We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“These Folks Really Try Hard!”
Review of Avalon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avalon Lodge
Ranked #40 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“These Folks Really Try Hard!”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

This little hotel, which is situated spectacularly, is an example of a property that's old and mostly upgraded. It has its flaws, to be sure, but worth overcoming those flaws. They are: A non-existent place to eat the minimal complimentary breakfast (either in your room or the lobby), the noise of people walking above you or outside your room, and the lack of air conditioning (which wasn't a problem when we were there). The bathroom was great: slate shower and floors, new sink and toilet, etc. The bathroom window, however, looked original and was lacking a screen. The parking also is TIGHT -- it's really easy to back into a rock wall here. Overall a solid recommendation.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have to be preferable to the first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluejay19golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    52
    18
    13
    17
See reviews for
45
94
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Very friendly receptionist, quiet as it is set back a few roads from the main road, but very short walk to the stateline so easy to access casinos. Room was spacious, clean, comfy with a general air of quality to furnishings. Bathroom lacked shelving for all your usual bits and bobs, but that was a fairly minor point. As previous reviews have said this is best viewed as a good quality motel rather than a boutique hotel, but we were very happy with our stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremyNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The professional website and the word "Lodge" conjured a different image than what I found. Here's the Pros and Cons: PROS: Very Helpful Staff. Super Dog Friendly. Wonderful sheets - top quality, and nice bath robes. Good location near to everything, and off the main busy street. Excellent fresh bakery products, fresh fruit and other foods included free for breakfast. Overall, inexpensive and good deal for the price! CONS: Small older motel with dark small partially remodeled rooms, and tiny remodeled bathrooms. No A/C or cross ventilation, so room was really stuffy. My mattress was uncomfortable. The biggest problem was that I felt this place was very different than the website portrayed. Since you had to book and pay before arriving, and the cancellation policy required at least 24 hours or more to have your money refunded, I felt stuck there once I arrived and saw what the place really looked like. The enticing website pictures and descriptions suggested a quaint upscale lodge. I was shocked when I saw this older motel with a small lobby with an alcove, which was the Market Cafe. Upon entering the room, I wished I had booked somewhere else.

Room Tip: The rooms are hot during summer. We went out and bought an oscillating fan which helped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveling-Goldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We were extremely happy that we chose to stay here. The staff was VERY nice, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the bathrooms were awesome! They offer a nice private beach a short walk away and it is only a block away from the casinos and Heavenly ski lift. We will definitely stay here the next time we return!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stlyourface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Pros: Great location (walking distance to beach and the village), friendly staff, clean facilities, easy parking, very comfortable bed, great mid-week special deal.

Cons: Very thin walls (for both people noise and water pipe noise), less than decent breakfast, mid-week special food/wine package hardly enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
2 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2011

My wife and I went to Tahoe for a backpacking trip with our dog, and planned to finish backpacking and check into the Avalon Lodge for our first wedding anniversary. I did a lot of research for dog-friendly lodging before booking the Avalon. The other reviews were right, the Avalon Lodge was perfect! We arrived a little early and they got our room ready right away. The concierge, John, was super friendly and helpful. He directed us to a fantastic local restaurant where we could sit outside with our dog. When we got back to the lodge we took advantage of the well-maintained hot tub and pool. The room was very tastefully and modernly decorated. So many places in Tahoe are trapped in the 80's! Bedroom, bathroom and shower were plenty big. It was quiet and comfortable. The staff had left us a bottle of wine with a note congratulating us on our anniversary. The location is very quiet, but just a couple of blocks from the big hotel casinos where we went for a fancy dinner at the Montbleu. (try the Elk at Ciara for a fine dining experience) When we got back, the bed was super comfortable. Next morning we took advantage of the convenient continental breakfast of oatmeal with lots of delicious toppings, yogurt, cranberry bread, coffee and OJ. We ate outside by the pool. Just lovely! We obviously really enjoyed our brief stay at the Avalon Lodge. They paid great attention to detail and made all of the guests feel special. And, it was relatively inexpensive. I anticipate that this is going to be an annual event for us.

Room Tip: We had room #16, which may have been their best King bed room. First floor with a view of the woode...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kentmorales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We were debating about staying at the Marriott Residence Inn or the Avalon Lodge and chose the Avalon Lodge based on the rave reviews on Trip Advisor. In retrospect we made the wrong choice.

I think the Avalon Lodge is trying hard to be a boutique motel and in a year may be able to pull it off but it is not there yet. As noted in other reviews they are in the process of renovating rooms and at the time of our visit they were down to the final two. The renovated rooms are very nice but the lack of air conditioning is a major drawback. Although it gets chilly late at night, during the day and early evening the room was very warm and we had to keep the windows open throughout the day and night which really affected our ability to sleep. They do provide a small fan which was a minor help and I understand that they will be getting portable air conditioners but they were not available at the time of our visit. The beds were very comfortable and the comforters were also very good quality. Also the Movie on Demand was not yet available and it would have been nice to have had a DVD player in the room.

One of the major reasons why we chose the Avalon was the availability of bicycles and kayaks for free use. However when we got there one of the 3 bikes were broken and another broke while I was riding it about a mile away. There were two kayaks which were both one person kayaks and transporting them to the beach would have been difficult without an SUV or truck since the beach is a 10 minute walk away. In my mind, if you are going to offer bikes and kayaks they should at a minimum have enough for a family of four and ideally enough for a couple of rooms to access. We wound up renting bikes which was an additional cost I did not expect to incur.

The breakfast was as advertised with oatmeal and yogurt and usually blueberries and/or raisins. They also had orange juice, coffee and a cranberry or raisin bread. However for those who dont eat as healthy, there were no bagels.croissants, etc. I didn't expect a full eggs, waffles, pancakes breakfast but it would have been nice to have some alternative particulary for the kids.

The location was convenient to the casinos and Heavenly and walking distance to the private beach. The pool was small and the hot tub is located across the parking lot but about what should be expected for a 20 unit motel.

Lastly, we had to replace our own towels and there was only one bar of soap for both the sink and shower. The shampoo and conditioner were not replaced when empty. However the bathrobes were very comfortable and a nice touch.

Ovearll, we were slightly disappointed with our stay. I understand that soon the outside and parking lot will be undergoing renovations and maybe in a year or so it will be the place that the new owners envision.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bklyn_sea_gull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoavalon, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Thank you for your feedback and for your positive perspective. I am very sorry you were slightly disappointed during your stay. We were very aware from the beginning that you desired to stay at the Marriott. We strive to provide accurate and thorough information to our guests about our lodge as we want you to stay at a hotel which makes you happy – even to our breakfast inclusions.

We strive to be Eco-conscious and for this reason do provide one soap in room, though we are happy to provide additional products as desired. We only wash towels if left on the floor and change our linens on the third day of your stay unless otherwise requested; as stated in our in room literature. We provide reusable water bottles and glasses in room and also plates and silverware at breakfast. We donate used amenities to the Clean the World Foundation.

One of our amenities is to have complimentary bikes available for our guests. Most of our guests have enjoyed them, and we usually do have enough bikes available for a good first come; first served system. Due to unforeseen issues, we did have 3 break in the same week (your week) – one during your ride! We are happy to report that they are all back in working order after a summer of heavy use. We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#27 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Becket
Hotel Becket
#29 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
#18 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpenrose Inn
Alpenrose Inn
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heavenly Inn Lake Tahoe
Heavenly Inn Lake Tahoe
#23 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Lodge

Property: Avalon Lodge
Address: 4075 Manzanita Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6919
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a mountain retreat that’s just steps away from South Lake Tahoe’s beaches, Heavenly gondola, and world-famous dining, shopping, recreation, and entertainment. The Avalon Lodge will pamper you with the best beds in Tahoe, luxurious linens, flat screen TVs, in-room fireplaces, gourmet coffee, and spa-quality essentials. You’ll also enjoy fresh continental breakfasts, Free WiFi, Lakeside Beach access and Spa. We provide activity equipment for your stay - bikes are free for guest and on first come first serve bases. Please noted, Pets not allowed (service animals welcome). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and HotelsClick so you can book your Avalon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Avalon Hotel Lake Tahoe
Avalon Motel Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing