We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Avalon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avalon Lodge
Ranked #43 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed this past weekend at the Avalon Lodge. This a pet friendly lodge and we were worried about the room but, we were very surprised to find the room was very clean and there were no smell of dogs. The beds were very comfortable and there were plenty of pillows and extra blankets for each bed. Our room had a microwave and mini fridge, and the heater was an electric fireplace, which kept the room warm when needed. The room was a little dark, but the staff offered to bring lamps to our room. Complimentary breakfast was oatmeal, yogurt, blueberry bread, coffee, tea and orange juice. Late afternoon they had complimentary Sangria. Close to lake, casino, shopping-we walked almost everywhere. Stayed 3 nights, and only 1 night had a little noise, but nothing to complain about, other nights didn't hear anything. Definitely would recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iamhappy2cu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Avalon Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 183 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I and our 5month old enjoyed our weekend getaway at Avalon Lodge South Lake Tahoe. We don't have a dog so we were a bit worried about the room but, were pleasantly surprised to find a beautiful clean room without any evidence or smell of dog at all. Location is great we could walk to the casino, beach, shopping, restaurants, and Heavenly Gondola. The staff was very friendly. Loved the complimentary Sangria in the afternoon. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy D, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

It was wonderful having your family stay with us. Thank you for your kind words and review. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed in SLT and Gardnerville at their sister property. Both were great service and fabulously decorated.

The owners care - and we will recommend it to everyone!

Breakfast was great, too!!

Merci to Jasen and Anne

Room Tip: No fitness center Healthy breakfast
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chef P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Old and stinky room. Rude staff asking for additional money after check in for even babies 1. Never will stay here again and will consider a franchise option than mom n pop type of hotel like this. Breakfast is nearly non existing and the heater never worked which made all of us sick.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Familyfirstforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy D, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

At the Avalon Lodge, we do charge for all additional people over double occupancy in our rooms. Additionally, we have a maximum occupancy of 3 people of any age in a room. These policies were put in place based on guest feedback and to provide a quiet and private retreat for our guests. Due to your upset nature, we made exceptions to both of these and this unfortunately impacted our other guests as well as our staff. The information was clearly stated on the website (Expedia) on which you booked your reservation as well as all other websites. In addition to reading the information on the website, it is important to include the correct information when making your reservation, when you booked your stay you simply booked a room for 2 adults, if you had included your children on the reservation there would have been no surprises.

All of our rooms were remodeled in 2011 and do have a fireplace heater. Your heater did work during your stay, our front desk did confirm that with you upon your arrival. Additionally, we offer a fresh and healthy continental breakfast of oatmeal with toppings, yogurt with granola and berries as well as breakfast breads, coffee, tea and juice. We are very open about and proud of our rooms, small intimate nature of our property and offerings, we do strive to protect this atmosphere to ensure the experience that we promote is the one we provide. There are many hotels in Tahoe, all offering different experiences, and it does seem that our experience was not the experience that you were looking for. It is important that you do research and understand the hotel that you are reserving a room at to ensure that you find the right hotel for your vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I would call my experience with the Avalon Lodge the best hotel experience I have had yet. The staff is excellent and the rooms are very comfortable and nice. When we arrived at the airport we realized we were going to be vary late coming in so we called the hotel to let them know and they were very understanding and held our room for us. Very happy with the room and had all the amenities listed. However the Wi-Fi would not connect with my iPad and the coffee Maker In the room did not make a good cup of coffee. I can't blame the hotel for the Wi-Fi it is more the providers fault then the hotel for having old equipment. In any case we just walked up two blocks to the nearest Starbucks to check email and Facebook. As for the coffee the front lobby always had a fresh pot Available so that wasn't a problem either.

We ended up eating more at the hotel then we did out at any restaurant. The hotel provided a wonderful breakfast of oatmeal yogurt and other Healthy items every morning which was a great plus. There was a mini fridge and a microwave in the room which we Made great use of. The staff was very nice to allow us to use their dishes and silverware for our dinners and lunches. In the afternoon they offered sangrias for the over 21 crowd to relax by the pool with. that was possibly one of my favorite parts.

The location was awesome you could walk two blocks one way and be on the main highway and close to The heavenly Village shops or roughly 2 blocks the other way and be right at the private beach on the lake. The private beach has a marina and a very nice little outdoor restaurant. The casinos were only about two blocks away however we did not visit And contribute.
We spent a very nice afternoon relaxing by the pool, And an evening relaxing in the hot tub. They do not use chlorine in their hot tub, This was very nice for me because I am very sensitive to the chlorine smell. All in all we had a wonderful time and plan to return to the Avalon Lodge very soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elbell23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I did a lot of shopping around for a good deal for a 3 night stay midweek near the casinos, This place like it was a great deal- so I took a chance and made reservations, The room as very nicely appointed, and we were very happy to see the microwave and mini fridge, The bathroom is very nice, with a slate shower. I did not realize how pet friendly this place is, but was a bit concerned when I saw all of the dogs- I am happy to say that my stay was not marred by barking dogs. The front desk employee named "Lovely" lived up to her namesake by following up on reservations for us after another employee gave us the wrong phone number as the fax number. She fixed the wireless internet immediately when we reported it not working, and tried to get a light fixture fixed for us, but it didn't happen. The location is great, and the lighted entry way from the street make it easy to find when you return after a full day. I would prefer staying here over a casino anytime! Btw- iPod docking stations were advertised but none were in our room.

Room Tip: Top Unit at the end- really nice. (but no elevator- so I hope you like dragging luggage up the steps...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queuepon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in July. The location is great. It is walking distance from the casinos and a private beach. The staff is welcoming. There is free sangria at 4:00 every day and a nice continental breakfast of oatmeal, fruit, juice, coffee, yogurt. The room was a little dark for me but the beds were comfy. The pictures make the bathroom look larger than it is but it is clean. There is no air conditioning but there is a ceiling fan. It can get hot in July and August but it still cools down at night.

Room Tip: Request a second floor room. It might be lighter.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy D, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for your kind words and feedback. Just this week we have added additional lighting to all downstairs rooms and will be adding additional lighting to the upstairs rooms this fall. While we typically do not need air conditioning in Tahoe, there are a few weeks which can be hot, especially this year with record heat. We are looking to add air conditioning or an alternative source for cooling this spring. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#23 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#34 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
264 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
902 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
#20 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Lodge

Address: 4075 Manzanita Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6919
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $69 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a mountain retreat that’s just steps away from South Lake Tahoe’s beaches, Heavenly gondola, and world-famous dining, shopping, recreation, and entertainment. The Avalon Lodge will pamper you with the best beds in Tahoe, luxurious linens, flat screen TVs, in-room fireplaces, gourmet coffee, and spa-quality essentials. You’ll also enjoy fresh continental breakfasts, Free WiFi, Lakeside Beach access and Spa. We provide activity equipment for your stay - bikes are free for guest and on first come first serve bases. Please noted, Pets not allowed (service animals welcome). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Avalon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Avalon Hotel Lake Tahoe
Avalon Motel Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing