The atmosphere is very home like and it's a great place to stay if you have a pet! I loved the wine part in the evening! Thanks a lot to Ann! She is very friendly and helpful! I think it's a great value for the money you pay. It is so close to the ski resorts and the lake. Will be back in summer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank HelenGHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I have tried many of the budget stays in south lake and finally settled at Avalon Lodge. Great friendly staff, updated comfortable rooms with great beds and showers, fireplace and flat screen TV. Walking distance to Heavenly Village, ski, shops and restaurants, coffee shops, grocery store.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank matt a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.6 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#17 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Trailhead
The Trailhead
#48 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Peaks Resort and Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort and Beach Club
#18 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 992 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpenrose Inn
Alpenrose Inn
#14 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Lodge

Property: Avalon Lodge
Address: 4075 Manzanita Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a mountain retreat that’s just steps away from South Lake Tahoe’s beaches, Heavenly gondola, and world-famous dining, shopping, recreation, and entertainment. The Avalon Lodge will pamper you with the best beds in Tahoe, luxurious linens, flat screen TVs, in-room fireplaces, gourmet coffee, and spa-quality essentials. You’ll also enjoy fresh continental breakfasts, Free WiFi, Lakeside Beach access and Jacuzzi. We provide activity equipment for your stay - bikes, kayaks and snowshoes. Pets are welcome, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Avalon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Avalon Hotel Lake Tahoe
Avalon Motel Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing