We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holly's Place
Nearby Hotels
Americana Village(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$139
Americana Tahoe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Azure(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$177
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$199
$164
Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Landing Resort & Spa(South Lake Tahoe)
$459
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveler rating
19
6
2
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
6
2
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstudio cabinfull kitchendogpropertytahoe
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 33 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We were married here in June 1995 and it was beautiful then and it is still. Holly was gone for a while and now she is back it was so nice to re-connect and meet Karen.We had an amazing time our cabin was cozy the hot tub was great.We went hiking at Fallen Leaf Lake it was spectacular.We had the time of our lives Thank you so much Holly and Karen I am going to tell everyone how great this place is and you can bring your dogs too!Holly we are so glad you are back we look forward to staying here many more times.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancieFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

First, the good... Holly's Place is envisioned as a dog-friendly, informal cabin-based "retreat" where nice folks and nice dogs can come together to relax and enjoy the beautiful Lake Tahoe environs, and for the most part, it succeeds at this mission quite well. The folks we met here were very nice, as were the dogs! Everyone had a dog, and the owner's own yellow Lab wandered about the place, "checking up" on everyone making sure they were "alright" and "having a good time at HIS campground!" :-)

We were especially pleased that Holly's is gay friendly, and we met a nice lesbian couple and their fun dogs during our stay. Holly's is boldly and forthrightly supportive of the GLBT community, and we support this notion wholeheartedly.

One unique feature of the property is the wonderful wooden fence which is actually constructed as one long continuous stack of firewood, albeit the logs in this stack are quite large and heavy. This forms a very sturdy and virtually impenetrable barrier surrounding the property and keeping those inside safely contained. It's an interesting concept that was most likely made possible by the availability of fresh-cut lumber coming from the trees cleared during construction. Really a nice idea and wonderful execution of a unique concept.

The grounds, too, are very welcoming and pleasant. You drive in and find yourself in a roughly rectangular area or compound with the cabins arranged more or less along the edges, and with unpaved "wood chip" drive and parking areas in the middle, interspersed with grassy lawns. There are benches and a few picnic tables set up, and the overall effect is wonderful. A nice, open, informal "compound" where one is likely to encounter an ad-hoc pack of visiting furry creatures hob-nobbing with each other and their owners.

We stayed here for two nights in the charming Tischer studio cabin. Charming is usually a euphemism for something which has many good qualities but is lacking elsewhere, and this is true here too. The bathroom was the size of a postage stamp, literally, barely big enough to maneuver inside the shower or on the commode. There were evidences of small plumbing and electrical maintenance issues which were going unattended, and this is for over $300 per night's stay!

The cabin itself was pretty nice, but again there were small issues here and there that lent a feeling of "we're doing this on the cheap" to the whole business. That feeling isn't evident from the outside, or driving around on the grounds. You expect a bit more, as the whole impression at first is very inviting and pleasant, and the room rates are anything but economical. This is priced in the "luxury cabin" range, and you expect when they say "Free WiFi" that you actually get WiFi -- oops, sorry, no, again, some small maintenance issue was left unattended and was awaiting repair by someone who wasn't available for the whole two days we were there.

Checking in also left us a little bewildered, as we were asked to explicitly pay for some portion of the room charges in cash -- which we weren't anticipating. It took us aback a little, and the explanation for the reason was not very coherent. I don't know if there's funny business going on... but it seemed funny to us. We did as we were asked, but it left a wierd impression.

I'd also like to chime in here to observe that Holly's web site lists various terms and conditions of your reservation, which includes a very confusing explanation of the cancellation policy. The word "forfeit" appears multiple times. The emphasis seems to be on keeping any money you might have prepaid should you cancel your reservation, and there's also talk of $50 and $100 surcharges, yet it's really not clear under what conditions these charges would be made (after the fact, as an additional charge on your credit card, given with the room reservation? or deducted from your refund? It's not clear). I would be certain to get a more complete explanation when you call before you make any commitments. I find it disheartening to realize that the hospitality business in general seems to feel they can get away with keeping all of your money for a cancelled reservation, whether or not they were able to re-rent that same room for that same time period. This has definitely happened to us elsewhere at Tahoe, and while we don't know if Holly's would do this, it seems so, based on what's on their web pages.

Finally, I had to say there was a lingering element of tight-fistedness evident in the little things. You've paid good money at high rates to stay, so why are there little signs everywhere admonishing you to do your own dishes, or to not leave the windows open, or a dozen other little things. Enough already. Having doggie rules is a good plan, but having people rules posted everywhere that treats us like children isn't. And, Holly, you need to spend a few bucks and finally get an electrically-operated gate for the property.

I loved the memory of staying here for those two nights. We had a nice time and I don't regret it. I might return, someday, when I feel I have money to burn, but right now every dollar is precious and my holiday spending needs to deliver a knockout every time.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoGustoSantaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

A wonderful hidden gem. Beautiful grounds and cute cabins. Rustic charm, very Tahoe.
So nice to have a place where you bring your dogs. Holly and Karen do a great job at making you feel like one of the "family". Great escape from the slopes, steps away from the main drag.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

We have to say how much we enjoyed staying at Holly's place last month (June 19th into the 20th). Our only regret is that we didn’t get an opportunity to stay longer. After we left, we took the gondola ride at Heavenly, which lived up to its name. Holly's Place is well hidden, quiet, dog friendly, and close enuff to the city to be able to enjoy that aspect. Holly if you read this, YOU provided us with the utmost care, hospitality, and a friendly atmosphere, and for this you bet we will be back. Thank you again so much for your wonderful hospitality.

Cheers

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rlegal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Holly's place for a day, we LOVED it!!! The minute the gates were closed and the dogs calmed down after welcoming the guests, we could see how this was a mini oasis!! The cabins are adorable, clean, comfortable and perfect for pet lovers!! (am not sure about the cats...didn't see any cats there ! :) ) Holly and her staff were so warm, friendly and they had wonderful knowledges of the "places" you have to see while in Lake Tahoe! We wanted to stay longer yet we had to head back home !! We definitely want to come back and stay at this place with our friends for a longer weekend!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redemk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews