We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Old, basic, good location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sunray Tahoe Hotel

Sunray Tahoe Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sunray Tahoe Hotel to your Saves list
Sunray Tahoe Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2659 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old, basic, good location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The older room had the basics. The room had a noisy air conditioner but if we shut it off and opened the balcony door, it was noisy. There were suspicious groups of people gathering behind the hotel at night that were not hotel guests.
The up side is the location. I walked to the Lake at Sunrise and we could walk to a couple of restaurants that were enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaKo106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    4
    10
    18
See reviews for
18
10
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just enjoyed our second multi-night stay (Jan and Mar) in South Shore this winter season. Great property with very friendly staff and management. Easy access to anywhere we needed to go in Tahoe. Super affordable! Let Narinder and his staff accommodate you next time in Tahoe!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Upon arriving late at night during one of the coldest weekends in Tahoe history, we were less than thrilled to learn that the room to which we were assigned did not have heat. Even less thrilling was the visit from the "maintenance" man who confirmed that we had no heat but could do nothing about it. After the maintenance man spent several minutes on the phone with the manager, it seemed as if we were going to get a different room.

The manager assured us that he would be over within five minutes with keys to a new, heated room. Ten minutes later, I had to call him to ask where he was. Another ten minutes later, I was at the front door of his office, collecting a new key.

The second room was worse than the first: not only did it not have heat, it also didn't have power. There was just enough light shining in from the outside lights to make out a bed with no sheets.

One star for not making a fuss out of giving me a refund.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Roseville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

What a great value! I stayed for a week and enjoyed the close proximity to Heavenly and many shops and restaurants. I liked the staff and my overall experience and I will be back to stay here as the price and the location are unbeatable.
The only con I experienced is spotty internet service offered by the hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollister, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a fireplace and jacuzzi room, the first week of Jan 2013. It was so nice to come in after a day in the snow, to a jacuzzi, fireplace, flat screen TV, and a comfortable bed. My husband, I, and our teenage daughter were very happy with the cozy accommodations. It may not be as modern as some of the fancier hotels, but this was a really good value for the money. The breakfast was simple, but sufficient, and the staff, and the manager, Ron, were very nice and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hollistermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Ron, the manager their is very friendly. Room was recently renovated so it was very nice and clean. Its very good place to stay. Not expensive either. pillows were comfy. no stains on sheets.
Comfortable bed. It was quiet at night and the heat worked very nicely. Had a jacuzzi in room. It was clean and warm. so if you want to stay in lake tahoe and want best value for money then thiis is the place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank l d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We reserved our room through the group card and would NOT have stayed here had I seen it first. I could not cancel the room. I reserved one with a fire place---no fire place. Water stain on the all Dingy grey pillows. Stained comforter. OLD shower stall. The refrig. and mic were there. Didn't use micro----but the refrig is used for my husbands medicine. The furniture is out of the 70's ugly and had a very hard life. I haven't slept on the bed.---Thinking of brining my blanket out of the car and my own pillow. So not up to the other choice privilege places. Worst place I've stayed at in 10 years.

Room Tip: Ask to SEE the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
1.6 mi away
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
#42 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 343 reviews
1.6 mi away
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
#74 of 130 in Lake Tahoe (California)
3.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tahoe Chalet Inn
Tahoe Chalet Inn
#38 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#34 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
0.7 mi away
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
#45 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tahoe Valley Lodge
Tahoe Valley Lodge
#39 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunray Tahoe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunray Tahoe Hotel

Property: Sunray Tahoe Hotel
Address: 2659 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe)
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunray Tahoe Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sunray Tahoe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Aa Value Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing