We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not recommended” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunray Tahoe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunray Tahoe Hotel
Ranked #58 of 68 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Maple Ridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not recommended”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

We traveled in California for 2 weeks and this was the worst motel we visited. We stayed there on June 25 2012. The room was dirty and it smelled, the bathroom was very poorly maintained, we slept under our own covers as the bed did not look clean. Not worth the money you save. The manager was unfriendly. The breakfast , again was the worst out of 14 days we spent traveling, poor choice, toast and grape jelly as main menu.
Monika U

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monika U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    4
    11
    19
See reviews for
20
10
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

A "Terrible" rating does not begin to explain it. My fiance and I went to this motel on 6/17/12. When we waked into the office to check in the office reeked of body odor and garlic, we should have run for the hills then. Once we got to our room, we opened the door, the bed was unmade and the room obviously had not been vacuumed for several visits. My fiance walked back into the office and before he could say anythign the manager accused my fiance of stealing money?!?!? When my fiance attempted to tell this man about the room the manager accused him of lying and stated we had not even walked into the room. He again accused my fiance of stealing money. I walked into the office and the man tried to be pleasant and could not understand why we were upset and accused us of overreacting to the conditions of the room. At our car my fiance did call the local sheriff's dept. to report the incident because we were afraid of the man's accussations and irrational behavior. Besides the obvious filth of the motel the irrational behavior of the manager was very disturbing. DO NOT GO HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Sleep in your car if this hellhole is your only other choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

My family and I rented this place from hotels.com. As soon as we walked in, room was dirty, cabinets had holes in them. We called hotels.com to get our money back. They said they could not do anything about that and then called the manager of the hotel. He also refused to give us our money back. After being dissapointed about not being able to get our $91.69 back for a dumpy room, we decided to make the most of it and headed out for dinner and some fun. So we got back around 10:30pm that night, we were all winding down. As soon as I pulled back the sheets, a bug was running across the middle of the sheet. The whole family was freakin out trying to kill this bug. We started looking more closely at the room and found black specks on the sheets, black pubic hair in the same bed. My husband and I and all of the kids were totally disgusted! I then called the manager and said I've had enough, he argued with me that there were no bed bugs, so I took photos and videos for evidence. I said I'd like you to give me my money back, he said no again. He offered to move me to a different room, but I refused and said do the right thing and release my money. He argued with me for 20 minutes and again refused. The manager said we should have complained to him when we first got there in the morning. We checked in at 5pm and we did complain as soon as we got there. So he lied about that. We refused to stay in a different room which he offered, which would have the same issues and bugs. At midnight, my husband and I and our 3 kids packed up our luggage and got in the car and drove 2.5 hours to go home after this terrible Father's Day weekend experience. P.S. Hotels.com is passing the buck and they were the ones who charged my card, but did nothing to help us. I even spoke to the supervisor or manager (who could barely speak english as well and the hotel owners). They refused and took no blame. Then hotels.com lied and said they would send us a $10 off our next stay, but never did end up getting that coupon. So bottom line, stay away from Econolodge south lake tahoe ca and hotels.com. I'm currently disputing the charges with my bank.

Room Tip: Dont ever stay here, unless you like throwing your money away and like bed bugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deb d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on 4/6/2012 and had a great experience. After a long day on the ski slopes of Heavenly we went to the Red Hut Cafe for a little dinner and then checked in to our hotel room. The room was great, we had a fireplace and a flat screen television, rooms are a little small but it did the trick for us being able to get some rest before going out for some late night fun at the casino's. I have to say that our room was clean and odor free, the bathroom was also spotless and the bed was comftorable. Next time I need a room in South Lake Tahoe, I will be staying here!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayde here one night and it wast most horrible night spent in a hotel! Our room was completely infested with Bed Bugs.... me and my husband are bitten from head to toe!!! We have red itchy welts all over us! Do not stay here for your own protection!!! And now the supervisor is avoiding our phone calls... we want him to make sure that this does not happen to anyone else but he always unavailable!!

Room Tip: Do not stay here! Bed Bugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jugnoo11, General Manager at Sunray Tahoe Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
The new management at the Econo Lodge has reviewed all of the comments and is doing what ever is necessary to resolve all of these past issues. We have made changes with some of the personal and feel that we are making every effort to make your room and stay as clean , friendly and pleasant as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

I was hesitant at first since there was a wedding chapel on the premises. The owner, Ron, showed me a 2 queen bed room. Everything looked clean, had a fireplace and flat screen TV. I was even more pleasantly surprised to find upgraded bedding, i.e., down comforters between 2 clean sheets and a high quality bedspread. Ron was most accommodating when we reported slow water pressure and the problem was resolved when we came back to the room after a day of sightseeing. Wi-Fi was slow but he explained he was changing the router system over to a more efficient one. I was sorry we didn't stay there the second night!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BobbiNRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2011

I will admit that the check in process was slow. However, once in our room everything was as expected. The beds were comfortable (not better than my serta at home, but me and my wife slept well). The hotel appears to have been recently renovated and under new management (as per the clerk at the front desk). Long story short, we will stay here again. And bearing in mind the price, you will definately get a little more than you paid for :).
-just thought i would take a moment to write something down, because it looks like the only people who took the time to write something down had a bad experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TravellersWord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
2.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Are...
#53 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
3.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#35 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#16 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
#57 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Trailhead
The Trailhead
#46 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.6 mi away
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
#72 of 122 in Lake Tahoe (California)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunray Tahoe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunray Tahoe Hotel

Property: Sunray Tahoe Hotel
Address: 2659 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7700 (Formerly Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe)
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 68 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunray Tahoe Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sunray Tahoe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Aa Value Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing