We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avalon Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$189
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Azure(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Marriott's Timber Lodge(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Landing Resort & Spa(South Lake Tahoe)
$329
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $348/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$999
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveler rating
76
55
21
15
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
55
21
15
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtfrench press coffee makercontinental breakfastenjoyed our staynice place to stayshort drivefireplacelakesheetstahoesnowstatelinegondolanevada
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 190 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed for one night. The room was excellent. Huge comfy bed, contemporary furnishings, great lighting, a fire on the wall if you needed it (we didn't) as Sept is still very warm, and a gorgeous, modern bathroom with slate shower. Walking distance from the beach in one direction and the main strip of the town in the other. I'd love to go back in the winter and stay. There was an outdoor jacuzzi but it was closed. Breakfast was cereal, juice and coffee in the Reception area which was plenty.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was our first trip with our 3-year-old pup, and it couldn't have worked out better. Not only had he never seen snow (he LOVED it), but he had never stayed in a motel before! The staff was awesome - there was a welcome basket with treats, doody bags, his own sheet so he could choose which bed to sleep on, and towels to wipe him down from the second biggest snowfall during Christmas of all time! He had never seen snow, had a blast, and the staff was very accommodating to work around his schedule to clean so that we were never inconvenienced! Jim, Teresa, and Beth were awesome, and treated Murphy very well. Not to mention the mulled wine, yummy, every night! ;>) We will definitely be back! KC

Room Tip: I can see how a corner room for a dog would have been better - less woofing during the night!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAC68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, Guest Services at Avalon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

We are thrilled you picked our lovely Lodge for your first snow experience at Lake Tahoe!! It sounds like Murphy was a hit with our Staff! We are all animal lovers and want to make sure the guest and pet experience exceed your expectations. After a day on the slopes or just enjoying the amazing outdoors of our beautiful mountains, we know the Mulled Wine is a warm-welcome back. We look forward to seeing your family and Murphy again soon. Visit in the summer when we have complimentary bikes and kayaks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay in Avalon Lodge. The rooms have been updated elegantly, with a nice bed, great little details and a wonderful stone shower with good pressure and plenty of elegance. The breakfast was fresh oatmeal and baked bread along with some fresh cut strawberries and blueberries which we very much enjoyed. One thing is that the staff at breakfast did not monitor the consumption, thus most options would be empty and we would constantly have to ask for replenishments, but when they arrived they were delicious.
The location is a walking distance from the slopes, and you come back to a nice pot of mulled wine mmm delicious. Thanks for all the added extras much appreciated.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, Guest Services at Avalon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

We appreciate your favorable comments on your recent stay. We take great pride in providing the best in cozy comfort with elegant touches for our guests. We are glad our tasty breakfast was replenished quickly for you and we have now added larger bowls for those peak days. There’s something about the snowy weather that enhances our appetites! Come and see us again soon, there’s a pot of Mulled Wine brewing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Avalon Lodge was the perfect escape for our 5th anniversary. It is just a short drive from where we live, but we felt miles away with the warm atmosphere, beautiful slate showers and comfy beds. They even had spiced wine in the lobby for us to enjoy by the fireplace. We were close enough to walk almost everywhere we wanted to go. The staff couldn't be better. They helped us make reservations at Cafe Fiore for our anniversary and while we were out at dinner they placed champagne and chocolates in our room as a surprise. The hotel and staff were absolutely charming, we loved it!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 28, which had a view of the field behind the hotel, only a few rooms seem to have this.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, Guest Services at Avalon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Thank you so much for spending your Anniversary with us. We know how special these occasions are for our guests. Our thoughtful amenities and beautifully appointed rooms help us to create for our guests what we call “casual elegance defined”. We look forward to hosting you on your next getaway up the mountain. And don’t forget our 5% returning guest discount when you book direct for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I apologise for the late review. I stayed here summer of 2011. I think they had just finished renovations so we got a great deal to check out the upgrades.

This place was amazing. The most friendliest staff that made you feel at home & welcome. Cosy atmosphere, but the room was spacious, comfortable and clean. Quite luxurious feeling to it. The free bikes were a nice touch, so was the outdoor spa (and this cured every ache in my body I had acquired after spending a day riding around San Fran on a bike two days earlier - I could barely walk!)

Location excellent.. You can walk to the border & casinos - It was safe to do so at night if you want a few drinks! Heavenly a couple minutes walk too & there was a bit of snow in mountain so we could play around - and it was hot too!

Summer was a quiet time of course, but it was perfect. I would definitely come back here if I'm in that part of California .. perfect, perfect, perfect! Thanks Avalon.

Also recommend the ten min drive to Zephyr Cove beach in the Summer (water a bit chilly, but its beautiful).

Room Tip: I think we had mountain view room. It was cosy but not in the small sense, it was just beautifully & comfortably furnished.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vmillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, Guest Services at Avalon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Better late than never…we appreciate your taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We love our location too and combine that with our dedicated and friendly staff and attention to guest comforts, we hope the Avalon Lodge will be at the top of your return visit list! Thanks again and visit us on your next trip to the States.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews