We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little lodge!”
Review of Avalon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avalon Lodge
Ranked #47 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed at this lodge for our anniversary and had a wonderful experience. Awesome location - walking distance to gondola, shops, casinos. Awesome price - we weren't looking for anything fancy, so it was perfect for us. Awesome staff - there is a "homie" feeling, like you are staying at a bed and breakfast, such a friendly staff! They had a small breakfast in the morning, which was perfect before heading out on the slopes. There was also a great selection of wine and snacks in the lobby as well. The rooms were nice, again - not fancy, but nicely kept. For the price, location, and nice staff - it was totally worth it!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BAC392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 186 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

We rented out three rooms from this establishment and had a wonderful stay. The staff was extremely attentive and very accommodating to any additional requests. The location was 2.5 blocks from the gondola. The beds were comfortable. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed at Avalon at the end of November with our two Goldens, and it was a great choice. The lodge is walking distance to Heavenly Village's restaurants and shops, and has a nice area behind the hotel for the dogs to run around. The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and the fireplace does a great job heating up the room. The front desk staff was very friendly, and the morning breakfast spread was simple but tasty. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank aurorasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CleHospitality, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. Over the past month we have focused on adding even more amenities to our property for you to enjoy during your next stay, including our expanded Market Café with increased breakfast seating and a new bar, an outdoor fire pit and more! We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We loved that this hotel was pet friendly! They supplied treats, blanket, towel, and a ball for our dog. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortably filled with plenty of pillows and blankets. We loved that it was in walking distance to Heavenly Village and many eateries.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank LRV911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We enjoyed our stay, despite the fact that they had given away all the king size bed rooms on the lower floor. I have a back injury and can't take our pets up and down stairs. We were given two queens in a nicely appointed room. An hour or so later, the manager knocked, and asked if we would be willing to move upstairs as they were sold out, and needed our two queen beds. When I again explained my back problem, she said they'd find another solution and apologized for the inconvenience. She was so nice, I wish I could have made the move, but its simply not do-able. Everything was clean and well appointed. I loved the slate tiled shower. The bedding was very new and the beds were comfortable. This is an older, refurbished property, and I congratulate them on doing a great job! If you only like new, modern looking rooms, this is not the property for you. The rooms are painted in very dark, forest tones, and could use brighter lighting, but we liked it. If the weather had been cooler we would have used the gas fireplace. We will return to the Avalon on our next trip - they're good decent people trying to offer good value to their patrons.

Room Tip: Be very clear if you need a downstairs room. There is no elevator and the stairs are steep. Parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mystralle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed this past weekend at the Avalon Lodge. This a pet friendly lodge and we were worried about the room but, we were very surprised to find the room was very clean and there were no smell of dogs. The beds were very comfortable and there were plenty of pillows and extra blankets for each bed. Our room had a microwave and mini fridge, and the heater was an electric fireplace, which kept the room warm when needed. The room was a little dark, but the staff offered to bring lamps to our room. Complimentary breakfast was oatmeal, yogurt, blueberry bread, coffee, tea and orange juice. Late afternoon they had complimentary Sangria. Close to lake, casino, shopping-we walked almost everywhere. Stayed 3 nights, and only 1 night had a little noise, but nothing to complain about, other nights didn't hear anything. Definitely would recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iamhappy2cu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I and our 5month old enjoyed our weekend getaway at Avalon Lodge South Lake Tahoe. We don't have a dog so we were a bit worried about the room but, were pleasantly surprised to find a beautiful clean room without any evidence or smell of dog at all. Location is great we could walk to the casino, beach, shopping, restaurants, and Heavenly Gondola. The staff was very friendly. Loved the complimentary Sangria in the afternoon. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy D, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

It was wonderful having your family stay with us. Thank you for your kind words and review. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#23 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
234 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
225 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#10 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
405 reviews
0.8 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
#14 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Lodge

Address: 4075 Manzanita Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6919
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $66 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a mountain retreat that’s just steps away from South Lake Tahoe’s beaches, Heavenly gondola, and world-famous dining, shopping, recreation, and entertainment. The Avalon Lodge will pamper you with the best beds in Tahoe, luxurious linens, flat screen TVs, in-room fireplaces, gourmet coffee, and spa-quality essentials. You’ll also enjoy fresh continental breakfasts, Free WiFi, Lakeside Beach access and Spa. We provide activity equipment for your stay - bikes are free for guest and on first come first serve bases. Please noted, Pets not allowed (service animals welcome). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Avalon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Avalon Hotel Lake Tahoe
Avalon Motel Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing