We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Anniversary”
Review of Avalon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avalon Lodge
Ranked #39 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Gardnerville, Nevada
1 review
“Perfect Anniversary”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Avalon Lodge was the perfect escape for our 5th anniversary. It is just a short drive from where we live, but we felt miles away with the warm atmosphere, beautiful slate showers and comfy beds. They even had spiced wine in the lobby for us to enjoy by the fireplace. We were close enough to walk almost everywhere we wanted to go. The staff couldn't be better. They helped us make reservations at Cafe Fiore for our anniversary and while we were out at dinner they placed champagne and chocolates in our room as a surprise. The hotel and staff were absolutely charming, we loved it!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 28, which had a view of the field behind the hotel, only a few rooms seem to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, Guest Services at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you so much for spending your Anniversary with us. We know how special these occasions are for our guests. Our thoughtful amenities and beautifully appointed rooms help us to create for our guests what we call “casual elegance defined”. We look forward to hosting you on your next getaway up the mountain. And don’t forget our 5% returning guest discount when you book direct for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    52
    18
    13
    18
See reviews for
46
94
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I apologise for the late review. I stayed here summer of 2011. I think they had just finished renovations so we got a great deal to check out the upgrades.

This place was amazing. The most friendliest staff that made you feel at home & welcome. Cosy atmosphere, but the room was spacious, comfortable and clean. Quite luxurious feeling to it. The free bikes were a nice touch, so was the outdoor spa (and this cured every ache in my body I had acquired after spending a day riding around San Fran on a bike two days earlier - I could barely walk!)

Location excellent.. You can walk to the border & casinos - It was safe to do so at night if you want a few drinks! Heavenly a couple minutes walk too & there was a bit of snow in mountain so we could play around - and it was hot too!

Summer was a quiet time of course, but it was perfect. I would definitely come back here if I'm in that part of California .. perfect, perfect, perfect! Thanks Avalon.

Also recommend the ten min drive to Zephyr Cove beach in the Summer (water a bit chilly, but its beautiful).

Room Tip: I think we had mountain view room. It was cosy but not in the small sense, it was just beautifully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vmillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, Guest Services at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Better late than never…we appreciate your taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We love our location too and combine that with our dedicated and friendly staff and attention to guest comforts, we hope the Avalon Lodge will be at the top of your return visit list! Thanks again and visit us on your next trip to the States.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My experience with the Avalon Lodge was a great one the staff were extremely friendly and helpful the room was large,clean and the bed was comfortable. Its a short walk to the lake and to the casinos I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Though there isn't a fitness center who needs one while on a weekend getaway

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We love our location too – in between the lifts and the lake, as we say. While we are an intimate lodge that does not have a fitness room we do offer complimentary bikes and kayaks in the summer and snowshoes in the winter to help keep you active and exploring, make sure to save some time to try them out on your next stay. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, NE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We went to Tahoe for our 8th anniversary and told the person when we booked. Just me my wife and our Ollie, great Dane. They guided me to book a romance package - which I did, reluctantly. Boy am I glad I did! The French Champagne was wonderful as well as fun and colorful chocolates welcoming us. Rose petals to take home and moreover, Ollie had her own welcome gift with bone, toy and towels for spreadding out on!

The whole place is no smoking - and set next to a preserve. The room offered SS water bottles to use and take home for a deal and as a great souvenier. My husband thinks I am amazing for planning all this... but all I did was call! We hiked and biked (complimetary bikes for guests) and had beers at the pub around the corner. Thinking of coming back for a winter boarding trip!

We highly recommend it. It is obvious it is meant for those looking for a bit more, quiet simplicity, good wine and great location. A loud and smoky casino it is NOT! Thank goodness.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay – and brought the whole family! We adore pets (every staff member at the Avalon has at least one) and it is our goal to ensure that your pup enjoys their vacation as much as our human guests. We did make Ollie pinky/paw swear to be back this winter...the snow is falling now so we expect to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Best stay ever!

The staff handed me a warm cider when I arrived after the first snow of the seaon last week. The room was amazingly well done and cozy - great mood lighting too - like our Virgin America Flight.

We had booked earlier this year and were worried about the reviews when we went online looking for things to do and plan for our trip. No more. There were several people staying who we spoke to when in the hot tub who booked through a coupon or discount site. They were grumpy - but it is because they expected a resort. They should have booked Cancun.

This is a small quaint charmer with modern amenities and a great staff. Even a movie we planned to see at the theater when we got home was playing in room! If you want good suggestions, a good nights sleep, and a comfy, clean place to hang between hikes or fun - this is it.

The pet amenity is lavish, too. My family is in the bay area - headed there next and will recommend to them for sure! Oh - and a great store for wine and munchies in the lobby!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We are a startup hospitality company just going into our second year of business this December and it has always been our goal to provide high end amenities from movies on demand to complimentary bikes to fantastic coffee in an intimate hotel setting with upscale rooms and amazing guest service and we are glad that you appreciated our small touches. We hope to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I vacation in Tahoe each fall and spring when the town is less crowded. We often stay on the western side of town away from the casinos but this time decided to stay right in South Lake Tahoe and are so glad we did! The Avalon Lodge is adorable, the rooms are amazing with beautiful slate showers and comfy beds. They had free bikes that we took to do some wine tasting and check out the lake and then they had sangria out in the afternoon when we returned. The staff was friendly and made every effort to ensure our vacation was special. We enjoyed sitting in the lobby by the fire and chatting with the staff about the upcoming winter and the upgrades they are planning for the spring, like increasing the store and upgrading the patio. There were lots of little extras that made the Avalon Lodge above and beyond and we know it will keep getting better. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreshLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
We are so glad that you choose to stay with us at the Avalon Lodge. We do have lots of changes in store at the Avalon in the upcoming year and we are excited to continue to implement the ideas that we and our guests have designed. Next change to come - our Bloody Mary Bar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have mixed feelings about this place, I think they try... but it's just missing a few things.
We were using a TravelZoo special and we arrived on a Sunday, the place was pretty empty, I believe we had a choice of rooms. I can't remember the room number but we were right over the office. The room was nice, it did have a fireplace - I think my major complaint would be the bed was noisy and not very comfortable. Every time I moved it would squeak. we stayed for two nights and I didn't get much sleep. The Internet as hit or miss... and you would think being right over the office we would have a strong signal. One day we didn't have it at all, I had to go downstairs and ask them about it. I wasn't sure how to call the front desk. They had to 'reboot' it and then it worked. Also, regarding the stairs they laid tile on top of the wooded stairs, I'm not sure how safe that it... it snowed while we were there so I was very concerned about slipping on them. I did leave something there... and they were helpful to mail my item to my home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy_in_Calfornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#27 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
216 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Trailhead
The Trailhead
#40 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
45 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,069 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Becket
Hotel Becket
#29 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
#46 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Lodge

Property: Avalon Lodge
Address: 4075 Manzanita Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6919
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a mountain retreat that’s just steps away from South Lake Tahoe’s beaches, Heavenly gondola, and world-famous dining, shopping, recreation, and entertainment. The Avalon Lodge will pamper you with the best beds in Tahoe, luxurious linens, flat screen TVs, in-room fireplaces, gourmet coffee, and spa-quality essentials. You’ll also enjoy fresh continental breakfasts, Free WiFi, Lakeside Beach access and Spa. We provide activity equipment for your stay - bikes are free for guest and on first come first serve bases. Please noted, Pets not allowed (service animals welcome). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Avalon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Avalon Hotel Lake Tahoe
Avalon Motel Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing