We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old motel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Lantern Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green Lantern Inn & Suites
Ranked #56 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Old motel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2008

We stayed in the motel and I would not stay here again. The walls were dirty, the pillows were old, and the window had no lock. The door has a big lock but the windows in the room are not secure. The shower had a small hole in the corner and some mold. The shower floor flexed when I moved around. The photos looked nothing like the dingy room we had. All I want is a simple room that is clean and secure and this motel did not meet those needs. The office staff is pleasant but that's the only plus.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of Security
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank myviewinCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    16
    11
    7
    19
See reviews for
10
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2008

Clean room but older. Noisy on this particular weekend. Room wasn't as spacious as we thought.

  • Liked — Price was affordable
  • Disliked — The room was small and felt creepy because it was old.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tahohvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2008

I rented the big suite. I was told there was a BBQ. It was not working. I was told there was a Flat Screen, also not working. This list goes on and on. The people that run this place are lyers and will try and cheat you out of every pennie. There are so many awsome places to stay in South Lake. Why stay here? Go somewhere else.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The Management
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank keetopur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Or
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2007

The rooms were clean, cheap and comfortable. The front desk was accomodating. It needs a few cosmetic updates to the rooms, but really... are you planning on spending THAT much time in the room? It's Lake Tahoe. The hotel was within walking distance to Stateline. We enjoyed the pool. I would stay here again.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank StellaBleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2007

The Green Latern is one of many crappy motels in South Lake. There is nothing that distinguishes it from the others. It's cheap and somewhat convenient, but I had an experience that should make anyone give pause before booking this place.

My wife, who was at home, tried to call me at 3am to let me know my son had a 104 fever. The "font desk", an Indian couple, presumably the owners, answered the phone and told he that they were sleeping and they wouldn't patch her through. My cell phone was dying so I needed to use the in-room phone. After my wife tried repeatedly, an a state of panic and explaining this was an emergency, these selfish people did not connect the call. Ultimately, my son had a febrial seisure and had to be taken to the hospital, while I sat in my car with the cell phone charger trying to calm my wife who was understandably histerical.

If you are going to own a hotel, you must accept the responsibility to care for your guests. People will call at all hours for various reasons. If there is a true emergency, it should be criminal to be so selfish. This is part of your business.

My plea to all Trip Advisor readers is to book any one of the million other cheap hotels in South Lake. Let this hotel know that they need to wake up and give some respect to their guests.

  • Liked — Location to the gondola
  • Disliked — Everything else.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shakaZOLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2006

The room was clean, the desk person was very helpful and nice, the price was good, and we were only two blocks away from the casinos...a very quick walk. This isn't a 4star hotel, so keep in mind it's basic. But there was nothing unpleasant about our stay there. Extra pillows, blankets, towels and a roll-away bed were all happily and quickly provided upon request. We would stay there again. Also, we had to change from the original # of guests with Expedia. Expedia made it complicated, but when I got in touch with the staff at the Green Lantern, they quickly made the adjustment. Two minutes on the phone and it was all taken care of directly with them. The staff was very accomodating.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thatgirlsandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2006

We were disappointed with the Green Lantern based on other reviews. The room and grounds were not clean, in the four nights we were there the juice top and broken hanger on the bedroom floor, aspirin wrapper in the bathroom and four different large cobwebs around the room and bath were never cleaned (these were also there when we check into the room, not even our own trash) The second day someone apparently spilt fruit cocktail by the hot tub and it was still there each night after. The room had not been painted in many, many years and patches on the wall were different colors. They were scuffed damaged and not clean.
The weather was very nice for a Feb stay (ski trip) which was fortunate because when it did get cold our last night the ants moved into the vanity area and the bathroom. If it were not our check out day we would have moved to a different hotel.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MykMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
#41 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#31 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#28 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#43 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#47 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Motor Lodge
Ambassador Motor Lodge
#60 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Lantern Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Lantern Inn & Suites

Property: Green Lantern Inn & Suites
Address: 4097 Manzanita Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6919
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Hotel Class:2 star — Green Lantern Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Green Lantern Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Lantern Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Green Lantern Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing